We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the middle of Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gerloczy Rooms de Lux to your Saves list
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Luxury in the middle of Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We absolutely loved this little hotel! Its a cozy little haven in a busy city and I would strongly recommend it to all travellers but particulary couples. The treats in the mini fridge are a nice touch(I drank the champagne in bed!) and we devoured those little cookies immediately each day.

The hotel does require that you spend at least 12 Euro/person at breakfast which is a little bit of a stretch as we felt like we were stuffing ourselves in order to use up 12 Euro (you are charged a minimum of 12Euro/person regardless of whether you consume that amount or not). In my opinion it would be more realistic to have it be 8-10Euro.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed this little taste of luxury while on our trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    94
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
342
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Here is what you get at Gerloczy: a small but quiet and beautifully decorate room, great pastries and coffee to start the day, and helpful staff to help plan the day. In addition, the location is perfect for those who want to explore the city by foot and/or public transit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed two nights at this small hotel. It was very well located in Pest old town & only two blocks from the pedestrian mall which is full of cafés, high end clothing stores & restaurants. The hotel is four blocks from the river so if you like walking this is a great venue. The staff, especially Istvan was so very helpful, spoke excellent English and was most willing to look up things on the net or print out information for us. Our room was on the first floor and was large and seemed huge because of the 15 foot ceilings & 10 foot doors. It had a balcony which overlooked the cafe. A free mini bar in the room was stocked with water, soft drinks, snacks & beer and was replenished every day. We had a very pleasant time here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in this wonderful city, a break that was only enhanced by this fantastic hotel. I have no idea why it is described as a cafe with rooms!!! The restaurant was full of guests/non-guests, locals and tourists for every meal of the day. It's a vibrant, lively place with wonderful attentive staff and delicious food.

The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of all the main sights, the room was beautifully furnished, with bathroom fittings etc entirely inkeeping with the buildings elegant style. The staff are friendly, helpful and I can honestly not fault any aspect of the service provided by the hotel.

It was simply a pleasure to stay there, it added to our break and it is one of the few hotels i've visited where I would absolutely relish the opprtunity to stay there again.

Not to be missed!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my boyfriend (now fiance after the weekend) stayed at this hotel weekend 20 - 22 september. Room was amazing with super comfy beds, excellent bathroom and products and daily refilled mini-bar.
Great central location with 10 mins walk to chain bridge and also 5 mins from jewish quarter.

The bar was also great with very diverse menu. The breakfast system I feel a little complicated as we were allowed 12euros per person per morning for breakfast but menu was in forints - so made it difficult for us non-euro users to figure out.

The staff were helpful and polite and able to get us tickets to the Gellert Spa which was easier than buying at the spa itself.

I would recommend the pastries and scrambled egg for brekkie. We had the peasants breakfast and also big breakfast on the first day and were disappointed. But the second day we choose hungarian scrambled eggs and granola and freshly baked products and they were spot on.

Would recommend to anyone. Thanks for a wonderful stay for a very special weekend away!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Gerloczy rooms deluxe & it was just as good as our first..the Gerloczy is an experience that we have thoroughly enjoyed & leaves you with a wish to stay just a few more days..the reception staff are always eager to please and even helped us pay our taxi when we were a bit short on the fare..tell me what other hotel will do that..we love the Gerloczy and will have no hesitation in recommending..cheers

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Gerloczy for 6 nights. Just a wonderful place...an incredible staff from top management through the housekeeping staff. Marvelous choices for breakfast through dinner. Great location for walking to all points of interest and attractions. Easy access to public transportation and other restaurants. The staff of the hotel and cafe went above and beyond to be helpful to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMSThere are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feel including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you’ll be part of the vibrant life of the downtown café.Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerloczy Rooms de Lux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.