We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gerloczy Rooms de Lux” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gerloczy Rooms de Lux to your Saves list
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gerloczy Rooms de Lux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Situated in the hear of the city (Budapest) on the top of their outstanding Gerloczy Cafe! It is on a quiet little beautiful square but walking distance from 7th district where you can find the best nightlife in the city. The rooms are elegant and tasteful and the breakfast is one of the finest in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    106
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
369
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is very convenient . 2 blocks from the shopping promenade with many restaurants to choose from. There is a restaurant in the bottom of the hotel which is pretty good. There Hungarian omelet was my husbands favorite breakfast. Friday night is fish night and I loved their piked perch. The rooms are nice size. We had a corner room which turned out to be important because air conditioning doesn't work very well. Opening the window gave great cross ventilation but could be noisy because of restaurant below. At night we closed our windows and had them bring us a fan.
My only other issue was the lack of any drawer space in bedroom or counters pace in bathroom but we just lived out of our suitcases. There is a little table in bathroom you can put a few things on.
Overall I liked the European charm of the hotel and it was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Gerloczy is in the perfect place for access to all of Budapest. At the end of our river cruise we stayed at the cruise hotel 2 blocks away at almost twice the price - modern, expensive, and no charm. We wanted to see more and had rented a car for 10 days and decided to return for 2 more days at the end to see more of Budapest, and to find a hotel that was "European" - charm, elegant, out-door cafe, on a quiet square -- Gerloczy was it. Great service from the receptionist describing the rooms and what was available upon our return, the good restaurant, and marvelous breakfast (which originally concerned us because you get a 12E allowance from the menu, but we never went over and were full.) Free mini bar. Will stay again when we return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Gerloczy is a lovely romantic boutique hotel/cafe that exudes old world elegance and charm. The attached restaurant is wonderful...impeccable service, excellent food (already miss the goulash soup) and an amazing classical harpist. An especially nice touch was the General Manager (?) Baranyai greeting us at each meal. The rooms are lovely with double windows to keep out any noise.
Gerloczy is a very special place..I can't recommend it highly enough.

Robin & Jim

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 rooms...room 3 had a small balcony and was very nice, room 2 is a corner room with lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We were met by friendly people at reception. Friendly people as well at the restaurant for breakfast. The hotel was clean and pleasant. The free minibar was convenient and the toiletries in the bath were a nice touch. Two things kept this from a perfect score for me. I like a firm bed but this was rock-hard. Our room was #4-3 on the fourth floor above the cafe. So the we couldn't open the window for fresh air because of the noise from the cafe went on too late. Beautiful little hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After our Riverboat Cruise, we spent one night in Budapest. We found this lovely little hotel because our daughter had stayed there twice. The location is perfect--quiet area but walking distance to many things. The room and bathroom were spacious, well appointed and very clean. There is a free mini bar and an generous allowance for breakfast in their restaurant. We had arrived at 9 a.m. so had breakfast there. After walking around the city, we had dinner there. It was a Monday night, and we were entertained by a wonderful piano player. (The piano player is there on Sunday and Monday nights with the harpist other nights.) The restaurant has two areas of seating inside and another lovely area outside. In addition to the lovely accommodations in the room and restaurant, the maître de, Gergo, was outstanding and spoke perfect English. He was always there -- for breakfast, lunch and dinner!! We stayed late the second afternoon before going to the airport, and Gergo had the cook make a special sandwich for our late lunch. We highly recommend this lovely, small Hotel and excellent Restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you want to see beautiful Budapest and stay in a safe , comfortable , clean and very friendly place which has an excellent location ( and you are on the budget ) , Gerloczy is the place for
you !
I was in Budapest in May,16-22 and stayed in the corner room ( #4 ) on the 3d floor . The room is very clean , with two big windows ( which gives you a lot of light and fresh air ) and at the same time it's quiet and comfortable .
It's a big plus that you can have your breakfast or dinner in the hotel restaurant which offers you good fresh food , where you can sit and relax and enjoy your food and live music ... Since I was travelling solo it was very convenient for me to have my dinner in the hotel and not to search for it in the city in the evening ... It was not easy at first to choose food for breakfast , but by the end of my staying there I found out that you shouldn't miss hungarian omelette , chibata with walnuts and pastry with fillings ...
The hotel is located in walkable distance to the most sightseeings of Budapest , you can walk to the Opera House and enjoy listening to the opera or have an easy walk to the St. Stephen's Basilica to listen to the best classic music playing by the most beautiful organ of Budapest . And the prices are very affordable .
Also don't miss BIG BUS tour which gives you a chance to see Pest , Buda ( stop where you want ) , have a free river cruise on the Danube ... And it takes you just 5-7 min. to walk to the BIG BUS stop from the hotel .
Finally , I want to emphasize , what makes you feel so good about the hotel -- people who work there ... I want to express my gratitude to the whole crew of Gerloczy for being so professional , helpful , caring and friendly . These people makes you want to stay in this hotel
again . Thank you so much , Csaba , Gergo , Boglarka , Stephen , Tamas , Bese !
My best warmest wishes to all of you !
Alla Wiinikka

Room Tip: Corner room on the 3d floor ( large , light and quiet ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,331 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,863 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casati Budapest Hotel
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMSThere are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feel including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you’ll be part of the vibrant life of the downtown café.Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerloczy Rooms de Lux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.