We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belvedere Hotel to your Saves list
Belvedere Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11/A Szilagyi Erzsebet Fasor, Budapest 1024, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 night break at this hotel, the staff were lovely and helpful, the hotel was great value for money and the decor was very modern. Nice spacious room, very clean and warm and serviced every day. Lovely restaurants and bars very close to hotel and great location for visiting the castle and many sites within easy walking distance. Breakfast was interesting, shame they didnt do toast!!! But would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better and the back of the hotel is quieter as hotel is on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    91
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
125
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just got home after a 4 day stay at the Belvedere Hotel. The hotel was very nice and the decor was modern and sleek. The breakfast was very extensive, offering continental and hot food. Although a tad small, the pool area offered stunning views of the castle district of Buda. The hotel itself is close to the square where there is easy access to Pest and is a 10/15 minute walk to the castle district. The taxi from the airport cost 8400 HUF. On the way back we took the train to the airport - easy to get to from the hotel, cheaper and efficient. Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A newly refurbished Hotel decorated in a Art Deco style. Rooms are good size for a couple.The Hotel has a small swimming Pool on the top floor.A good breakfast was provided with either hot or cold food.The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Very near to Szell Kalman Square where you could get a tram or bus to virtually anywhere in the city. The Hotel has free internet in the hotel but unfortunately this is hard wired OK if you have a laptop but they charge for WiFi so a smart phone is useless inside the Hotel. The front rooms are a little noisy with trams passing.

Room Tip: Front rooms are a little noisy due to trams and traffic passing ,they do have double glazing fitted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We visited the belvedere again , this has been our 4th stay here, we come here when we visit the dentist, rooms are very contemporary, lovely, warm and comfortable, breakfast is ample, location is great ,there is a terrace at the top near the wellness suite, we sat and sunbathed on our last day, there is a table, couple of benches and a couple of sunbeds, its walking distance to the shopping area, we walked to pest most days however if you want to use the tram its number 4 or 6, there is a small pizzeria a short walk from the hotel called "al capones" you go down some stairs, it dos not look like anything flash but the food is fabulous, me and my partner love hungarian cuisine but im not a massive meat eater but the food here was fabulous, the salads are fab and eveything else is great too, as an example of costs, one night we had two starters, a main each, 5 beers, 3 cokes and a dessert and it only cost £20 !! we also took a walk up to the fisher mans castle, some thing we do each time we visit, we was shocked to see turn styles at the entry and exit of the castle, you now have to pay, i dont think it would be a lot but we have visited hungary 7 times last visit being december before this visit so it has been actioned during that time, and because of he turn styles were you had to put your ticket in, something like that there was also ques and it also spoiled the natural beauty of this castle, thats our opinion anyway.
we will be returning here again next year. great stay overall.

Room Tip: some rooms only have a shower and no bath, we like a bath but the water is not as hot as you would l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Cosy rooms and helpful personal could characterize this nice hotel in Buda, part of Budapest. Subway / metro station is walking distance and it is just 2 stops from Parliament building in the city centre, which is in Budapest quite wide. Modern furniture and design is typical for rooms and hotel conference centre as well. Selection of the food during the breakfast is quite poor but maybe it is just needed to get up earlier... Hotel garage is very convenient, daily fee just 10 euro, access by car from the highway is OK, GPS navigation is recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden / inner yard view room, not the front /street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just returned from the Belvedere and have to say it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We had originally planned to go to another hotel on the other side of the City but then realised it was not non smoking whereas the Belvedere is. I am so glad we chose this. We went on a package with Jet 2 - £350 or so for the flights from Leeds Bradford and 3 nights at the hotel. Had to pay for transfer but that was reasonable as we used the Airport Shuttle service which I could also recommend.

The hotel is situated on the Buda side of the river - just behind the Castle area - its walkable but a small bus runs up there every few minutes 16 /16a - took us a while to find the stop (its on the road on the uphill part of the nearby square which forms a transport interchange). Tram 61 runs past the hotel - stopi s less than 5 mins walk and Bus 5 also goespast ~(stop almost opposite but you may prefer to walk up to the tram stop to cross the road!!). This offers a very quick way to get to the centre of Pest.

The room was excellent - ours was front facing - no real view except for the trees opposite but it did have a balcony. The air conditioning was great especially as it was 41 deg C outside!! There is also a roof terrace (with good views) with a small pool and sauna. The design is modern and lots of black & white but with strange paintings which I wasn't keen on. The bathroom was a decent size and had a great shower. Small sachets of shower gel and soap were provided and there was a good hairdryer. Plenty of hanging room and shelves in the wardrobe. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast was adequate with a good range of cold meats (including roast pork - a first for me at breakfast!) and cheeses. There was cereal, fruit & yoghurts as well as sweet pastries and even chocolate cake! The coffee was good but the orange was squash rather than juice which is why it loses a star for me! Staff were friendly and helpful.

The main transport interchange, where there is also a Metro, is only 5 mins walk away and though a bit grim seems to be safe enough as long as you keep your wits about you (which you need to do everywhere anyway - though we had no problems at all with pickpockets)

All in all an excellent base and we definitely go back there is we return to Budapest - which we may as there is still lots to do!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor which was ok but you may wish to ask for a higher room as there is a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just returned from city break away in Budapest. Belveder Hotel reception area is small, but modern. Check-in was very neutral, keys were ready prepared for 5 night stay. We requested nice & quiet room. Room was modern, but...small with an air vents view! Couldn't move around bed, it was just claustrophobic. We thought that maybe hotel is busy that's why we got such an allocation for longer stay...Next morning breakfast room was very quiet, only few people around, we thought it's strange that hotel seems to be quiet and such a room was allocated for our stay. After breakfast I went to reception and explain why we are unhappy with our room, We were moved straight away to lovely, spacious room with a balcony. It was hard to sightseeing Budapest all days as it was 40 degrees every day, that's why a big advantage was a Wellness Centre with pool and sun loungers on the 9th floor, with a beautiful view on Budapest! It makes a huge difference during hot weather. Also option of having breakfast in conservatory area is fantastic and food for breakfast is plenty of hot and cold options. Our flight back was very late, reception staff didn't agree for late check-out, however we could use a Wellness Centre after check-out. Would recommend this hotel, however clarify on check-in what room you'r getting.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers ending 05 are just too small for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Address: 11/A Szilagyi Erzsebet Fasor, Budapest 1024, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Budapest
#47 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#64 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvedere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.