We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High service - small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Soho Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Soho Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohany utca 64, Budapest H-1074, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Hedensted, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High service - small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is right in the center of Budapest. It has very nice and extrenely serviceminded staff. Especially Peter in the bar and the manager gave us a very good experience and helped us plan different things. The rooms are small, but they are clean. Breakfast is also good. A very nice stay - and we would definately return :)

Room Tip: There is a Junior suite avaliable - if you want a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    396
    98
    26
    15
See reviews for
52
420
56
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The rooms were very little (only negative aspect of the hotel), but really clean and comfortable. A sort of "lounge" style! No hotel brand soap or shampoo but, after all, who uses them? Hairdrier, instead. Good internet wifi connection. Impressive breakfast, plenty of food, from scrumbled eggs to cereals, from sausages to croissant. Kind staff, helpful and providing information needed. Good position: five minutes walk from the centre and lots of small restaurants and similars all around the area (the "Lado'" jazz club, just opposite to the hotel, is really fine). Just around the corner there is one of the best exchange offices in the town, when turning into Erzebet Ktr from Dohany Utca (we changed at 296HUF/1€ with 0,2 commission) We actually found an offer so only paid 40€ per night for two people in a double room, breakfast included, (end of January, so maybe low season) and it was definitely worth it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the SOHO BOUTIQUE HOTEL for 4 nights from 21-25 January this year.
The staff were all delightful. The breakfast which is included in the price is more than enough although there is no toaster. This however did not spoil our stay there !
The beds were very comfortable. Everywhere was very clean. It is very brightly decorated and is a pleasure to be inside the hotel.
The rooms are a bit on the small side but not tiny. This did not matter to us in the least.
The shower was good and powerful.
We were on the 6th floor. There are lifts, however, I chose to use the stairs to give me some exercise and work off some of the extra calories I had been consuming during our trip to Budapest. Breakfast at the hotel. Strudel or pancakes during our coffee break Dinner in the evening. Plus an odd hot chocolate !!
FREE WiFi in the rooms was fast.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. It is very convenient for the Metro.
There is also a very nice Italian restaurant just down the the road. Il Terzo Cerchio. Great prices and great food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I can only recommend this hotel if you plan on spending 1% of your time in it. The room was small, I'm talking if you stood anywhere with your arms open and twirled around, you'd hit something kinda small. My closet at home is bigger.

A few issues I had with the hotel were the flat, deflated pillows - two pillows that looked like cotton pancakes. The hotel played music in the hallways during the morning and afternoons. Loudly. Imagine sleeping in on a Saturday to recover from a hangover and hearing "Call Me Maybe" and equivalent pop music blaring from the outside of your room. The walls are thin, you can have a conversation with someone in the hall from your bed.

Small bathroom, no real toiletries, hand and body soap come from a soap pump dispenser, which I think isn't hygienic. Decor overall is generic, the lobby decor would be considered trendy maybe back in the late-90's. Staff were the only positive, they were helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussel
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located: a few steps from a central node with bus, tram and metro. You can get anywhere with public transport from here, or walk in 10-15 minutes to the main shopping street.
The hotel is modern, very nice atmosphere. Our room was at the front, on the street, but even in the weekend we had no noise issues. Very nice breakfast included, staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back here again!
By the way, Budapest is a very nice city. Definitely worth a long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Modern, tidy and clean hotel which has a great location. The thing I liked the most was breakfast, which was diversified and perfect, something for everybody's taste. Still. I wasn't pleased with very unkind staff. Need to work on their approach to the guests. Room cleaners were too loud in the morning (in the hall) while guests are sleeping. Kitchen staff takes the plates from guests before finishing meals and they are watching you strictly while you're taking food from the buffet table.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The rooms are small but the location and service very good.
The manager of the kitchen was very nice he offer us extra thing without money. The Internet was very high speed that you can't find in every hotel. I suggest everybody this hotel if he can be in small room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soho Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Boutique Hotel

Address: Dohany utca 64, Budapest H-1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#51 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#54 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#66 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May it be a business trip, a city tour or relaxation, the new 4* boutique hotel of the Hungarian capital will give an unforgettable experience. Beyond the scents, flavours, sights, the silent tranquility, the tangible splendour and winged imagination, discover the seventh of all senses: Soho! Give in to the temptation and take a walk in the world of sensuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Soho Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.