We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onyx Restaurant

Onyx Restaurant
Vorosmarty Square 7-8 | Entrance From the Harmincad Street, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36 30 508 0622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $34 - $168
Cuisines: Continental, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

We went with friends and had the Hungarian Evolution Experience.

Incredible, delicious. The food was exquisite and such an unusual take on Hungary food.

The ambience and service made it an extra special evening.

Can't wait to go again :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    140
    44
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“beautiful food with attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

we went to Onyx on a Saturday night and had the tasting menu with wine. From the off we were treated impeccably well by knowledgeable and attentive staff. Each course was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. The Hungarian wines to match truly complimented as it should do. we where there for approx 4 hours. the decor was really cool and very relaxing which made us feel very comfortable.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm County, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super food at super cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

During a vacation trip to Budapest my family surprised me having book a table at the famous restaurang. The day was my 50 birthday and we eat a 8 course tasting menu with the wine package. We spent 5-6 hours and eat a wonderful meal!
No wonders why the restaurant has a star in guide michelin. Since the pricelevel in Budapest is lower in general the meal was SUPER Value for the money, 6 people eating the tasting menu and 3 drinking the winepackage ended up at app. Euro1000.
So if you would like to eat superfood at a good price, Go to Onyx in Budapest.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Don't be put off because it has a Michelin Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

Book in advance for lunch. Select your food from the menu and choose the 'with wine' option, it is well worth the extra.
Words will not be enough to say how good the food, wine and staff are. Four of us ate there and had the different glass of wine to go with each course option. The cost, including service, was £200, for four. A bargain. Yes we will be returning to this restaurant.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Go if you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We called Onyx on the spur of the moment after hearing about the quality of the food when we were on a Taste Hungary food walk - we were delighted to secure a table the same evening. It was stunningly good - we opted for the tasting menu and standouts included the goulash - such intensity of flavour -and the bread basket is second to none. We were charmed by the water buffalo dish with edible flowers including cucumber - picture attached.
We could hardly finish dessert and the fine chocolate selection.
Service was impeccable

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onyx Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Onyx Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onyx Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.