We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gastonomical veg experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onyx Restaurant

Onyx Restaurant
Vorosmarty Square 7-8 | Entrance From the Harmincad Street, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36 30 508 0622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,864 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $34 - $168
Cuisines: Continental, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful gastonomical veg experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

It is our first time to experience a full vegetarian menu from such a high quality restaurant. We are accustomed to michelin stars and have recently experienced a 3 stars one....Onyx is definitively worthy of the equivalent!! The service was simply perfect and the cuisine just exquisite! Will definitively go there again! And for those who complains about the pricing... I do not consider a €80 - 7 courses menu to be expensive! For the real amateurs of fine cuisine, we all know that a 7 courses should be much pricier!!! Not to mention a top class sommelier! Definitively worth the experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    140
    44
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Overall a good experience, the lunch was on the expensive side. The food was tasty and delicious but the portions were very small. However, enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Taste Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, very knowledgeable staff and excellent food :-)

We tried the 9 course Taste Menu with the recommended Wine-menu and it was absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended!

If you love great food, this is the place to visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“made my day...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

After my disappointing experience in another fine dining restaurant in my first night in Budapest, Onyx was like an oasis for me... Thanks to the excuisite chef and the spectacular staff for making my day. Would recommend Onyx to anyone who loves fine dining and also good wine ;)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Must try this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food was out of this world!! The presentation, the taste, and the interesting ingredients, everything was perfect! We were there for lunch and had the 3-course set menu. The price was very reasonable for a Michelin star restaurant, only 6000 HUF (about $25)/person.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onyx Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Onyx Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onyx Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.