We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busapest's brightest shining star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onyx Restaurant

Onyx Restaurant
Vorosmarty Square 7-8 | Entrance From the Harmincad Street, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36 30 508 0622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 2,048 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $34 - $169
Cuisines: International, European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Busapest's brightest shining star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having visited the Onyx five times over the last three years, I am happy to be able to give them my full support. I've visited eight of the top ten restaurants in Budapest, several of them more than once, and in my opinion, the Onyx is the brightest shining star in the constellation.

There is so much to be said about the Onyx' love for the traditional Hungarian cuisine and ability to refine, modernize and convey it to the guests, but this may not the right forum for longeurs. I recommend this restaurant to food lovers,especialy those who, like myself, use edibles to learn about the culture.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    156
    49
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well Prepared Meals, Superior Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Food, service, and decor right at the top. It's expensive but worth it. The somelier are always wonderful.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“whole new prefection level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the planning level of the trip, we knew Onyx is a must and one of the anchors in our trip.
But, in my wildest dreams, I didn't imagine the food and the ambiance would be as close to perfection as it gets.

We have been in many restaurants in Budapest, none of them come close to the high standards of service, design and food. The chef design each dish, and turn it to celebration of flavors and textures. The waiters are super professional.

If you are interested in gourmet food - this is the place.

The prices aren't cheap, but you can try the daily menu (launch time) for single, most wonderful experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv-Yafo, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was in lot of good restaurants in Budapest, and Onyx is the clearly the best. No Doubt they deserve their micheline star. I had lunch there, and it was perfect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bright spot in a beautiful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A beautiful restaurant with excellent service, a good local wine list and wonderful food. The interior of the restaurant was enough to draw us into the restaurant. It is in a convenient location. We had crispy duck with foie gras and a 10-year-old bottle of a local cabernet sauvignon at the recommendation of the sommelier. It paired perfectly with the meal.

This was one of our more expensive meals in Budapest but well worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onyx Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Onyx Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onyx Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.