We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin Starred Treat just off Vorosmartyter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onyx Restaurant

Onyx Restaurant
Vorosmarty Square 7-8 | Entrance From the Harmincad Street, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36 30 508 0622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $34 - $168
Cuisines: Continental, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Texas
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Michelin Starred Treat just off Vorosmartyter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Business lunch this time. Excellent choice of restaurant. Service impeccable. Wines excellent. Pogacha just amazing. Duck liver was exceptional. In fact, it was all fantastic and an amazing value for a Michelin starred location. Set menus but mixing/matching perfrectly acceptable. Vegetarian also possible. An excellent choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    140
    44
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Budapest goes modern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Visited Onyx with a group of colleagues for dinner.

Nicely decorated restaurant which reputedly is the best in Budapest. Does a modern interpretation using fusion techniques with local produce.

We all had the 5-course menu with wine package. The course started with sturgeon caviar on black bread crumbs. A little bland. After that a very good foie gras mousse with some quince jam - classic and very good. This was followed buy a piece of salmon served together with a small piece of wienerschnitzel - strange and not so good,.After that a pork dish from the Mangalitza black curly pig breed, servied with puy lentils and a side dish of lentil foam. Meat a little dry, lentils nice but foam meaningless. All in all the food was quite good but not in the xsame league as might be expected.

The wines served with the foods were mostly good, with the exception of an Alsace riesling served with the sturgoen roe - the rest were hungarian furmints, a chardonnay and a zwegelt with the pork. All very nice.

The service is impeccable, very attentive and precise.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Budapest Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our first trip to Budapest so visited the suggested Top Four ..without hesitation Onyx was our No 1 for Fine Dining... A Michelin starred Chef there who produces superbly presented food of such wonderful flavours. We visited twice, sampling many dishes, all were excellent, I have never called a soup delicious before but the "Bean Soup" was! The atmosphere is modern and serviced by a quietly efficient and professional team.
Try the ground coffee which is paper filtered at your table

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Treat yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I live in Budapest and my husband and I LOVE eating at Onyx. We have dinner here about once a quarter to either celebrate something, cheer ourselves up or splash out because we've conjured up some spurious reason to treat ourselves.
This is one of two Michelin restaurants in Budapest (the other being Costes) - and this is the only one that will let you have the vegetarian tasting menu while your companion has a tasting menu with more courses (chef's orders).
We tend to spend about 3 hours at dinner here - it's romantic, the food and wine are amazing and the staff friendly, well-informed and extremely polite and attentive.

Onyx also has a lunch menu, which I would recommend if you want to avoid the higher prices. This daytime menu is not any more expensive than other good restaurants in the area. Just to level-set, Onyx for dinner is exceptionally expensive for Budapest (if you live here and are paid here) but amazing value for money if you're comparing it to Michelin restaurants in other locations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Value for money for Michelin Star restaurant but not yet impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a restaurant that you can feel their seriousness in food, service and building ambience. Having said that, while they put great attention in every single details of food / wine serving, they can try to bring out more the natural flavor and freshness from the ingredients. I would also like to see the birthday cake that I ordered come out a bit earlier.

Nevertheless, this is one of the best value for money Michelin restaurants that I visited so far.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onyx Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Onyx Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onyx Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.