We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Promenade City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Promenade City Hotel to your Saves list
Promenade City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 22, Budapest H 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed at the Promenade City for three nights during our visit to Budapest to see the F1 Grand Prix.

The hotel is in an excellent location, right in the centre on the "Pest" side of the Danube, close to the many shops, bars and restaurants. On the whole we had a very positive experience and would probably stay here again, but I must point out the following:

1. As the previous reviewer has pointed out, none of the rooms have natural daylight because all the windows are internal.
2. The electricity only comes on when your key-card is in the slot, so the drinks I put in the fridge to keep cool were not actually chilled because when we were out of the room the fridge was off!
3. There was a power-cut the first morning, although this was rectified fairly quickly.
4. The sink in the bathroom only allowed the water to drain away v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y.
5. There was no shower curtain, so water ended up everywhere.

On the plus side though...

1. Nice clean hotel, large room, comfortable bed
2. Friendly and helpful staff
3. Good selection of breakfast goodies
4. Superb city centre location, walking distance from most local attractions.

So mostly a positive stay, in a beautiful city. I would certainly recommend the Promenade.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    240
    63
    19
    8
See reviews for
73
222
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is my 3rd visit to Budapest and I have just spent 8 nights in this Hotel which is situated in the centre of Budapest on the Vaci Utca so the situation is lovely, and from the photos also looks chic and modern ~ BUT ~ apart from a few rooms facing the street the majority of rooms face an internal wall or the elevator, hence you do not have fresh air or even know what the weather is like outside! Strange set-up really. Having said that I had a street room for 3 nights but the aircon wasn't working and even with 2 desk top fans, the room was 27 degrees before 10am in the morning! So I was glad to have an inside room that had working aircon!! The rooms are immaculately kept. The beds are very firm and the pillows are hugely high and lumpy although there are also small cushions you can use, and the bathroom is unusual in that it doesn't have a shower screen or curtain so having a shower inevitably soaks the bathroom floor even if you try not to the water flows off your elbows! So after a shower you have to use your towels to soak up the water which is a painl? .. Breakfasts were quite plentiful, ie cheese/salami/salad + scrambled egg and frankfurter type sausages - cereal - fruit juices - and various breads/buns but on the days I did go for breakfast I did go fairly early as heard the stock is not always replenished. All in all a good location but apart from the reception desk and breakfast room on the 6th floor you are really just renting a room as there are no other facilities, so if you like to have a drink at a bar or sit and chat to other guests in the foyer this Hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

a fine location in the Vaci shopping street. but unfortunately there are no rooms that actually have a clear vaci utca street view. in the rooms that are supposedly "street view" there is a very high window, that a person needs to climb a chair to see their "street view" which is not so intersting. reception staff are also fine, but the one that made us the check in needed to give us two seperate rooms in two seperate floors although we are a family and we already ordered connected rooms. when we objected in that he quickly gave us two rooms near each others!!so there are available connected rooms but he doesn't want to give them to clients ! breakfast buffet is in a very tiny room where there are only a few tables . the food is ok but once it finishes it is never replaced. the staff in the breakfast room are very rude, impolite, and mean especially the blond fat lady. before ten oclock they collecting and removing the dishes even if people are still eating. and before ten oclock they start making noises with the plates and cups. what is so weird about the hotel is that from 7 am the maid starts cleaning the rooms, not only but she holds a microphone and talks in hungarian so everybody would wake up.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Just back from a wonderful trip to Budapest. Excellent hotel, location was perfect, right on Vaci Utca which is one of the main streets in Budapest. Hotel was clean, very comfortable and the staff were very very helpful and courteous. No tea, coffee facilities in the bedrooms, something to be considered : 2 Course meal, 2 beers and a coffee for around €15pp. Selenus was a good restaurant just behind the Promenade City Hotel. Would definitely go back to this place. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Finally got around to posting a review as promised to tell everyone thinking of a city break to Budapest to book this hotel direct,we flew with Ryanair and paid extra for a suitcase per couple- DONT!- when we checked in nearly everyone had a small pull along suitcase crammed full and took them on as hand luggage!!(forcing them into the overhead lockers making space a premium!).On arrival at Budapest Airport we had pre booked a taxi to the hotel with Budapest Airport Transfers on the internet -DONT!-the licensed taxi's at the airport charged a fixed fee far cheaper than we had paid and our taxi was not there (had to make two phone calls before they arrived).The hotel is right in the middle of the main shopping area, a modern, clean hotel with helpful staff a good buffet breakfast and you can walk straight out into the main tourist spots.We got a great rate by booking direct on the net. We had wonderful weather and took the bus tour with free danube boat ride which was great value for money,the schezny baths and spa are a must but watch out for the burly elderly lady at the entrance kiosk (avoid her at all costs-she does not speak English and cannot use a computer it took us 3/4 of an hour to get in!!).The Torture Museum is closed on a Monday so dont try and save it for the last day if you are going for a long weekend as we did !!.A fab hotel and city would recommend it for a great short break .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at start of July. Its in a central location with many restaurants and shops on the door step. Some restaurants overpriced compared to others a short stroll away. Went to beautiful italian called 'Mamma' on way to Basilica, very reasonable and excellent food. Was first of all checked into a room which didnt have a view, the window seemed to open onto a hallway and I found it very clostrophobic, I explained this to the staff - unfortunately all rooms at the front were booked out that night but they kindly moved us the next day and were very pleasant about it. My advice would be ask for a room with a view - they were more spacious as well with ceiling to floor window onto the street although you couldnt get onto the balcony - which was probably for security reasons.
Watch out for MOSQUITOS I got bitten all over and didnt realise to the next day when I had lots of swollen lumps and bumps itching like hell! Not blaming the hotel - I think it happened at RIO the outdoor party bar place (recommend it for a night out) but we kept the windows in the room closed after that and got a fly spray. Local pharmacy had 'fenistil' a gel which really helped the itch.
Staff at the front reception were very helpful and pleasant. We got the airport shuttle service to and from airport as we arrived quite late at night - good service, think it was £30 or 37 euro return for 2 people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed in Promenade City Hotel for 5 nights during the first week of May. The hotel is a modern one, with plenty great things to mention.
First of all, the location of this hotel is ideal for every type of traveler. I wanted to be near the metro and close distance from the gellert hill so this hotel was ideal. Also, If you like shopping then Vaci Utca should be your paradise as there are numerous of brands to choose.
The room was a non-smoking one in the fourth floor with view to the elevator. It was no spacious enough for my needs but generally the facilities were okay and the standard for a 3-star hotel. The bed was comfortable enough and every night spent there was silent and calm without any noises to disturb you. Moreover, the bathroom was great with a spacious shower to use .
The Wi Fi connection of the hotel was fast, reliable and free.
The only drawback of this hotel was the breakfast. It was free with a good variety of food to choose but everything run out if you are late for it. Also, the breakfast room was a bit small and it was crowded early in the morning, so you can't enjoy your breakfast in a peaceful environment.
The staff was really kind and they all were speaking very good English. They helped us a lot giving directions to the metro and suggesting restaurants and shops close to the hotel.
I highly recommend Promenade City Hotel for future visits in Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Promenade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade City Hotel

Address: Vaci utca 22, Budapest H 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Promenade City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new Promenade City Hotel is situated right in the city centre of Budapest, on the pedestrianized Váci Street next to the Danube river. Fancy shops and boutiques, luxurious restaurants and elegant bars can be found only a few steps from the Promenade City Hotel, offering plenty of opportunities for entertainment all day and all night long. Choose from wonderfully elegant and fully equipped rooms and start every new day at the rich complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Promenade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promenade City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.