We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Promenade City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Promenade City Hotel to your Saves list
Promenade City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 22, Budapest H 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Superb value hotel. Such a central location, everything on your doorstep

Staff are extremely helpful, breakfast is good. The rooms are modern and clean. Didn't find them particularly small like some reviewers have mentioned.

Would recommend this place to anyone going to budapest .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    211
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
61
198
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is situated on the main pedestrian street and in walking distance of most attractions. The hotel is very clean and well presented. The reception staff were very helpful, nothing too much trouble. We had a room on the top floor and found the lift rather noisy during the night. As the hotel is situated between shops, many of the rooms face onto a blank wall. Breakfast was self service and was adequate. The breakfast room is on the top floor. The hotel does not have a bar or lounge area but rooms have a mini bar with reasonably priced drinks.
We used the airport minibus service from the airport which dropped us and picked us up as near as possible to the hotel, a few hundred yards away. They were very reliable.
We had booked a tour of the Parliament Building on the Internet which saved having to queue. We paid for a 48hour bus tour on the Blue Bus and boat trip. We were disappointed as some of their transport was by coaches rather than an open top bus - recommend looking at the other companies on offer.
We had a 4 night stay in Budapest which gave us enough time to see all the sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. Hotel is in a fantastic, central location and close to the river Danube, shops and restaurants. Staff are very friendly, helpful and always speak when passing. Upon check-in we were presented with an envelope full of leaflets and information regarding sightseeing tours, cruises, etc. you can take, which was really appreciated. The rooms are very clean, spacious and have everything you require. The breakfasts were continental style, and there is always plenty of food available and the staff are constantly checking to make sure nothing runs out. The breakfast room (located on the 6th floor) is quite small, therefore would recommend you go early (opens 7am to 10am) or after 9am - or you risk having to wait for a table. Really can't recommend this hotel enough and when we do return to this lovely city for another visit, we will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Not quite what I expected but it is a well appointed hotel, central for everything. Breakfast room not the biggest so be prepared for a queue at peak times. Ask for an external room as internal rooms can be stuffy and a bit noisy from lifts.
Just an observation not a criticism.

Helpful staff and clean hotel. Good value all round.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights. Staff very friendly and would do anything to help. Rooms are so clean and get cleaned everyday if you require. Location was great and visitor attractions are all within walking distance if you don't mind walking a few miles. Food was good but I'm fussy so wasn't much choice for me. Would like to see more cereal options and healthy options or even a toaster apart from my fussiness was excellent experience and would stay here again without hesitation really happy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is the most perfectly located hotel in Budapest. It is located on one of the main pedestrian streets and everything is pretty much within walking distance. We only used the metro once and that was to go to the Szechenyi Baths (although this is also within walking distance we wanted to get there early).
The rooms are set out very nicely and there was plenty of room for myself and my friend. We had all the usual hotel facilities and found we had everything we needed. The bathroom was of a good size and the little toiletries were a nice touch.
The safe in the room was also fantastic as I always worry about leaving any valuables on show in a hotel room so this was great. We did however manage to lock ourselves out of the safe on our last evening, but on contacting the reception they were more than happy to help and opened the safe straight away for us.
All the staff were lovely and greeted us each time we passed reception. Incredibly polite, spoke fantastic english and always happy to help.
The breakfast was perfectly fine and the hotel was incredibly clean.
The best thing about this hotel is its location, but everything else is to a fantastic standard too. We had an incredible time in Budapest and cannot wait to return, and when we do. I certainly know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Promenade Hotel in February this year. The hotel is extremely well located on Vaci Utca (the main tourist stretch). The hotel was quite basic but we didn't pay much per night so was good value for money. The breakfast was good. Reception staff were always friendly and easy to ask for advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Promenade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade City Hotel

Address: Vaci utca 22, Budapest H 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Promenade City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new Promenade City Hotel is situated right in the city centre of Budapest, on the pedestrianized Váci Street next to the Danube river. Fancy shops and boutiques, luxurious restaurants and elegant bars can be found only a few steps from the Promenade City Hotel, offering plenty of opportunities for entertainment all day and all night long. Choose from wonderfully elegant and fully equipped rooms and start every new day at the rich complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Promenade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promenade City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.