We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable City Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Promenade City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Promenade City Hotel to your Saves list
Promenade City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 22, Budapest H 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Weymouth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Acceptable City Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The position of this hotel could not really be much better. It is right in the heart of the main town of Pest.
Situated in the pedestrian area.
Therefore it is perfect for exploring the town on foot. Although it is only a 3 star, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and all spoke perfect English.
The breakfast room is on the 6th floor and is small and quaint, however the food selection is fine.
There are lots of Bars and restaurants within 2 mins walk of the hotel.
My bedroom was quite big with a nice desk area and very fast free internet access.
I was there with a colleague and we paid about €50 each per night. We each had a large double room.
For a city centre hotel that is really good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. The views are better and there is no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    260
    66
    24
    8
See reviews for
80
245
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were in Budapest for 4 days and 3 nights for a Stag Party (Bachelor Party). We didn't want to spend a whole lot of money on the hotel. Therefore we booked the promenade. Decent size of a room for the money you pay, and a really nice bathroom, and yes no shower curtain. But the main issue we had was that our bedroom air conditioner was not a good one, the room was quite warm, and we didn't complain, because the amount of time we spent in the room was quite minimal (if you know what I mean).

The breakfast is adequate, eggs, sausages, bread, corn flakes, 3 different types of juices, NO TOASTER.

Stay there if you want to spend minimal money for adequate clean accommodation and the location is very central. Its on Vaci Street, which is kind of London's Carnaby Street. No vehicles on it, only foot traffic.

Room Tip: Request that your room is not near the lift, nor that your window faces the lift, because the annoyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have just come back from a lovely break away in this beautiful city. The location of this hotel is second to none. It is surrounded by restaurants and shops. Some of which are traditional hungarian and some are international....like Zara, H&M and Hard Rock Cafe etc. So something for everyone. I liked the way that there was no hard sell when you went for a walk. The area feels very safe (we were 2 women on our own) and even when we came home at 2am, we didn't feel at risk.

The hotel is easy to find on Vaci Utca which is the trafiic free shopping area, even though it is a small doorway. The buildings are all numbered, so finding number 22 was easy.

Within in a gentle 5 minute walk you can get to Dunube...which is amazing at night. It is the same distance to the number 1 metro line and the tram on the watre front. At the other end on the road (about 15 minute walk) is the grand market, which is good for cheap lunch time food with the locals. The gifts are cheaper here too. The location is a safe, clean, attactive area to base your sightseeing stay in Budapest.

Check in was quick and easy and the staff spoke good English.

The room was modern and clean. There was only a view into an internal covered area, but we spent the day light hours out and about, so this didn't bother us. The room was made up and clean towels and toiletries (soap and shower gel) supplied when we put the sign on our door. There was a flat screen TV and we managed to find a music channel with 80% English music, which was fine to get ready to. There is a free safe. The bath had a shower over it, but no screen/curtain, so the floor got a bit wet, but not realy an issue. There were no tea or coffee making facilities, but neither of us drank hot drinks :-). My only "complaint" is that the huge pillows, which looked cosy, were rock hard and not very good to sleep on.

Breakfast is on the 6th floor from 7-10am. It seemed to be busiest from 9-10am and there maybe a slight wait to get a table if you don't want to share, but tables were cleared quickly. The food was buffet style and typical of anywhere in Europe...bread, cakes, cheeses, cold meats, cereals and eggs and sausages...so quite a choice. Hot and cold drinks were also availlable.

We paid 132 euros (including all the taxes) for 3 nights in a twin room from Thur-Sun at the start of March. I think this is a very good price and was booked directly with the hotel, as it was the same price as the comparision sites.

The staff were very helpful and gave us a 2am wake up call, as requested and arranged a good priced taxi for us at 3am to get back to the airport (5800HUF)...which was about £17 between us and the taxi driver (who walked to our hotel to collect us) said it was about a 27km journey. So a bargain in my eyes!

I hope to be able to return to Budapest one day, and this is where I will be staying!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hallways are a little tight but once you get settled it is the perfect launching point for seeing all of Budapest. Everything was walking distance. I have to chime in on the breakfast situation. While the food was good, the tables were sparse and unless you hve loads of patience, you will end up sitting with some new friends - not necessarily a bad thing - just be prepared if you are travelling with two or more. They were also pretty stringent about the END of breakfast. We were done eating but sitting for a bit to plan our day and were shooed out of the room at precisely 10:00 am.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat - but make sure I was first to breakfast...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

A very narrow entrance hall should have been the first clue that the hotel was built IN the courtyard of the original building. To compensate for the absence of an external wall, most rooms have operable windows facing into an internal, 7-level 'light shaft'. The lift is at one end of the open space and every sound from it is amplified in the building's 'open core'. It was not possible to release some of the heat transmitted from other rooms through the windows simultaneously and sleep.

The continental breakfast offering was adequate. The coffee dispenser seems to use water soluble powder which was not pleasant.

On an oddity, the carton packaging for the fruit juices was marked, "Cat Food".

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystad, Sverige
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Clean and fresh room, however quite small.Only one chair, no sitting area for relaxing. Cheap prices in the minibar. No shower curtain. We found only one english speaking channel on the TV (CNN). Breakfast was good, different types of bread, meat and cheese, cereals, fruit, scrambled eggs and sausages. The great value was excellent location with shops, restaurants and sights just ouside the door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

very goog hotel, nice rooms, the crew are very helpful. rich breakfast, but the main issu is the location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#76 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#55 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#119 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#53 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
#38 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade City Hotel

Address: Vaci utca 22, Budapest H 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new Promenade City Hotel is situated right in the city centre of Budapest, on the pedestrianized Váci Street next to the Danube river. Fancy shops and boutiques, luxurious restaurants and elegant bars can be found only a few steps from the Promenade City Hotel, offering plenty of opportunities for entertainment all day and all night long. Choose from wonderfully elegant and fully equipped rooms and start every new day at the rich complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Promenade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promenade City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.