We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corvin Point Hostel

Save Saved
You added Corvin Point Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corvin Point Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1082 Nap utca 4 | 1st floor, Budapest, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 470 Specialty lodging in Budapest
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were travelling and were on a tight budget, so we expected down-trodden hotels. This exceeded our expectations with clean rooms, very comfortable beds, clean and beautifully designed bathrooms. The owner/manager (called Zoltan) was extremely helpful to us, providing maps of the city with things to do, attractions and worthwhile tours in and around the city. (we went on the free walking tour of budapest, very worthwhile). It was situated on the pest side right next to a metro station where you can buy a ticket for 1 or 3 days to cover all types of transport for very little money (recommended by Zoltan) and that puts the hotel in an ideal location, one or two stops away from the lively jewish quarter but far enough away to not be too noisy. There was a central kitchen that everyone used and was great for a community feel as well as free internet use on the computer. We stayed in a private room which was wonderful, but all the rooms looked clean, comfortable and well designed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room as there was 3 of us, not much extra, all rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
9
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments Hostel is a great place to stay. Very friendly personnel. Perfect value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Really good standard in the room and great personal service from the manager!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Excellent value and great location - only 2 blocks from the subway and right across from the main tram line stop. Rooms and furniture were brand new due to renovation and everything was clean. Nothing seedy about the place at all - and this was my first hostel stay so I was a little scared! The owner is really nice and willing to help you with directions, maps, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Great place, was under construction when we were there which meant a bit of an early wake up call but it was low season so we had an 8 bed dorm just for the 2 of us for 2 out of the 4 nights. Great location, not in the pricey tourist area and on the "grand boulevard" making it easy to get back to.

The remaining scars of the bullet holes from the revolution in '56 provide instant character to the building. There was no breakfast during our visit but there's potential that breakfast will be back in 2012 which would be a bonus.

All in all, very enjoyable stay, comfy beds and friendly people, even if hungarian is the most extraordinary language in the world and impossible to understand or pronounce!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed here while traveling with my sister in October, the hostal was empty at the time so we got the best room which was very spacious, clean and well decorated for a hostal. The owner Zoltan is the best, he made delcious ham and cheese sandwich for breakfast with tea and granola every morning. He was also very helpful with directing us where we should go and general insight to Hungarian history and culture. It was a quiet place, I imagine it would be perfect for couples traveling together. There wasnt any common area so we didnt really socialize with anyone as more people arrived at the hostal later in our stay.
Location was good. It wasnt in the middle of the city or night life but the public transportation and cabs were easy to navigate and cheap. The location was not an issue at all.
Overall, this hostal was wonderful and I would reccomend it to anyone, especially older hostal goers and couples!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have only positive things to say about this hostel. It was peaceful and really clean and the staff was really nice, friendly and helpful. Also breakfast was included, so in the morning there were fresh toasts and tea waiting for us. It felt really cosy, almost like home in there. The only minus was that it wasn't really easy to find because there wasn't any sign outside, you had to find the name of the hostel (without "hostel" written there!) at the door bell, after you first found the right door. But I guess that was a good thing because it made it a safer and more peaceful place to stay. I recommend having a map with you when coming for the first time (you can get free maps of the city center with the name, address and location of the hostel after you arrive), because the taxi drivers don't always know where this Nap utca 4 is (I used taxi twice during my stay, and I had to show it on a map on both times). I really enjoyed my stay, and if my new friends in Budapest can't offer me a place to stay, I'll definitely choose this hostel again when coming back! For a hostel that was much more than I expected.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corvin Point Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corvin Point Hostel

Address: 1082 Nap utca 4 | 1st floor, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 470 Specialty lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corvin Point Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality hostel in the center of Budapest. Good location, nice atmosphere, clean bathrooms. We offer freshly renovated new rooms and apartments in an authentical Hungarian apartment house. LCD TV and free WIFI in all rooms, fully equipped large kitchen with fresh coffee and tea. Free maps of the city are always available in the 24/7 reception. Flexible check-in and check-out is also possible on request. Groups up to 30 people are welcome! Private parking available 200m from the hostel!Corvin Point Hostel is a well-run family-owned hostel that provides all types of accommodation such as budget dormitory rooms, silent private rooms ENSUITE, and cozy, fully equipped apartments. The hostel can accommodate 33 guests at the same time while all the rooms and apartments are in the same building in one place.Besides the different types of accommodation, we can offer a massive variety of interesting services such as: free walking tours in the city, boating on the river Danube, sightseeing tours both in Budapest and the countryside, wine tasting, caving in the hills of Buda, and bike rental.We also work together with many Hungarian universities’ ERASMUS program and support those foreign students who arrive to the city for a semester. We can help them in many different ways in finding the right place to live, and taking the first steps to start their semester in Budapest.We love to do our job. Budapest is a great city and we meet so many different people from all over the World. As we have been working in hostel business since 1998 our mission has never changed: Give our guests a real home, with full of new experience. So far many backpackers, groups, families and couples have chosen us. We look forward to seeing you too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Corvin Point Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corvin Point Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.