We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Made Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Home Made Hostel to your Saves list
Home Made Hostel
22 Terez krt. | 6th district, Budapest 1066, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had a great time staying at HMH. The staff were very welcoming & friendly, the facilities are great and the location is perfect for everywhere you'd want to go in Budapest. Staff were happy to book taxis, tours, and give advice on where to go and what to do. Loved the quirky touches like laundry coming back in a vintage suitcase! Would definitely stay here again if and when I return to Budapest. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: I had an upper level bed in the 6 bed dorm, it was great - like being in a treehouse :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
19
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

In four months of backpacking all around Europe, this was absolutely the best hostel I stayed in.

I spent three nights in Home Made Hostel in an 8-bed dorm. It was unlike any other dorm I've been in - there were no bunks, and there was so much space it didn't feel like a dorm room at all!

The hostel is relatively small (much smaller than I thought), the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and the service is great. Due to its size, it's approachable and really comfortable - made it easy to meet and get to know everyone you were staying with... On top of that, the staff is approachable and friendly, and they all speak excellent English.

The hostel offers free wifi and computer use, free lockers, a laundry service, a bunch of information about the city as well as guidebooks and a kitchen.

The location, just off the Oktogon, is great. It's just across the road from a tram stop that does a city loop and is less than 100m from a metro station. It's close to the best bar/restaurant area of Budapest, with the famous Szimpla ruin bar being only a 10 minute walk away.

I'd absolutely recommend this place, especially to solo travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in the 8 bed dorm for 5 nights in September, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the hostel was very clean and comfy. It's in a great location half way between the Danube and the City Park so easy walking distance to all the tourist sites. I would definitely recommend the bar tour as well, a great night out :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayong, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I loved it. I loved the atmosphere, the retro furniture, the overall decoration, the comfy bed (After a night with shaky bunk bed in London, thank god! no bunk bed at last!), the lovely lovely staffs who were all sooo friendly and helpful, the wide range of specialty tea, the location, the free wifi, the people who stayed there, everything basically. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 6-bed dorm. Don't know if there's any bunk bed in the other one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The decor and layout of this hostel sets it apart! The attention to detail is charming. The 8 bed dorm that we stayed in is really cleverly laid out, with a sort of 2 storey 'treehouse' which meant that the beds were paired off or individually cordoned with curtains/internal walls so that it felt that we had our own private twin room.
Big kitchen and common areas.
Lots of useful suggestions on the walls for places to eat etc
Friendly and helpful staff
The hostel is pretty centrally located with good transport links (ask for directions before you arrive, they were very helpful), or if you prefer to walk, like us, it's about 20min to the thermal baths and heroes square in one direction, and 15-20min to St Stephen's Basilica in the other.

On the downside, two of the bathrooms are linked (i.e. the wall doesn't quite reach the ceiling) so you can be...overheard. The bathrooms also sometimes smelled strongly of vegetables..?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hostel is not a party hostel and does not pretend to be one. It is a comfortable homely place with alaid back atmosphere. The staff are friendly and helpfull. Location is ok and bathrooms could do with modernisation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely loved staying at the hostel. The staff did everything possible to make my stay amazing! Very clean and great beds, rooms. Free coffee and tes. Can't say enough!I will definitely stay here any time I come to Budapest

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Made Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Made Hostel

Address: 22 Terez krt. | 6th district, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Home Made Hostel. If you are a traveller looking for a friendly, well-located, home-from-home place, you’ve found your hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Home Made Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Made Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.