We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic, bohemian, cosy and friendly - not your usual dorms and stag dos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Made Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Home Made Hostel to your Saves list
Home Made Hostel
22 Terez krt. | 6th district, Budapest 1066, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Absolutely fantastic, bohemian, cosy and friendly - not your usual dorms and stag dos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Home Made Hostel was a fantastic place with great staff who were really helpful. There is also a wide range of books and other helpful resources around the place so you are never stuck for something to do. We were even invited on one of Martin (one of the staff)'s tours for the Erasmus students he mentors and met lots of people from elsewhere in Europe. We stayed in the double room which was wonderful and very cosy. Real feather bedding was lovely. Great location too, right in the Oktogon junction,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
19
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at this hostel from Nov 7-10. Hostel was in a scruffy, old building. The room we stayed at appear to be in need of a little bit of cleaning. We stayed at the apartment / loft room across the hall from the main hostel reception. That aside, the welcome was fantastic. The hostel staff were friendly, helpful, and warm. The hostel even had a Tuesday night free dinner which was a great time to socialize with other guest. This hostel was cozy since I think it has less than 30 beds. Great place to stay if you want to meet other travelers. Hostel was fairly central as well. It was very convenient to a Metro stop and Franz Lizst Square was just about 300 yards behind the hostel. Excellent place for restaurants and bars. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This place was one of the better hostels i have stayed in- and that is saying something, given that the first 2 nights I was there I was put in a bed literally 30cm away from another guy! On my first night, the owner made free Hungarian food and wine and it was a fantastic way of breaking the ice for all the other travellers. I only wish it was done more often. Pretty small common area, but the staff are all friendly and make suggestions about what to see, where to go out, etc. I would recommend staying here in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We had a great stay at home made hostel. The staff were very helpful. They made sure we were comfortable and provided information about anything we asked. They had some excellent, inexpensive restaurant recommendations. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Budapest. The location was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

A really great cute place, close to the train lines and nice restaurants. The staff are really friendly, and have good recommendations for sight seeing and eating out. We stayed in the 8 person dorm and overall it was really clean, quiet and a nicely decorated room with a homely feel. There's also free coffee and tea and a kitchen at your disposal.

If you're on a budget, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for about 4 nights during January this year and we didn't want to leave!

This is the perfect base from whichto explore Budapest. The staff are really friendly, rooms are warm and comfortable, facilities are everything you need, showers are hot. It's also a great location: close to several metro stops and a short(ish) walk from the Jewish quarter and nightlife. more importantly, also very close to several off license shops for late night Palinka, bread and cheese!

We went to Paris after Budapest and wanted to come back to home Made Hostel: it just felt like home!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We lucked out and were given the new stand-alone apartment down the hall--for only 40 euros total per night! Inside a gorgeous old building with 20-foot ceilings, we had a kitchen, bathroom, washing machine, dining nook and bedroom (1 double bed) all to ourselves. We had access to the lounge/computers/kitchen in the main hostel as well. The employees were also extremely friendly and helpful. The apartment is in great condition and the hostel is walking distance (or very easily accessible to public transport) to all the sights in the center of the city, as it's located on Andrassy St. Would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Made Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Made Hostel

Address: 22 Terez krt. | 6th district, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Home Made Hostel. If you are a traveller looking for a friendly, well-located, home-from-home place, you’ve found your hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Home Made Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Made Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.