We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old classic cafe in heart of Budapest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Kavehaz

Europa Kavehaz
Szent Istvan Krt. 7-9, Budapest 1055, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36-1- 3122362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #900 of 1,992 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: European, Greek, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“An old classic cafe in heart of Budapest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Took my kids here for ice cream. Beautiful old cafe with mezzanine and outdoor seating. Lots of coffees and pastries to choose from. Although locals tell me the quality of pastries has slipped and there are better places to enjoy the best pastries in Budapest. Go see for yourself just for the beauty of the cafe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyiregyhaza, Hungary
Level Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“My favorite cafe' in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've come to this cafe countless times since 1996, and I just love it! Obviously the staff has changed over that period of time, and I have to say that the other day when I went again, the waitresses were the unfriendliest I've ever encountered. Last year, the waitress couldn't have been friendlier or smilier. The coffee is good, but the real charm of the place is that it really hasn't changed since I started going all those years ago. The inside is so beautiful, and looks more like the inside of a theater or opera house, more so than a cafe. Its elegant ambiance inside, countered by its view outside of the best street in the city, which is Szt. Istvan Korut. The hustle and bustle along the sidewalks and road in between, is balanced by the occasional light breeze in the summertime afternoons, and the cooler temperatures of the evening.

I find that whenever I go there, the patrons are usually tourists, but it really is wonderful hearing all the different languages around you - and outside there is very limited seating, so it's much more intimate and comfortable than at other places which have terraces.

Once again, of all the cafes in Budapest, this is definitely my personal favorite- but to each his own, so it doesn't mean it's the best. Try it though, it's not any more in price than other cafes, and it's such a beautiful view from the terrace!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This is very nice place where to sit down and chat with friends or read a book. The quality of the pastries is high though the workers are not that gentle.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bat54
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely little spot near Danube on Pest side of town --”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I met an acquaintance at this lonely cafe, recommended by local friends.
This cafe/restaurant is spcious and intimate at the same time, due to the nice saeting optiuons -- there's an inner part with an upstairs and tables over the balcony,.
I sat in the front of the cafe-- which isn't quite as inviting, but I was meeting someone I barely knew and that was the easiest way to see and be seen.

We were there at 5PM on a Friday, and I ordered a lovely cool berry smoothy ( whatever that's called in Hungarian). It was delicious -- milk, ice, berries whipped into a forth. There was numerous choices and I only wish I didn't have dinner plans o after that, as I would have sampled more of the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite coffe house and next door take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is my favorite and try to go there everyday while in Budapest.It is elegant lot of seating inside and spaces patio.It is located on a main artery surrounded by beautiful buildings The pastries and coffee are far superior to the fashionable Gerbeaud and prices are reasonable.
Next door is the take out section, which is less expensive and offers a variety breads and buns.too.Also provides air condition during the summer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europa Kavehaz also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Europa Kavehaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Kavehaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.