We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shoes on the Danube Promenade Memorial
Pest side of the Danube Promenade, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 419 things to do in Budapest
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Too bad there wasn't any signs to explain what the shoes were, but it was a lovely place to visit, with such strong history.
We even saw some kids shoes, which was sad =[

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,825
    1,215
    250
    32
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I walked from our Viking Cruise ship to the site of the shoes...almost immediately we were unable to speak as we focused on the shoes and thought of those who were slaughtered at this point...the whole setting is one of beauty with some of the great buildings of Budapest visible in every direction...did they weep as they witnessed the unspeakable horror that took place on the beautiful Danube? We prayed that such evil will one day be only a remembrance and that all implements of war and torture will be beat into instruments of peace that better the human condition...idealism? Perhaps! Yet, still our prayed for reality.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“incredibly evocative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was a very moving experience and is definitely worth visiting. The other people there were quiet and respectful. It can be reached by walking north from Szechenyi bridge or south from Margit Hid along the waterfront. The approach form Margit Hid is longer and not suitable for anyone with mobility problems owing to the roadworks. As others have said, you can't access from parliament because of the roadworks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Moving Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just seek out the shoes by the Danube and spend a few minutes in quiet reflection.
Seems strange to describe it as an attraction but it is certainly a poignant reminder of man's inhumanity to man.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Stark reminder of the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a stark reminder and a lasting monument to the attrocities of the war, time for quiet reflection, candles placed at night

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoes on the Danube Promenade Memorial also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Shoes on the Danube Promenade Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoes on the Danube Promenade Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.