We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lion's Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lion's Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Lion's Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chazar Andras 4, Budapest 1146, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #65 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is really nice, it has a small but very clean pool and spa area that is never crowded. I was here two times and had good time. The rooms are good with big beds and the area where the hotel is located is ok. It is very near the train station and there is a metro stop near.
The staff was nice and the breakfast was tasty.
I think they are still in the beginning so the prices are low.
Very good for weekend trip of sightseeing Budapest!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    187
    56
    6
    9
See reviews for
68
136
13
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Lion's Garden at the beginning of July 2012 for a week. Our room was clean and comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet, for me, was very good as I don't like a cooked breakfast, but my husband would have preferred more cooked items, such as bacon.

We chose this hotel because it had an outdoor terrace and an indoor swimming pool. However, the weather was so abnormally hot when we were there that we didn't really use the terrace much, preferring to read our books in the air-conditioned reception/bar area. After a day's sight-seeing in the heat, it was nice to have a dip in the pool to cool off. We weren't charged anything to use the pool and I presume that the 5 Euros a day charge is for non-residents who stay in there all day. One minor irritation was the small public seating area, which doubled as lounge and bar and which got very crowded because it was too hot to sit on the terrace.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and happy to arrange excursions. One very good trip that we did was a day to Lake Balaton, taking in the Herend Porcelain Factory en route, with lunch in a lovely restaurant on the Tihany Peninsula, followed by a couple of hours in Balatonfured - one of the main lakeside resorts. Good value day out with excellent guide at just under £40 per person, including three course lunch.

We bought a seven day pass from the Railway Station, that gave us unlimited use of the buses, trams, train and metro within Budapest. There was a convenient bus stop only a few yards away from the hotel, so it was easy to get to the main tourist areas, which were not far away.

Round the corner on the main road (Thokoly utca) was a lovely bar/patisserie called Aranytolcser, which served snacks, beautiful cakes and ice creams and was very cheap.

All in all, a good hotel in a pleasant location.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies on the 6th floor. These are available at a supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Like i did mention in the title we had some problems with cleanliness ! The only thing the cleaning ladies did was to change the towels.And even that not every day! Considering that it was a 4 star hotel i don't think that is very acceptable! The staff was helpful and polite in contrast with all the other Hungarian people that we met in Budapest ! The hotel is located almost 2,5 klm from the center of Pesta (the flat part of Budapest) and almost 3 klm Buda (the part with the castles and the baths).Is easy to go though as there are 2 buses that pass right in front of the hotel and take you to both centers ( No 5 and No 7).We also used the pool,sauna and jakuzi and it was pretty good! Our rooms were in the last floor (6th) and we didn't have a good view as the only thing we could see were some old buildings.The food in the restaurant was also pretty good and the breakfast even better!! Also a few words for the city of Budapest : Very expensive city (it felt like they were stealing us) that has the most hostile and cold people i ever met in my life! I wonder how this city has so many tourists ?! That was the first and the last time i visited the city of Budapest!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We walked a lot through Budapest and it was very pleasant to come to the hotel and have a rest! I liked the room with a balkony very much! It has a pretty view on the church! Though the hotel is in the city centre, it's not noisy outside, so you feel free to open windows! So, i would like to stay in this hotel one more time if i need to!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at the Lions Garden as part of a group tour and it was a very clean hotel. Rooms were sized very nicely and all of the expected services worked well. We spent a lot of time sitting out on the outdoor patio behind the bar and found it to be a nice place to meet people and talk. The breakfast buffet was particularly weak - not much variety and the things like fresh fruit look liked it was days old, browned and unappealing. Hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant. A/C in the room was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived to check-in for three nights but were advised that due to water damage we had been transferred to another hotel of the same rating slightly nearer to the city. We had received no prior advice of this, nor given a choice of alternative accommodation. The receptionist called a taxi for us that took us to the other hotel. We were not charged for this. As we had booked a return taxi from this hotel at the end of our break, we returned there on the final day. On identifying ourselves to the reception, we were given complimentary refreshments. Our overall impression was this was an efficient hotel, although not in a patricularly attractive area. On both days we were there, there was evidence of large parties staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was staying in this hotel during a business trip to Budapest last month and I had a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated next to Budapest city park so it is basically a 10 min walk to the Hero Square, the Museum of fine arts or a stroll in the park itself. The surrounding area is quiet as it is a bit laid back from the center although still very close. The service was ok, meals in the restaurant good, conf. room where we had our meetings was bright and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#60 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Belvedere Hotel
#78 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#107 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Garden Hotel

Address: Chazar Andras 4, Budapest 1146, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion's Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion's Garden Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel in Budapest, with stylish and friendly atmosphere, professional staff, near to all the 'must-see' sights in Budapest, like City Park, Heroes Square, Museum of Fine Arts, Hall of Art, Millenium Memorial, Zoo and the Széchenyi Thermal bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Lion's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion's Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.