We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest City Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest City Central to your Saves list
Budapest City Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karoly Korut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here with family this weekend just gone. We were dropped off by 'Airport Shuttle' - who are based at the airport, they dropped us off outside the gates to the hotel - however, as you will see in other reviews, you may not realise that this is the hotel. Don't do as we did and wander up and down the road, the entrance to this hotel is an iron gate opposite the Synagogue, you'll see a small sign for the Budapest City Central - it's maybe worth knowing it used to be known as the Karoly Central Budapest (after the road it's on). It's up on the first floor, go up in a 'cosy' lift and they're very similar to apartments.
The staff are really friendly and polite, they will happily give you advice, they even let us borrow a guide book when we realised we'd left ours in the airport :(
The rooms were clean and a good size and the beds were comfortable. Hotel is in a good location, maybe 10 - 15 minute stroll to the Chain Bridge, Tesco and Spar shops nearby.
The restaurant that the breakfast is provided by - Bocadillos - is a lovely little place with decent food and friendly staff. We ended up eating here almost every meal - after we tried looking for somewhere else, we decided it was better to go somewhere we know we will enjoy.
If you're considering this hotel for the (very) reasonable price then you won't be disappointed.

Just a little tip, if you want bottled still water in Budapest - go for the pink lids on the bottles - blue means sparkling and green means slightly sparkling.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    167
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
172
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed 5 nights in this wonderful hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, with a bottle of wine upon arrival, very nice touch. There are also tea and coffee making facilities in reception, air conditioning, heated towel rails, tv, iron, hair dryer and our room had a balcony! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, they really made the stay for us as they helped us with all our plans and made it so easy for us to get about Budapest. I was constantly in asking questions and they were very approachable. They had maps and brochures, discount vouchers for food and drinks and even allowed me print pre-booked tickets at reception. The cost was very reasonable for such good accommodation. It is right bang in the city centre too in a very secure complex. All big tourist sights are walking distance and it is about a minute walk to the Astoria underground with plenty of shops and cafes around. The one and only negative was that the room is right beside a busy road so you hear traffic and there were a lot of sirens but I just brought some ear plugs with me and had a great nights sleep. The rooms tended to be somewhat stuffy but you can control the air con in your room. I would highly recommend this hotel! We had a brilliant stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Glad we found this hotel. Several friends and I stayed here when we completed a river cruise. It's location is right in the middle of good eats, sights, and transportation to other parts of the city. The reception staff (especially Daniel) were very helpful in getting us to where we wanted to be. Would recommend this find to all my friends and would stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here on two different occasions this fall. City Central had sent us detailed directions on how to get to the hotel from the train station and the directions were perfect.

Zsuzsi at reception greeted us warmly, gave us some discount coupons for the Bali restaurant across the street and helped us get oriented. All the staff members we met were extremely kind and helpful.

Our standard double room was roomy, clean and comfortable and came with a bottle of wine. On our second stay, the housekeeper remembered us and had a little gift waiting for us in our room.

The Central is within easy walking distance to the Chain Bridge and other popular sites, and is a few steps to the Astoria metro station. If we are fortunate enough to travel to Budapest again, we will most certainly stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was very pleased with the location, security and cleanliness of the room. Staff is extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast was 3 Euro at a little café on the corner. Excellent price for what was served. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was located in a great location and compared to the other hotels in the area, was a good value. However, it was very average. The room was small and not plush. Tiny bathroom. The TV and air worked well. I probably would not stay here again just due to the size of my room for the money paid. The staff was nice though and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Here are the plus points;
Excellent location for sightseeing
Very friendly, helpful staff on reception 24/7
Secure rooms
Very clean throughout
Comfortable beds (firm mattress)
Good size bathroom
Power shower - not a dribble like some places
Excellent air-con, the room was cool but never noisy.

I would gladly book this hotel again.

Room Tip: The people running the place are all local so do ask them about things to see/do they have lots of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#63 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#59 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#85 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest City Central

Address: Karoly Korut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Budapest
#70 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Central is located directly in the historical center of Budapest, less than a 5 minute walk from famous Vaci street, Andrassy Avenue, the Hungarian National Museum, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Dohany Synagogue (Europe’s largest). Located in a 19th century historical ironbound building, the space is brand new, having opened in May 2008, and today delivers the height of comfort in classical surroundings.Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only a few minutes walk away. The accommodation is situated only a 1 minute walk from the Astoria metro station on the M2 Redline. It is also only a 5 minute walk from both the Deák tér and Kálvin tér stations, both on the M3 Blueline.Our rooms combine famous Hungarian hospitality, modern facilities, a central location and affordable prices making it the perfect choice for both tourists and business travelers coming to Budapest.Every room has satellite television, telephone and high speed Internet access and work area. Every room also comes with air conditioning making it comfortable during any season. The ceilings are high and the colors of the rooms are light giving our guests a feeling of space and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. The windows and rooms are also sound proof making the rooms quiet and relaxing.Because of its fantastic location, friendly English speaking staff and amenities, the City Central is the perfect place to stay to experience Budapest’s rich history and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Budapest City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest City Central Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest City Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.