We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest City Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest City Central to your Saves list
Budapest City Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karoly Korut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 328 Hotels in Budapest
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
597 helpful votes 597 helpful votes
“Very good and central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended. I would definitely stay again. The hotel is well located for the centre and very near the Metro. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and comfortable. I struggle to think of anything negative except there was a bit of noise from the street on the Friday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    147
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
150
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Highly recommended. Friendly, helpful staff; big, comfortable rooms (cleaned daily) with facilities more akin to a hotel; free wi-fi; free hot drinks; and a complimentary bottle of wine to boot. Well located for the metro and surrounding bars and restaurants. And all for a very competitive price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've just had a great 4 nights at the hotel. It is very small, only 7 rooms, within a residential apartment block. We had no problem finding the building & getting in, we just couldn't find reception. It turned out we were stood right outside the door - they came to find us! Our room faced into the central atrium of the building so unsurprisingly there were occasional comings & goings during the night, but it was never a real issue. The room had everything we needed, it was basic but certainly clean and comfortable, with enough storage space. The bathroom looked quite new, with a very hot & powerful shower. There was even a complimentary bottle of wine on the table when we arrived, and the free Wi-Fi was also a bonus.

It is definitely a 'budget' hotel so if extra facilities are important then it's not for you, but we would certainly stay here again - the location and value for money are hard to beat. Also, because of the residential aspect, there is an expectation that guests will also keep the noise to a minimum, so maybe not one to pick for a stag/hen do.

There's no breakfast but they do have an arrangement with a café across the street and there's also another nice little coffee shop a couple of doors away, near the Astoria Metro. The location was perfect, turning left out of the front door takes you towards the market, straight on(ish) is right into the heart of the shopping area, right heads towards the Basilica & Parliament, and the Grand Synagogue is right behind the building. Plus you can get the tram right outside, and the Metro is almost as close. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Only 7 to choose from but some face the internal atrium, so there is the normal comings & goings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was perfect!
Lovely, nice, kind staff. They give us a lot of good advice about what to do and where to go. They really care.
Big and comfortable rooms.
Great location. 1 minute walk to Astoria metro. Just behin the synagogue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

i spent holiday in Budapest and we stayed in the Budapest City Central simply its amazing hotel clean and has a very good price, breakfast was sooo coool in a very nice cafe close to the hotel, everyone was very warm and helpful, i highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great Location ! Great People ! We have spent there our Anniversary. Budapest City Central welcomed us with a bottle of wine waiting in our room :) It is a little bit hard to find at the beginning , but it is so close to all main Budepst traveling points it is worth lookin for it ;) ! ! !

Thank You so much for great Budapest experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is just to add my voice to the reviews by Frank M, JinkyLeeds and Amy H- I loved this place. My room was large, light and airy with a high ceiling, French windows and a balcony. I didn't notice any street noise and I slept as soudly as Rip Van Winkle.
Thanks to Zita and all the staff. Merry Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest City Central

Address: Karoly Korut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#68 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#73 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Central is located directly in the historical center of Budapest, less than a 5 minute walk from famous Vaci street, Andrassy Avenue, the Hungarian National Museum, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Dohany Synagogue (Europe’s largest). Located in a 19th century historical ironbound building, the space is brand new, having opened in May 2008, and today delivers the height of comfort in classical surroundings.Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only a few minutes walk away. The accommodation is situated only a 1 minute walk from the Astoria metro station on the M2 Redline. It is also only a 5 minute walk from both the Deák tér and Kálvin tér stations, both on the M3 Blueline.Our rooms combine famous Hungarian hospitality, modern facilities, a central location and affordable prices making it the perfect choice for both tourists and business travelers coming to Budapest.Every room has satellite television, telephone and high speed Internet access and work area. Every room also comes with air conditioning making it comfortable during any season. The ceilings are high and the colors of the rooms are light giving our guests a feeling of space and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. The windows and rooms are also sound proof making the rooms quiet and relaxing.Because of its fantastic location, friendly English speaking staff and amenities, the City Central is the perfect place to stay to experience Budapest’s rich history and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budapest City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest City Central Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest City Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.