We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel - clean and central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest City Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest City Central to your Saves list
Budapest City Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karoly Korut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Matemwe, Tanzania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel - clean and central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If price is important to you, you should def book this hotel. Clean rooms, extremely friendly staff and central location. The only problem is that you can have a hard time to find the entrance as it is a bit hidden behind iron gates ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    167
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
172
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A very nice hotel with good value. Nice and clean rooms, and very friendly staff. The location and pricing are close to ideal, the only thing that lowers the grade is that the window in our room was facing the corridor and everyone cheking in or out would walk right in front of it, so we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy and didn't get much of daylight in our room...but then again our room was quiet, there was no noice from the street etc. We would definitely visit this hotel again.
And a tip for people with difficulties finding the place: it's right next to Telenor office in Astoria.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klatovy, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were travelling 3 girls and were amazed by this hotel. We had a triple room with three proper beds. The location was perfect right away on the subway station Astoria. The breakfast was in a very nice café across the street. The staff was very nice, you can have a free coffee and tee in the reception. We didnt have a fringe in our room but there was a small kitchen shared with other rooms. It was a bit difficult to find it since the entrance doesnt look like a hotel, it is a normal building with flats and some companies maybe, the hotel is in the first floor in the end of the corridor. I would recommend it to all my friends. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This small hotel is in a great location, very close to a Metro station, and ideal for sightseeing in Budapest. Hotels in Budapest are rather expensive and so it was a relief to find this reasonably priced but still centrally located hotel. Those who have remarked on the entry or the elevator may not have stayed in many small European hotels. We found the entry to be fairly typical of small, good value hotels. You enter from the street through a security gate into a rather bleak courtyard, and take the elevator up to the hotel floor. Yes, the courtyard has the feeling of a warehouse, but so what? Many small European hotels do not have elevators at all, and so it is a help that this hotel does have an elevator. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and quiet. There is a 24-hour reception desk manned by an English speaker. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. There is complimentary coffee provided at reception, and there is free WiFi in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel was just perfect. A nice small hotel in a great place, near everything. The hotel rooms were very clean and nice and we had nothing to complain during our stay. And the girls in the reception were very helpful and nice!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel couldnt have a better location, near metro easy access to Keleti pu and perfect for walking to all the sights. We also had doubts when we arrived at the entrance but these are great rooms and a good value with good restaurants near by. Kind of under the radar but probably not for long.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I think most people here have covered off the details! Don't be put off by the entrance or lift (if you're a fan of gothic horrors or film noir you might appreciate both though) the staff were very friendly and helpful and responded to a couple of email enquiries we had prior to our visit quickly, the room was clean and fresh and a complimentary bottle of local wine is always welcome. Breakfast is taken in the cafe over the road. Location wise it is very hard to fault, central Pest, 5mins walk to Vacli, 10 minutes to the Chain Bridge over to Buda and 5 minutes walk to Raday Utca which has a range of bars and restaurants. If you're looking for a budget stay or a convenient base for a city break it is highly recommended as all the scores here reflect.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#63 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#59 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#85 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest City Central

Address: Karoly Korut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Budapest
#70 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Central is located directly in the historical center of Budapest, less than a 5 minute walk from famous Vaci street, Andrassy Avenue, the Hungarian National Museum, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Dohany Synagogue (Europe’s largest). Located in a 19th century historical ironbound building, the space is brand new, having opened in May 2008, and today delivers the height of comfort in classical surroundings.Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only a few minutes walk away. The accommodation is situated only a 1 minute walk from the Astoria metro station on the M2 Redline. It is also only a 5 minute walk from both the Deák tér and Kálvin tér stations, both on the M3 Blueline.Our rooms combine famous Hungarian hospitality, modern facilities, a central location and affordable prices making it the perfect choice for both tourists and business travelers coming to Budapest.Every room has satellite television, telephone and high speed Internet access and work area. Every room also comes with air conditioning making it comfortable during any season. The ceilings are high and the colors of the rooms are light giving our guests a feeling of space and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. The windows and rooms are also sound proof making the rooms quiet and relaxing.Because of its fantastic location, friendly English speaking staff and amenities, the City Central is the perfect place to stay to experience Budapest’s rich history and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Budapest City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest City Central Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest City Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.