We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprisingly nice place in downtown Pest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest City Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest City Central to your Saves list
Budapest City Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karoly Korut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Syosset, NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A surprisingly nice place in downtown Pest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked this place on-line only from the photos and looking at the map (and you know photos can deceive) but these photos were a good representation. A bit hard to find (the entrance sits back off the street) and a little spooky- you get buzzed into a disused courtyard, with empty storefronts and a layers of dust, the up four well-worn stairs into a very small elevator to the first floor, past a gloomy air shaft and into a very nice small "boutique" hotel with a pleasant receptionist and ushered into a large room (by European standards) that is bright, airy and looks out onto the street (which is pretty). The queen size bed is comfortable and even in the heat of summer (96F/36C) the a/c works great. Free wifi with a great signal. We were also given a complimentary bottle of Hungarian white wine which was very tasty. The receptionist spoke excellent English and answered all our questions and even showed us the best local restauarant with live music. This place is Prague 10 years ago!

Room Tip: Bring 4€ in coins for the room tax and you must pay in Hungarian Florins for your 3€ breakfast or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    167
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
172
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here greatly. We had a hard time finding the check-in desk, it was actually on the third floor, not the first. The front desk was extremely helpful. They even looked up a place we wanted to see and printed out a map with metro directions for us. The hotel was location was perfect. We walked to many attractions and there is a metro station right outside. Our room was nice, extremely clean, and a good size. We had a nice balcony that looked down to the street below. We also received a complimentary bottle of wine. This hotel was great for our stay and really completed our wonderful trip in Budapest. I would greatly reccomend this hotel, great value for your money!

Room Tip: Lobby is on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

In a very central location, 50 yards from the metro station this little gem is a bit difficult to find - the entrance is through an archway next to a flower shop - It is one floor of an tall apartment building
Dont let this put you off - The rooms are well furnished, being former apartments. aircon was super powerful. decent selection of TV and a comfortable bed. The reception staff are very helpful. When we arrived in the room there was a complimentary bottle of wine, so so quality but a nice thought. I travel a lot, for me the first choice is location, this place hits the spot - Its a 15 minute walk from the railway station, or a 5 minute ride on the metro. Stay here you wont be disappointed for the price.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the same floor - further away from reception is less traffic and the chance of nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

It is hard to get to the hotel. 1st floor is actually 2nd floor. The hotel is located in old building, where hotel apartaments are only a small part of it. The staircase is neglected. It's rather a couple of apartaments not a hotel.
There was no DVD player (I didn't mind). There was no coffe/tea maker in the room - you could pour some hot water near the reception only.
Breakfasts were poor in taste & quantity. The choice was very limited.
Generally: well located, not perfectly equiped apartaments, but not a hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestKaroly, Manager at Budapest City Central, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Adam,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review regarding your stay at the Budapest City Central.
Some of the things that you mentioned are typical in Budapest, such as the old historical 19th century building, which we are actually quite proud of. We are a small accommodation as you can read on any website.
In the lobby area of the Budapest City Central there is free coffee and tea as well as welcome cookies and other sweets to make your stay more convenient. It is available for 24 hours.
We are very sorry that our selection of continental breakfast choices at our breakfast place has not met your requirements, although we have never had any complaints about it from our guests.
We appreciate your time, your opinion is important to us! We are constantly trying to improve our services. We are all looking forward to welcome you again!

Wishing you all the best!

The Management of Budapest City Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Several of us stayed here overnight on Thursday 24th May 2012 before spending a few days in Balatonfured.
The hotel is ideally located in the city and there are enough bars/cafes etc nearby that can be walked to. The hotel rooms are spotlessly clean, have all th eneccessary ammenities and the staff are very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is served in the lovely Bali Cafe which is directly across the street so is very convenient.
Access to the hotel which is on the first floor is through a gated entrance that is also used by the locals who live in the adjacent apartments.
A Metro ststion and bus stops are all located very close to the hotel so it is easy to get to it by public transport.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Airport Shuttle Service dropped us outside the rear of the hotel and zoomed away. Confusion set in as we could not find the hotel as it was not marked. A person passing saw our confusion and led us around the other side of the building and assured us this was the place. We buzzed and identified ourselves and were were let in following the directions of the receptionist. After that everything was wonderful. The receptionist Zsuzsi made us very welcome and was so friendly and efficient. The room was adequate for our short stay but very clean and kept that way throughout. Back to Zsuzsi who helped us with information and directions (we were to find out that most Budapestians like her and the rest of the staff were very friendly people, unusual for a capital city. The Metro was close at hand but most things in Pest were within walking distance from the hotel. Although the hotel did not have a restaurant or breakfast room, breakfast was included at the Bali Cafe a two minute walk away. It was a very nice place and the food very good. Our stay was short but we would go back as it is good value for money with efficient, friendly staff and very clean and quiet. It did not give you a feeling of being in a hotel, it was like staying with friends in their apartment block. Thank you Budapest City Central, Bill and Rita

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room if you are a light sleeper. It is in a very high traffic area and might be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I spent 3 days in Budapest City Central and found it very comfortable. Don’t worry about the entrance, the building is old but the hotel is a hidden pearl inside! Location is perfect, it is the real city center, I could reach everything easily. Receptionists are very friendly and helpful, I felt myself like at home.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#63 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#59 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#85 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest City Central

Address: Karoly Korut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Budapest
#70 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Central is located directly in the historical center of Budapest, less than a 5 minute walk from famous Vaci street, Andrassy Avenue, the Hungarian National Museum, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Dohany Synagogue (Europe’s largest). Located in a 19th century historical ironbound building, the space is brand new, having opened in May 2008, and today delivers the height of comfort in classical surroundings.Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only a few minutes walk away. The accommodation is situated only a 1 minute walk from the Astoria metro station on the M2 Redline. It is also only a 5 minute walk from both the Deák tér and Kálvin tér stations, both on the M3 Blueline.Our rooms combine famous Hungarian hospitality, modern facilities, a central location and affordable prices making it the perfect choice for both tourists and business travelers coming to Budapest.Every room has satellite television, telephone and high speed Internet access and work area. Every room also comes with air conditioning making it comfortable during any season. The ceilings are high and the colors of the rooms are light giving our guests a feeling of space and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. The windows and rooms are also sound proof making the rooms quiet and relaxing.Because of its fantastic location, friendly English speaking staff and amenities, the City Central is the perfect place to stay to experience Budapest’s rich history and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Budapest City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest City Central Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest City Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.