We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On of The Best Restaurants Worldwide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 57 Restaurant

Cafe 57 Restaurant
Pusztaszeri Ut 57, Budapest 1025, Hungary
36 1 325 6078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #300 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“On of The Best Restaurants Worldwide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I travel the world continuously, eat out in every major city: New York, Paris, Hong Kong, Toronto; you name it, and tried many a great restaurants in all and I can say with a certainty that Cafe 57 in Budapest is among the very best. The ingenuity of Chef Laszlo Csizmazia brings new ideas every week to the menu. He has an infinite source of ideas of all kinds of foods: be it classic Hungarian, with a flair of French or Italian, or an exciting Asian fusion and all of them are exceptional.

One of his signature entrees is a Rucola salad with bacon crusted Taleggio cheese, pears and walnuts marinated in honey... Unforgettable. After this you get the best ever Fois Gras poelee and the best Argentinian Filet Stake; always a most tender center cut..., perfect lamb chops and sea food. You name it, you get it in the best possible way. And if you can't name it because you have never had anything like that before, try it, because it is an invention of Chef Laszlo - let him amaze you and surprise you. And finish it with a Creme Brulee or a Fondant Chocolat - you won't get it better done in Paris...

All this with a great selection on wines, in a beautiful location in the best residential area in Budapest... it can't get any better. Enjoy! I do that at least once a month...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed....:(!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The food was unexceptional, and I felt that it was overly fussy. A bit of a disappointment as I was expecting far more given its reputation . Not one I would visit in a hurry again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top notch all around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We have visited this place several times. Very consistent in every aspect. I highly recommend the "Mangalica Lángoson". The title of the food may be off a bit. I don't quite remember. It is a piece of pork on a piece of non sweet dough? Very garlicky. Complete OMG moment.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“MILS - menu I'd like to swallow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This restaurant is just amazing. I think I wanted to taste every item from the menu. I had seared foe gras - perfect. Basil crust lamb - perfect. Wine - extremely good. Service - amazing.

Definitely will come again, more than once.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best fusion restaurant in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Unexpected high quality of food, service and atmosphere. Strongly recommended to anybody. Specially selected ingredients, beautiful interior, Hidden treasure in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 57 Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe 57 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 57 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.