We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungarian Homestyle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo

Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo
Radnoti Miklos utca 38., Budapest 1137, Hungary
061-7874877
Improve this listing
Ranked #214 of 1,788 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
South Coast of England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Hungarian Homestyle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were recomended to this restaurant by our host and he was spot on - if you want a taste of Hungarian Homestyle at a very reasonable price this is a good place. We ate there twice - it would have been three times but it was fully booked with a large local party. The food and ambiance are decidedly homestyle with the local dumplings being a speciality. The service is by local girls who manage the relatively quick turnover of covers with ease and confidence. We sat indoors when it was warm enough to eat outdoors just because it looked cosy and "local".
The prices were very reasonable as reflected by the number of locals who eat there regularly - all in all an excellent eaterie for the busy tourist. To find it locate McDonalds at the Pest (east) side of the Margit bridge and walk north along Poszonyi street past two or three other restaurants to find it on the corner of Radnoti Miklos. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    84
    25
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, especially for those with a hearty appetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We ate there last night (30/09/2012) and had a table outside. Our table was booked for 8pm and by 9pm there were no tables available and mostly local people were eating there.
The food was excellent quality, and the portions were huge! Presentation of the food wasn't that great but the quality was amazing. Would definitely visit again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great local good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate there and will visit again soon. Great food and Huge portions. We wanted to try Hungarian food and were not disappointed. Go hungry or you won't be able to finish. We ate outside and that was fine but the bus exhaust was a bit much at times. We had good service

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would not recommend it :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I used to like this restaurant and prices are still low, some meals still great. However, me and my friends have been disappointed by the quality of food several times so sadly I would recommend you to try and find another. What is still nice I would say are the Matzo soup, cottage cheese dumplings and some meats.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The best home style cooking restaurant in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I've been coming here for years, the friendliest service and the most amaizimg kind of how my mother would prepare it food. If you want something Hungarian this is the choice. The matzo ball soup is a must

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.