We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunacorso Restaurant

Dunacorso Restaurant
Vigado Square 3, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36 1 318 6362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #306 of 1,775 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: Dunacorso Restaurant is situated at the heart of Budapest, at the city's most spectacular pedestrian walkway on the bank of the River Danube.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

There is a great atmosphere in this restaurant created by the Gypsy string trio and the lovely food. Definately worth a visit and great value for money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    158
    53
    8
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A must in Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

One of the most beautiful urban views in the world is the sun setting behind the Buda Castle, which is best appreciated from the Danube promenade on the Pest side. This is where Duna Corso is located. I have been here about 10 times over the years and I have never been disappointed. An amazing view, great food, excellent service, live music, reasonable prices, this place has it all! Whether it is for business or romance the Duna Corso is second to none. The best time of year to enjoy it is when the terrace is open. The food is traditional hungarian and it is delicious. The live music can be Hungarian, Gipsy or even jazz performed by talented musicians. On top of it all I have never had an issue with the bill which, sadly, has happened too often in other Budapest restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Elegant restaurant & Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We travelled to Budapest for 4 days. Our friends in Budapest recommended us this place, so we went for dinner on our first evening, and then returned for lunch on the next day. Very elegant stylish restaurant, one room in classic design, and the other modern. View of the Danube and the Castle Hill.

All the dishes we ordered were delicious, good size and the price reasonable. Very good service. For our children they offered half-size portions. In the evening you can enjoy the house band, playing Hungarian and world music. It was fun. The restaurant is behind the Intercontinental hotel, so very easy access by foot if you stay near by.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Se England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Marvellous staff, fab atmosphere, excellent food, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Was slightly concerned about eating while being entertained full-on by the violinist plus backing band but we had the option to take a table in an adjoining room which was perfect; we could enjoy the music without it being too loud, or having to get 'involved'.
The food was marvellous and at a very reasonable price. The wines were super and half the price of other pretentious restaurants in the near vicinity .
Genuinely nice and attentive waiters and the service charge isn't automatically included; the gesture is up to your discretion, which makes you feel valued as a customer.
A lovely building, excellent food, waiters and ambience. Go without hesitation!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent service and great food! My girlfriend had the Goulash-Soup and I ate a perfectly cooked beef with crispy onions and potatoes. Unfortunately it's too far away from Sweden for us to be regulars. Thanks!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunacorso Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Dunacorso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunacorso Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.