We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel River Cafe

Amstel River Cafe
Parizsi u.6., Budapest 1052, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
36-1-2664334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #485 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Hungarian, Dutch, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Bergen
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have visited this place for over ten years and always look forward to visit Amstel when I go to Budapest. They serve very good Hungarian food, and it's a good place for lunch. It's also a great place for a beer or a drink. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    44
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

While the menu is limited, the selections offered healthy choices for all in our group at a very reasonable - relatively inexpensive - price! We especially liked the extent of choices on the daily specials menu and chose the grilled chicken salad with avocado and the three fromage panini. We received quick service both in taking our order and in how quickly our meal arrived! Highly recommend this restraurant / cafe!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Iweral good experience.Good service.Ok food.nice place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Great place to relax after walking round the city. Good for lunch or a snack and a drink.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap, friendly, good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Compared to restaurants on Vaci Utca, this place is much better value. The menu is fairly limited, but tasty and filling. I have been coming here for 11 years and lots of my staff used it too, when visiting Budapest. Friendly pkace with a nice atmosphere. No rush to get you iut after your meal. Great place to meet and socialize. Last trip early May 2012 and still very enjoyable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amstel River Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Amstel River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.