We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best small hotel in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buda Castle Fashion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Buda Castle Fashion Hotel to your Saves list
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uri utca 39, Budapest H 1039, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #20 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply the best small hotel in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

A really pleasant surprise. I stood there for two nights in Feb 2011. Location is perfect - right in the heart of the old town Buda (in the castle, within just a one-minute walk from the cathedral, but a the same time - on a nice and very quiet street.
The hotel is new, everithing is finished with good taste - nice and cosy. Perfectly clean with a warmed floor in the bathroom.
Staff is nice and not annoying at all. A free high-speed wi-fi is available in all rooms.
I cannot think of a comparison, but I really see no reason why a traveler should chose the nearly located Hilton before this one (prices are quite afordable too).
I would recommend this hotel with no reservations whatsoever, irrspective of the purpose of your trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    129
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
55
303
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Modern boutique hotel set in a converted part of the old castle. The conversion has been done very sympathetically and the rooms are superb - spacious but beautifully furnished and very stylish. Food good and staff well informaed and helpful. Location is excellent right in the heart of the castle district with simply access to Pest and the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

The hotel is in the Castle area on a very nice street. We easily checked in and went to our extra large room with 20 foot ceilings, comfortable beds and as usual in Europe, brand new bathroom.

The buffet breakfast had everything you could possibly want, eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, cereal, yogurt, breads, danish, etc. Extensive breakfast and very good.

The hotel is on a very quiet street and you can walk 1 and 1/2 blocks to restaurants or the bus to take you into town or to the subway. VERY convenient transportation.

We had nothing but the best at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Having read the reviews before booking, we knew the beds would be hard – and they were, very hard in fact. That said, the standard room we had was lovely, very spacious, light and modern. The only thing we didn’t rate was that our room was on the ground floor with people were walking past our windows. I felt could have been addressed better in the bathroom which only had a frosted window, a blind would have been a nice addition.

Situated in Buda, the hotel is slap bang in the middle of Buda’s most beautiful area. It was only a short work to main attractions. Matyas Church is round the corner and offers a great view over Pest. The only thing I would say is that unless you are prepared to pay for a taxi, be prepared for a walk back to the hotel from Pest involving lots of stairs.

The staff were vey welcoming and helpful. I would visit again if in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

After a lot of research we booked the Buda Castle Fashion hotel for a birthday weekend in Budapest. In advance of our arrival we arranged for an airport pick up with the Hotels reception.
After a lot of waiting our transport never arrived, we called the hotel and we told there was a mix up and to find ourselves a taxi. No problem as there are lots of available taxi's around the airport and the one we got actually was cheaper than the hotel's transport.
Check in was fast and friendly, we got connecting rooms as requested which were really nicely decorated and very clean. My only gripe here was we asked for one triple and one twin, turns out the triple is a couch bed available in either room. The superior rooms have a nice duplex layout with bathroom and living area downstairs and bedrooms area upstairs.
There is a mini bar but no tea/ coffee making facilities no problem for me but for some this would be annoying.
Breakfast was ok, standard continental buffet our first day they were running low on breakfast tea, on our second day it was gone. When we asked for some we were told it was all gone and that was that, unacceptable I think (there is a store 2 mins away!).
The waitress at breakfast was so nice and very friendly but this was not the standard of staff in the hotel.
On our last morning we asked the very unfriendly receptionist to book us a taxi for the airport one big enough to take 5 of us, she sourly agreed. When we returned to the hotel later on to go to the airport there was 2 huge 7 seater taxi's waiting outside for us.
The taxi guys told us we needed 2 cabs because of our luggage which we obviously didn't so we said we just needed one, the taxi guys were arguing that we should pay both of them so I asked the receptionist for help she just shrugged her shoulders, turned and walked away! she was the one that booked the taxi's!!!! To cut a long story short they eventually agreed that we just needed one taxi and off we went to the airport. Be careful here taxi's seem to really take advantage of tourists here.
Overall the hotel is great if you want to stay in the beautiful castle district, but the customer service lets it down.
The highlight of our trip was the great little bar under the fisher mans bastion, come here after dark and enjoy a glass of wine and a spectacular view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were given a beautiful large suite and had great breakfast for 89 euro a night. Staff helpful with boarding passes and air transfers. Had some issues with sink and shower drain and they responded. Great location. Beds hard but have luxury linens and slept well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I had read previous reviews but surely nowhere could be as good as the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel? Well it was really, really good. The room and en-suite were spacious and clean and everything was in perfect working order. There is a room safe in which to keep all your valuables and it was large enough to take the laptop. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel and if you don't have a laptop the hotel provides an internet station, again free of charge, for you to catch up on your e-mails. Although the mattresses on the beds were rather too firm for our liking and the room would benefit from having a 'comfy chair' there really was nothing to fault. A good quality buffet breakfast is included in the room rate and there is plenty of choice. All the staff were really helpful and welcoming. Although the Buda Castle does not have a restaurant there are many withing easy walking distance. However, the best evening meal we had in terms of quality, presentation, service and view of the castle walls was in the ICON Restaurant at the Hilton Hotel, a five minute stroll away. Looking at my receipt for a couple of drinks I purchased at the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel bar I notice that it says 'Thanks for choosing us! Please do not forget to put your comments on Tripadvisor.com .....' How many hotels are confident enough in their product to encourage their guests to do that?!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buda Castle Fashion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buda Castle Fashion Hotel

Address: Uri utca 39, Budapest H 1039, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buda Castle Fashion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Buda Castle Fashion Hotel is located in the elegant Castle district of Budapest which offers plenty of cultural attractions, great restaurants and bars. The area is easily explored on foot and other attractions of the capital can also be reached in no time by public transport. The hotel has 25 large, elegantly furnished rooms and luxurious suites, featuring the most modern facilities in a historic setting, to please its guests whether on business or pleasure. The hotel bar and the small, intimate garden are excellent to unwind after a busy day seeing the sights of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Buda Castle Fashion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.