We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, comfortable, wonderfully managed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buda Castle Fashion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Buda Castle Fashion Hotel to your Saves list
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uri utca 39, Budapest H 1039, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #21 of 328 Hotels in Budapest
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfortable, wonderfully managed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Grabbed an amazingly good value deal with easyjet (the hotel was also independently offering 3 for 2 nights). Staff at the concierge desk were exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful. Room was huge - bed was on a mezzanine! It was also wonderfully quiet and dark - slept very well! Breakfast was delicious with a great range of food, carefully checked and replenished throughout the morning. We were worried that we might be too far out of town, but not so. The #16 bus is frequent or you can walk down the hill. Noticed most of the other guests were young(ish) couples like us, which might be worth bearing in mind. Airport transfers great as hotel have own shuttle service - same price I think as official airport shuttle but you're not stopping at other people's hotels. Only slight niggles that might influence your decision - mattress was quite firm, lighting wasn't best laid out, hand-held shower... Mostly, a great romantic break for 3 days and nights!

Room Tip: Our bed was on a mezzanine - suggest mentionning on booking if stairs will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    120
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
50
275
32
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Voorburg, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Location: fantastic, on the top of the hill, very nice quit street. Walking distance to everywhere and if you do not want to walk, there is good public transport connection.

Hotel: Very pleasant environment, absolutely spotless, nice rooms, decent decorations, more romantic hotel for couples rather than business hotel, however always depends on personal wishes. Smaller type of a hotel so if you don`t like too much of a commerce, go for it.

Hotel staff: absolutely fantastic, friendly and always helpful. By this: Thank you again!

Services: just like staff, fantastic, they gave me the feeling that everything is possible but yet left the decisions on me and have not been pushy which I personally appreciate.

Ground transportation (arranged via hotel`s front desk): I would say terrible, not because of the hotel stuff but because of the taxi driver. No credit card machine even though we advised them beforehand we wanted to pay by credit card. At the end, the credit card machine was miraculously found and because it has been found the driver has charged us more than agreed. I was not in a mood for such discussion with him, but we have paid about 10-15 Euro more than agreed.
So that would be my kind suggestions towards the hotel: change your taxi contacts to real professionals since I believe people do not wait for `behind your back` politics, especially when they are enjoying such a beautiful city such as Budapest.

Otherwise, my sincere thanks to Buda Castle Fashion Hotel for making my trip a success!

Jana

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement039, Front Office Manager at Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your kind words, and comments. We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again!

We were very sorry to hear you were disappointed with the taxi service provided.

We called the taxi company to find out what happened, and to see if any further actions should be taken against the driver.

The taxi company’s own policy is that no driver can start working without a functioning credit card machine, wich term the driver violated. Or as it is worse, tried to mislead you that it is not operating.

However, the driver did not overcharge you. The contracted price of the transfer is 7.300 Huf, from the Buda Castle Hotel to the airport. The taxi company checked the transactions made by the driver 3rd February, and confirmed that the right ammount was charged. The fee of the shuttle bus is 5.000 HUF, for 2 person, but the taxi costs 7.300 HUF / car. If we communicated the prices in a mistakable way, please, accept our deepest apologies.

Though this does not release the driver from being unprofessional, and not providing to our guests the service they deserve. As a result, the driver was prohibited to take any orders arriving from our hotel.

Thank you very much for informing us about this situation!

If you have any further questions, or if you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us!

With best regards,

Gyüre Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location on the Buda side of Budapest, only a stones throw from the Fisherman's Bastion. The buses run into the city centre every 6 minutes although we walked into the centre as it is only around 10 to 15 minutes from the hotel. The rooms are very large with a good bathroom and extremely clean. Breakfast is great in comparison to some other hotels I have been in with a good variety and is constantly being replenished by the hotel staff. The staff are also a credit to this place and are very polite and will help you with any query. All in all a great place in a great city. Also there is a local bar just down the road which is well worth a visit if you stay in this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here in June 2012 and loved it. Staff were helpful, spoke English, the room was clean and very good and lovely homestyle buffet breakfasts in the moring. Located in the Castle District of Buda but a short walk or bus down to Pest. I stayed in Pest as well which was great but I preferred the Boutique style warmness and quiet here in an historic area. Budapest is a must!

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be quiet as the whole place is in a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel during December 2011, our room was very clean & spacious. Spent a weekend exploring and the hotel was the perfect base, with its prime location nearby all the tourist hotspots – Fisherman’s Bastian & Buda Castle. This place will stay dear to my heart as this is where my partner chose to take me to propose! We both had an amazing time here and would highly recommend to other couples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Log weekend winter brek staying 3 nights. Brilliant location on the Buda side of the city. Fantastic views (weather permitting) and really atmospheric when lit-up at night. We visited during December so all the decorations made it more special and buildings looked stunning.
The hotel is small with very large rooms. Unfortunately a down-side was on our first night, the room was very cold and mentioned to receptionist after settling in, and an apology was received explaining that they must have forgot to warm the room for our arrival. Not the case, all night is was freezing, could not get any heat our of the system; bedroom and bathroom were enormous so no hope of getting warm. New receptionist moved us immediately after discussing before breakfast and we were upgrade to a suite, which was warm, spacious and clean. Fab!
Breakfast could be better with choice and quality, but main problem was very few tables to accommodate everyone with no where to sit and wait for space.
Transport to get over the Pest side is excellent, reliable and Budacard is a good option for getting around on all public transport. Xmas markets were also very good with a great atmosphere. Would recommend this hotel and all the Budapest has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A two night break here was perfect. We had a Junior Suite on the ground floor - it was lovely and big, spotlessly clean, light, airy and comfortable. Breakfasts were also great - good choice of cold cust, cheeses, hungarian meats, cereals, 'eggy toast' etc etc. (My very very picky-ness was only not impressed withg the 'instant ground coffee' machine - it noisily produced small quantities of weak coffee!).
The location was wonderful - right in the middle of the old Buda Castle area near the Palace and St Mathias' Church (an awsome place both inside and out). We went for the Christmas Market in the Pest town centre and the walk there was only 30 or so (very cold!) minutes but the mulled wine on arrival at the market sorted that out.
A truly excellent little hotel that tries very hard to be a great place to stay and succeeds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buda Castle Fashion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buda Castle Fashion Hotel

Address: Uri utca 39, Budapest H 1039, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 328 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buda Castle Fashion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star superior Buda Castle Fashion Hotel is located in the elegant Castle district of Budapest which offers plenty of cultural attractions, great restaurants and bars. The area is easily explored on foot and other attractions of the capital can also be reached in no time by public transport. The hotel has 25 large, elegantly furnished rooms and luxurious suites, featuring the most modern facilities in a historic setting, to please its guests whether on business or pleasure. The hotel bar and the small, intimate garden are excellent to unwind after a busy day seeing the sights of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Buda Castle Fashion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.