We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, best of areas, terrific city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buda Castle Fashion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buda Castle Fashion Hotel to your Saves list
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uri utca 39, Budapest H 1039, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #18 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great hotel, best of areas, terrific city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Myself and my wife have recently had the pleasure of spending our honeymoon in the wonderful city of Budapest and this hotel really made our stay an unforgettable experience. The location is in a quiet street only five minutes walk from Fishermans Bastion and Mathias church, on the Castle Hill with its spectacular views overlooking the river Danube so it really couldn't be in a better location. Transport to the area is made available by three bus routes, 16, 16a and 105 and if you arrive in the city from Keleti train station a taxi will take you here for around 4500.00 HUF ( be careful as there are lots of illegal taxi drivers here who will try to scam you for anything up to 8000 HUF, just refuse and eventually you should get the correct fare agreed ). The hotel itself is very modern with a stone and brick clad entrance and foyer, a lovely central garden ( where you can have your breakfast from 06;30 & in the evening have a relaxing drink wth table service up to midnight ).
The rooms are large, very comfortable with a nice toilet and shower, a mini bar and satellite t.v. ( with Sky news and BBC 24 available ), a room safe, large double wardrobes and entry by smartcard on the entrance door. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The only very slight gripe was the door on the shower which was fitted too closely to the basin which made entering and leaving the shower/bath a little precarious, but on the whole this is the only less than excellent point on an overall quality hotel that will compliment any stay in this beautiful gem of a city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have the advantage of having a free to use computer with internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    118
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
48
268
32
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The location was a short walk from the funicular that took you down to Budapest main town. Very close to many restaurants for dinners out. Staff were very helpful - assisting us with all our trip bookings. The hotel was a hidden gem!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel in a super location, the rooms were also great - rooms are on two levels being both spacious and modern. The staff were helpful and informative. We would love to revisit Budapest and woud book this boutique hotel in a flash. A very pleasurable stay - highly recommendable!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We had the pleisure to stay at Buda Castle for 20 nights this summer. We enjoyed the nice location, the historical building, the spacious, well equiped and clean rooms and the friendly staff. Especially the team at the reception was very competent. Bravo and thanks to all 5 receptionists we saw in action!
There are still a couple of critical observations, which i decided to share, because i find that only a few and inexpensive improvements could make this place a special one:
I appreciate that there is no parking place blocked for hotel guests in this historical area. Still, upon arrival by car, no way to stop in front of the hotel to unload the luggages. It would be nice to have at least a marked unloading area in front of the entrance!
The breakfast should be improved: The espresso machine is not available for the guests, but only for the staff. So i did not have a single good coffee during 3 weeks there (sorry, I love good coffee for the breakfast.....) I was told that the ladies serving the breakfast have no capacity to prepare the coffee for the guests (?) The scrambled egg is dry, the fried eggs are swimming in oil. It is better to go early, as you may have no good bakery stuff after 9:30. I felt a lack of professionalism from the breakfast personnel, missing dedication to serve the guest and complete desinteress to do it better next time.
We were there during the European Football cup and the kids would have enjoyed to watch a match. Unfortunately, no TV channel was available, because of some technical problem on a Thursday. When commenting this on Friday, we were told that it is too late to repair, as no technical staff will be available for that during the entire weekend. I am not a TV freak, but European Championship happens once in a while and other places give special attention to that in advance...
I found the beds "low cost" and far too hard.
All in all it is a good Hotel at a central, still calm and romantic location. The building was renovated a few years ago, the rooms are ok, they have AC, free WiFi, etc. The personnel - other than breakfast room - is competent and friendly. I would stay there again and i would also recommend this hotel to my friends. Thanks.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in Budapest recently and loved this hotel. The room itself was lovely and spacious, really modern and very clean. Very peaceful area looking out onto the courtyard garden. Buda is a nice area of the city to stay, so near some of the lovely landmarks of the city. Easily reached by public transport on the no16 bus. Breakfast was great too. Nothing bad to say! You should stay here :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor so a big thanks to everyone for their positive remarks. It was all and probably better than people said. The staff were superb nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and good air con which we needed during our stay it was nearly 100degrees every day. If you are going to Budapest try this hotel you wiil not be disapointed.

Room Tip: Garden view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our rooms were large and spacious. The bathroom was beautiful and well equipped. Our rooms opened onto a central courtyard with big windows. I enjoyed the in room WIFI. The decor was modern and crisp. The central location in Buda was an easy walk to cafes, sites and attractions.
I recommend this hotel as a comfortable place to stay when visiting beautiful Budapest, which I hope to do again next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buda Castle Fashion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buda Castle Fashion Hotel

Address: Uri utca 39, Budapest H 1039, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buda Castle Fashion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star superior Buda Castle Fashion Hotel is located in the elegant Castle district of Budapest which offers plenty of cultural attractions, great restaurants and bars. The area is easily explored on foot and other attractions of the capital can also be reached in no time by public transport. The hotel has 25 large, elegantly furnished rooms and luxurious suites, featuring the most modern facilities in a historic setting, to please its guests whether on business or pleasure. The hotel bar and the small, intimate garden are excellent to unwind after a busy day seeing the sights of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buda Castle Fashion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.