We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Korda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Korda to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Korda
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Szikla u 9, Budapest H-1025, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 160 Budapest B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good hotel, quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked a family room and when we got there found out that we had 2 adjoining rooms and the same price, can't complain about that. We had a double bed and 2 singles, perfect for our family of 4, plus we had that extra bathroom which is always nice. There is no lift in this building, so dragging our luggage up 2 flights of stairs was annoying, but not huge deal. The hotel was clean, and fairly well maintained. The building is old, a lot like most of the buildings in Europe, so you have to understand that. I think a lot of travelers from outside Europe tend to forget the age of the hotels and give it a bad rating due to that.
The breakfast was typical Hungarian breakfast, buns, yogurt, meat and cheese. Nothing special, but it'll get you through the day.

The hotel was a bit hard to find, even with my husband's knowledge of the city, so make sure you know where you are going before you get there. The rooms were made up every day, not new towels, but whatever. Great location, quiet and a bit out of the way, just how we like it. There was a good restaurant a 5 min walk away. Our room didn't have AC, but we don't really mind. A lot of the other rooms do, so if you care, make sure to ask for one. We didn't have a fridge either, which would have been nice. Lots of storage and room to move.

I'd stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
7
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I had 3 days in late June 2012 for business and leisure. The location is fine, in the suburb of Budapest up in the hills on the Buda side of Donau. To get there by public transport, numerous bus lines (11, 111, 29 and one more) can take you from the edge of Donau. My preferred was 11 or 111 from Batthyány Tér metro station on the M2 line. It takes 13 minutes (13 bus stops) and leaves every 10 minutes or so, and if you get off at Rószadom Centre, you have a small shopping centre with 15-20 shops and a great supermarket. It is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel (the hotel is downhill).

It was hot (+34C) and my first room was on the top floor with no air condition (only half the rooms have A/C and I had taken the lowest priced at 22 Euro/night). This was one hot light, and when I mentioned this in the morning, they immediately found me a room on the ground floor. See, that's service!

Both rooms were spacious, simple furniture and fine beds. I slept fine. Bathroom was fine, and plenty of hot and cold water. All was clean and nice. One minus is that the only soap supplied is a flap paper/plastic container with a bit of liquid soap. Not very useful by the sink and not practical i the shower either. Next time I will bring a piece of soap.

Breakfast buffet (at 4 Euro) is fine: cereals (Corn Flakes and Muesli), yoghurt, choice of breads, cheese, ham, salamis, jam, honey, juice (orange and pineapple), cocoa, tea, coffee. The tea/coffee is made freshly at the bar, so from a huge espresso machine.

The ambiance is relaxed, yet professional, and there was a good atmosphere between guests and with the staff - something an international hotel can never achieve. With 3 nights and breakfast for a mere 87 Euro, I find this a true jewel in Budapest.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor on hot summer days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Otherwise you'll find the public transport with its transfers a hassle, because Villa Korda is about three miles away from the centre of Budapest. Regardless of your choice, you'll find the hotel warm and peaceful. This is one of the cheapest accommodations in Budapest (at least according to TripAdvisor), with a double room for only €31 per night. It is situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood where scarcely a car passes through the street. The employees are nice and helpful. The breakfast is included in the price and is abundant, if a bit boring. The hotel has a garage, but I recommend avoiding their €6 fee and simply parking in the street, on the curb, where it's free and safe.

Out of 16-odd rooms they have there, we must have gotten the worst one. It's on the ground floor, facing the street, but an annex has been added to the front of the hotel building, blocking the windows with an improvised "salon", and now there is no natural lighting in the room as a result. The hotel boasts "antique" furniture, but it's just old, worn and desperate for some woodwork. The walls are stained, and the bathroom could use an overhaul. See pictures for a better idea. We stayed for only one night, so we didn't take issue with the looks of the room, except we were a little paranoid that someone might enter the adjacent "salon" while we're sleeping and peek through the window. The rooms on the upper floors must surely be more comfortable. Ask for them if you want security and a good view.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful and it was great value for mpney 39 euro's for a double room which included an adequate continental style breakfast. It was, we expected, quite away from Budapest City Centre. The Budapest transport system is second to none, no wating for transport for half an hour then 3 come at once. A good tip is, if you are over 65 carry your passport with you and all transport system is free! a real saving, otherwise buy a weekly transport pass which costs about £15 still great value but only covers transport within the environs of Budapest.

One down side to this Hotel is other guests who have no idea how to close a door without banging it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotell has a calm location with hedgehogs in the garden being the living proof of that. We had a rentel when we stayed here, but there is a busstop nearby. Walking to the hotel gives you great stamina since it is very uphill on the Buda side. The hotel has a garage, but parking in the street is no problem. Low price, clean hotel, calm away from the citystress but with a location not so far off has made us stay here several times.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alba Iulia, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

The place is magnificent for the low price (€39 for double room) by booking online. The only downside about this is that it's kind of far from the center of Budapest but personally, i see that as an advantage. It is so quiet you'll sleep like a baby. Add the old but classy furniture and you're set!

No food inside except the breakfast, you can find brochures at the reception and get tips from the receptionist.

Wireless is free and works great across the villa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate South Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

This hotel is difficult to find, but well worth the trek if you're on the cheap and want to spend money on great dining in the city. From Batthyany ter (on the red metro line), take the HEV up to two stops to Kolosy Square. (Alternatively, you can take the 206 bus to Kolosy Square). Cross the street, walk up to the third traffic light, and the bus stop will be on the right. Take the 65 bus (the last platform at the bus stop) towards Palvogyi Barlang (the cave). Walk up the street that is behind the cave entrance and turn at left at the first street (it’s a residential neighborhood). Walk up this street for 2 minutes and the hotel will be on your right.

Breakfast was substantial, including a lot of good papaya juice, banana and vanilla yogurt, meat, cheese, bread, and cereal. The room was never cleaned once during our stay, but it was still a nice place when considering the view. The staff is usually helpful, especially the young man with short brown hair (I wish I could remember his name) who went out of his way to help us with directions as well as finding a laundromat. There is no elevator. A charming place for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Korda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Korda

Address: Szikla u 9, Budapest H-1025, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Korda 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Korda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korda Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Korda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.