We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paprika

Paprika
Dozsa Gyorgy ut 72, Budapest 1071, Hungary
+36 20-294-79-44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic food and great value. If you are looking for somewhere to submerse yourself in the culture then make sure you eat here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    360
    92
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lot of tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We went there this noon. Very good goulash soup is enough to feed 2 people if you wish to have anything else. Paprika plate is a huge tray with different kinds of meats and side dishes. We could not finish it by our self.
Very tasty, the ham a little less, good service, just a bit noisy when it fills up

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Paprika - not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant through Trip Advisor as we wanted a more local food experience. We caught the train to Heroes Sq & walked to the restaurant which was about a 15min ways walk. The restaurant had a great feel - lots happening & everyone clearly enjoying their night. We had a terrific waitress who coped well with our average attempts at the language - all great fun. The menu was extensive - the Hungarian salami, sausage & cold cheese plate that our waitress recommended for the two of us to share was enormous! We just got through that let alone our main meals. The servings were huge - but delicious - certainly could not complain about value for money! I had the Veal Paprikash & it was what I would consider a true local dish - loved it. My husband went for the chicken livers & would highly recommend them for liver lovers. The night was topped off with sampling the local Palinka - the Hungarian version of paint stripper - a 'digestif' made from fruit - the apricot was the winner!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalunya
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Large meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Typical hungarian cuisine in a folkloric decorated dinning room (not minimalist) but very warm at winter. Not luxury but comfortable. Large meals. We only ordered two main plates, beers and Palinka for just 25 euros. Fully recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I went to eat at Paprika with my wife, on January first and it was the best Hungarian food experience of all our stay in Budapest. Within walking distance from Heroes square, Paprika has a very warm atmosphere.
Menu is huge and the value for money is excellent. The service is excellent too. Quick, friendly and they speak good english.
Always busy, so consider to book in advance. Not to miss if you would like to experience the real taste of Hungarian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paprika also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Paprika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paprika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.