We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really overestimated or degrading” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paprika

Paprika
Dozsa Gyorgy ut 72, Budapest 1071, Hungary
+36 20-294-79-44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 1,780 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really overestimated or degrading”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Goose leg was slightly burnt, not juicy, red cabbage was tasteless and colorless, potato side dish was eatable, but withoult some delight.
Only fish soup was interesting.
Looks like this reatourant exploites old rating achievement.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    305
    84
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good but definitely overestimated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went there after we had read all the comments from Tripadvisor and we were rather disappointed from the cuisine and the prices. It is mostly a tourist place, with huge portions (which are impossible to be eaten by one person) at rather high prices. The inside is cosy with warm atmosphere but you'd better make a reservation since it is quite small inside. Also, it is far away from the city centre where there are much better choices to have dinner or lunch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastick interior and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went here with friends from Budapest, and what a treat it was, its a very interesting place inside and feels very relaxed and traditional.
the food was good but too much for me to finish everything, good Palinka too!!!
well worth a visit, and a short walk from Hero's Square which is worth seeing at night,
but apparentely you need to book in advance, so book a table and enjoy !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A quite different restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked a table for the Monday night, as Sunday was fully booked, and once we arrived we knew why it was so popular. It is quite different to any restaurant I have been in, and looks like it should be in a Flintstones film with wooden carved tables and chairs. The waitress was very friendly and advised us that the portions were large and we may want to share. She was right, they are enormous! I had the chicken and avocado salad to start and it was lovely with a very tasty, but subtle dressing and Hungarian goulash which was lovely

Very good value

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Paprika serves more than chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our hosts at the apartment from where we rented. These two guys have been living in Budapest for over 11 years and know where to eat. It's not a tourist place but more for the residents. Be sure to reserve a table early because we saw many people turned away because the restaurant was booked for the evening.

The food is excellent and the prices, like most places in Budapest, are very reasonable. Our hosts told me to order the goose leg with red cabbage because ,"It's the best of all Budapest." And it was. The goose leg was crispy and moist and the red cabbage not too sweet or sour. My friend had the rost bore and he found it outrageous in taste as well.

The restaurant is not in the tourist area but easily accessible by ether the #71 bus or a metro.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paprika also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Paprika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paprika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.