We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Szeraj

Szeraj
Szent Istvan Krt. 13, Budapest, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
(+36-1) 311 6690
Improve this listing
Ranked #510 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just came back from Budapest. As Turkish food lovers we stopped at Szeraj on our first evening in Budapest. The food was so good there so every other evenings we returned. Really enjoyed the food. The staff is OK, the food is more then enough. Nothing to complain of. The prices are very good, too. Two persons can have a dinner for 10-12 euro. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    49
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Looks better than it's taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is a Turkish restaurant but it is self service type. The food is old and not fresh. My husband got sick one time from their food so I don't recommend. It is good to have tea and Turkish kebeb right from fire there.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“i like this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Soo i would like to say the best words. I like this place long time ago. If you ar in Hungary, you must try this place. It is not hungarian food...yess... But wery good food!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

nice food, tasty and halaal. prices were also normal but bit of crowd. but still worth it visiting the place..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“No wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Szeraj is a fast-food Turkish restaurant. No wonder it is the highest turnover restaurant. The food is great, excellent, amazing. Quality and quantity has never changed since 2002 when i regularily started coming here.
Sometimes i drive a lot for a quick bite but definetily stop if i am around.
The other night on a Tuesday around dinnertime I was sitting outside and counting. Out of 68 streetwalker 52 went in to eat. Absolutely no wonder

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szeraj also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szeraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szeraj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.