We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Annabella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Annabella to your Saves list
Hotel Annabella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deak Ferenc u. 25, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Balatonfured
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Annabella with my family for 3 nights. Very good location, lots of bars and restaurants around. Rooms are clean but there is no air-conditioning. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There was a buffet dinner and breakfast included in our rooms price. The food was very good but not to much vegetarian options. There is no WiFi in the room just in the lobby. I didn't like the furniture its very old. On my opinion the hotel needs some good renovation or modernization. All in all it was a good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the car park can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for sharing your experiences with other travellers and with us.
We are continually improving the services provided in the hotel and will take on board your comments for our future plans and developement projects.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel on a future occassion.

Best regards,

Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Annabella for a couple of nights. It’s a large complex in an excellent location – an easy walk to the bars and restaurants. The staff were welcoming and efficient. The rooms were clean and included a small balcony but there is no air-conditioning. Fortunately the weather was quite cool during our stay but I’d hate to be there when it warms up. The inclusive buffet breakfast was good value. Would I stay here again? Even though it was good value, if I happened to be in the area – no. I’d prefer to stay in something smaller and with air-con.

Room Tip: Given the lack of air-con, request a room with the least sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, every feedback is really important for us.
I would like to inform you that we are continuosly improve the services and the hotel, and we hope we can welcome you again as a guest of our hotel in an air conditioned rooms.

Best regards,
Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The only good thing about the hotel is the great location. It is just in the middle of the promenade and has an own beach app 50 ms from the hotel. The beach is nice, well-kept and exclusive to the hotel guests.
The rooms are small, no air conditioning so in the summer the rooms can get very hot. There is a nice balcony. You cannot open the windows, only the balcony door so you cannot even air the room.
I stayed here 2 times, once on the eastern, parking side and once on the western, hotel yard side. The eastern side was much cooler.
If you come for a short stay it is ok but would not like to spend a week here...
Breakfast buffet is ok, big variety of food.

Room Tip: rooms on parking side are not so hot in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay at our hotel.
We would like to kindly inform you that we are working on hard to solve the lake of air condition for the next season and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again, on third time in Hotel Annabella!

Best regards,
Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place was the best hotel around 20 years ago, but unfortunately they did not change anything since then. The building is very old and the rooms are very outdated as well. The biggest issue was the lack of AC in the rooms. It was over 80F and they rented out fans for 500HUF per day, which not only seemed ridiculous but also completely useless too.
Another problem was that we could not book a room but only with breakfast and dinner served. Now that did not turn out too bad, but the dinner was not the best and the restaurant of the hotel was filled with flies.
The positive thing about this place is the amazing location they have. It is right at the beach and they provide pass for their private beach. At night the nightlife of Balatonfured is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
After all I had a great time in this city but I could have spent a third of the price somewhere nicer than Hotel Annabella.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay and sharing us what we need to improve in. We agree with you the hotel was built in 1968, was one of the best place in the town and now Balatonfüred can not be imaginable without Hotel Annabella, the biggest hotel here.
We try to ensure the highest standard of comfort and we apologise if this did not meet with your expectations.
We are able to continuosly improve and extend our services and comfort, and better meet your requirements in the future.

Best regards,

Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benesov, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

comfortable hotel and well equipped hotel. we spent there 3 days in a meeting. the conference room was air conditioned which was nice. the coffee breaks should be better(more water less coffee and tea) breakfasts fantastic.. really lots of different types of food.
hotels seems to be built in previous era, but rooms are clean and nice , interent is in the hall and in meeting rooms. so good enough for relax :)

if you do not "walk" in Balaton lake you can swim in hotel swimming pool.

so good value for money .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and with the other travellers!
We are pleased, that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Annabella and you were satisfied with our services!
We hope, you had a safe journey back home and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel on a future occassion!

Best regards,

Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

If you are interested in relatively recent European history this hotel is a must. You get a taste of vacation life behind the Iron Curtain 30 - 40 years ago (and mind you for the lucky ones with connections and party cards etc. )When we arrived it turned out that the rooms had no air conditioning. We then had to rent a fan(!) from the hotel, but it did not help much. We spent a truly awful first night. Fortunately the weather then turned colder.
The hotel was very popular among German tourists. Busloads of Germans came every day and occupied the pool, the pool chairs and restaurant. The brekfast was tailored to the needs of this clientele with loads of heavy neutral tasting food.
On the more bright side: A good private beach. A bicycle rental shop near by. Bicycling
round the Balaton Sea is a great experience! The reception people was very seviceminded and smiling with good command of English. And best of all: This hotel i a real conversation piece. You will be the life of the party!

Room Tip: Wait till air conditioning is installed or winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay at the hotel.
We are very sorry to learn from your comment that not every services were up to your expectations. We are a three star hotel and befor the journey all important information - like in simple rooms there is no air condition, only in the suites - can be find on our official website. We are pleased that the Lake Balaton means a memorable experience for you and you were satisfied with the reception staff.
We hope that we can welcome you back as our guest to the Hotel Annabella.

Best regards,
Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I went with my family having a reservation for 4 people for a room with air conditioning and looking to the Balaton lake. When we arrived not only did we not get the room we requested and had a confirmation for, but the staff took on an attitude of total disregard. We got a room for 4 people, which really was a room with a double bed and a sofa bed (where the mattress was almost at floor level). Once you opened the sofa bed, there was absolutly no room to move. The closet space was ment for 2 people, and the bathroom while small was clean. The breakfast buffet was big and definetly good for meat lovers, but it offered little for those who do not enjoy having meats for breakfast. When I asked if I could get a "lecso" (hungarian dish) without meat, they graciously said yes. 20 minutes later I got my lecso with meat.
From what I could see the hotel caters to tours and cares very little about people not arriving with tours. The building is old with some renovations. The staff needs to be better trained. The only positive side of the hotel is that it has access to a private beach in the Balaton.
I was very disillusioned that this hotel of the Danubius Chain is not up to the standards of other hotels of this chain.
If I ever go back to Balatonfured I will make sure to make a reservations in another hotel, and I strongly suggest you do the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Guest!
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Hotel Annabella. We are very sorry to learn that not every services were up to your expectations.
We would like to kindly inform you about some hotel information what certainly slip your notice befor your reservation.
We are a 3 star cosy hotel and hence not comparable with other Danibus hotels, because nearly all others are health spa resort and / or 4 star hotels. But we agree all the Danubius standards orderd for 3 star hotels.
On our official website can be seen that air condition is only in the suites available. We offer for breakfast not only meals for meat lovers. Every breakfast consists of - according to the Danubius standard- the following dishes: 5-6 sort of croissants, stewed vegetables, french toast, 4 sort of muesli, yoghurt, boild eggs, scrambled eggs, eggsalad, jam, honey, butter, cheese, some kind of fruits.
Thank you for your understanding and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel on a future occassion.

Best regards,
Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Annabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annabella

Address: Deak Ferenc u. 25, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Balatonfured
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balatonfured
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Annabella 3*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Summer and sunshine"•On the famous lakeside promenade beside the "Hungarian sea".•Enjoy panoramic views of the lake and the picturesque village of Tihany.•Stretch out on the private sandy beach and swim in the clean, shallow waters of Lake Balaton.•Soak up the sun as your children take part in fun activities – sports, arts and crafts, pool games and lots more – supervised by the hotel’s entertainments team. FACILITIES: 383 rooms, 5 suites. Balcony, bath, telephone, TV, minibar. Air-conditioning in the suites. Standard and renovated superior rooms are available. Connecting and smoking rooms. Free parking places for cars and coaches, free Wifi in the hall, souvenir shop. SPORT AND LEISURE•Outdoor swimming pool, indoor swimming pool, sauna, solarium, massages. •Hairdresser, manicure, pedicure, cosmetics. •Windsurfing, private beach with sports facilities, kids’ activities (between mid June and end of August), rent-a-bike. Facilities for water skiing, riding and tennis near by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Annabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annabella Hotel Balatonfured
Hotel Annabella Balatonfured, Somogy County, Hungary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Annabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.