We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungarian Riviera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital to your Saves list
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gyogy ter 1, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Balatonfured
S.Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hungarian Riviera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had an excellent stay at this very well sited Hotel, close enough for access to the lake but away from any noise. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food varied and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your brief and kind compliments. Special thanks for the ingenious headline, what I like very much! Your absolutely positive feedback might inspire more and more Tripadvisor's readers to choose our Anna Grand Hotel on the "Hungarian Riviera" in Balatonfüred. Thank you again and please do not forget:everybody is kindly invited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    19
    17
    6
See reviews for
19
55
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in Anna Grand for a weekend in August. We also stayed here in 2009… We thought we would give another chance them, hoping that 3 years before it was just a weak day of them.
I do not bother all readers with my personal problems with the hotel because of misleading me with a room type.
But some remarks which can be useful for anybody: after building the new wing (!) of the hotel in 2009, they still do not have on the new wing rooms’ balcony any furniture… No lighting on the terrace. Broken glasses on the terrace. Dirty rug in the room. No cosmetic products in a 4* hotel, even the basic ones… (no shampoo, no body lotion). Tight shower cabin. Air conditioning not worked properly (on highest level, we could have 27 celsius in the room).
We did not have HB, only breakfast, but the food was all OK and nice.
The whole hotel is like a labirinth. Lots of walk, with stairs even on the same etage (not favourable with suitcase)…
Also it was like 3 mins to find the sauna and the pool area (not open air).
Some rooms may be close to the big iron-made fire door (which closes itself with huge noise like a gun shot) – so ask before you make reservations not to be close…
Hint: ask for a room in the old wing, we could see its furniture and whole interieur is better. However not good for smokers as these rooms has no terrace.
One advantage: settling.
All in all, this hotel is not like 4* standard (even if you think it is before you walk in). We will not return again. Not again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest, I was a bit astonished to read your comment. As a hotelier it is sad to understand that one of our guests is so disappointed with almost everything. Referring to your intro I must admit “misleading” our guests is not our policy. We are intending to finalize furnishing all of our rooms with balcony; at the same time I agree with your objections regarding missing bathroom amenities and bad service of cleaning staff. Please accept our apologies for all of that. However I am glad that you found at least the breakfast and the location good. Since the weather is still nice, the surrounding is wonderful, and our hotel was voted “best wellness” in 2011 I would still recommend all Tripadvisor readers to try out our services and kind hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunaharaszti, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I visited this hotel with my family (2 children) for two nights in August during the „Wine weeks of Balatonfüred”. I have to say it is worth to stay at least one week. The hotel located just next to the promenade with a charming view to Lake Balaton. They offer lot of programmes not only for families like open-air theatre, wine tasting etc. I have read some negative opinions about the bed mattresses and cleanliness. I disagree. We had good rest and the room was spotlessly clean. I have to mention the very good breakfast and the perfect spa zone which were convenient also for my children. All in all we hade a great time in Balatonfüred. Thank you for the very friendly and professional staff. We can’t wait to visit Anna Grand Hotel again! Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest, I thank you very much for sharing your full satisfaction regarding your recent visit at our Anna Grand Hotel in Balatonfüred. I was pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the hotel’s facilities, the services and our special programs as well. Your highlights on our breakfast selection, the spa zone and the friendly staff are highly appreciated.
Once again, thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a longer and beautiful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

POSITIVES:
The breakfast was very good - a lovely spread of hot and cold food.
Delicious!
Also really close to the lake, an easy walk :-)

NEGATIVES:
There was NO DOUBLE BED even though the website says there is a 1 double bed option. We were disappointed to find the double bed was simply two beds pushed together - NOT 1 mattress, as is normal (especially in a 4 star hotel). When I asked reception for another room with a proper 1 mattress double bed, the staff said there were only 2 beds pushed together throughout the entire hotel. As a couple we prefer a standard 1 mattress double bed and would not have stayed at the Anna Grand had we known we would be on two mattresses pushed together - very uncomfortable and unsuitable for us.

ALSO on our second night the hotel had organised a play which was open to the general public for profit. The pay was held in the hotel courtyard which our room overlooked. The play finished at 11 and then the play staff continued to dismantle the stage etc till late at night with a noisy radio on. This was noise (theatre and workmen) organised with full approval by the hotel staff. Why the dismantling of the stage could not happen the next day during normal working hours is strange. The loud noise from workmen and their radio continued till 1 o'clock in the morning. This was noise the hotel condoned by allowing workmen to disrupt guests till late at night. Unacceptable.

Finally, cleaning staff chatted loudly in the corridors at 7 in the morning, gossiping for long periods of time. I had to go out to ask them to be quiet!

NOT a place to stay for a good bed and a quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind compliments on our breakfast, and location. On the other hand, I have learned with sadness that you left the hotel with bad feelings due to the "mattress type" issue and an unprofessional set down service provided by an outsource company.
So far we did not receive complaints regarding the type of our mattresses, but I understand your point and will invest into some new "double" type very soon.
Regarding the noisy set down work - after a great theatre performance - one night, please accept my apologies. Certainly the timing was not agreed with the hotel. I am convinced that the readers of Tripadvisor will understand that your complaint is mainly about an unprofessional service provided by an outsource company which is - we agree - unacceptable. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the discussed problem and prevent it's future occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy/uk/hungary
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

good hotel. we stayed one full week.
All rooms are renovated - slish but lack in details.The hotel has a very nice indoor pool (good for adults and very small chidlren too) and very rich wellness area; infra sauna, finnish saun, turkish bath, large pool for swimming and ll kind of spa treatments..
Breakfast is rich and varied in a very nice ballroom area.
parking is always available but not free.
Staff nice and cordial all the time.
Sperb location - right downtown near the gardens and very close to the beach area.
We will surely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for this brief comment which summarizes some of the essential features why our Anna Grand Hotel is worth to choose for a memorable stay near the lake Balaton. Compliments from an experienced contributor like you, is especially respectable.
Referring to your remark for some missing room detail, let me assure you that we continuously improve our rooms in order to meet our guests needs.
Your recommendation is much appreciated which will hopefully encourage many visitors to decide for our hotel for their upcoming relaxing holiday. You and all Tripadvisor's readers are always very warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiskunhalas, Hungary
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Anna Grand Hotel: a name with nothing behind it! Dirty, degraded rooms, tiny shower cabins, horrible matresses on beds, no ameneties in room, labyrinth-like buildings, lots of stairs on hallways, impossible to reach the room with a stroller if there is nobody to help to lift up the stroller. Redicilously low value for a redicilously high price!

Room Tip: Far from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. As earlier mentioned beyond compliments we are open to criticism as well. I was really sad to learn from your review that none of our features or services met your expectations this time. I was shocked to see that your room was not clean overall. Cleanliness is one of the top priority for us so our cleaning service will be seriously supervised. I can guarantee that this type of problem will not occur again. At the same time I am sorry that you did not report your objections on spot so we could have a chance to make immediate steps to solve them or to compensate. Despite all inconveniences I would be happy to welcome you again here and have the chance to make you forget bad memories.
I encourage all Tripadvisor readers to take the whole of our hotel's reviews into account when judging us and we will do utmost efforts to prove our kind hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Anna Grand Hotel with my family. We had only positive experiences. Helpful staff, nice rooms, excellent food, central location close to the beach. What else is needed? I recommend this hotel to everyone, not only for families.

Room Tip: One part of the house is more than 200 years old. These rooms have good atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balatonfured hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#5 of 19 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Annabella
Hotel Annabella
#11 of 19 in Balatonfured
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Resort
Hotel Silver Resort
#12 of 19 in Balatonfured
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ipoly Residence - Executive Hotel Suites
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Wellness Hotel
Flamingo Wellness Hotel
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margareta
Hotel Margareta
#8 of 19 in Balatonfured
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital

Address: Gyogy ter 1, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Balatonfured
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balatonfured
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Anna Grand Hotel**** Wine & Vital building complex is located onthe northern shore of Lake Balaton, a 100 meters away from the famous Tagore Promenade, in the middle of the historical district of Balatonfüred Füred Small Forest (with tennis courts all year long) on the north. The Anna Grand Hotel**** Wine & Vital is awaiting its guests in the heart of the historical district of Balatonfüred in a more than 200-year old, renovated building with 100 rooms, with luxury suites at Ipoly Residence wing, wellness department on 1200 m2 4-lane bowling alley, minigolf, confectionary, Biomed cure room,Beauty farm, wine bar, dential clinique and a unique Wine Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital Balatonfured, Somogy County, Hungary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.