We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - but get the side away from the road and nightclub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Astoria Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jokai utca 28, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Balatonfured
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - but get the side away from the road and nightclub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

This hotel would have got a higher rating but for the noisy main road next door and the late night noise from the night club across the road.

I stayed with my wife as a guest of the organising committee of a European championshp regatta.

Breakfasts were good - excellent scrambled eggs. Good coffee, plent of fruit and delicious fresh bread.

Our double room was large, nicely furnished and had a view over to the lake. We didn't eat evening meals at the hotel due to regatta hospitality commitments but we are told that the hotel restaurant is quite good.

Good wifi connection but not really a business hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

This is a good value 3 star hotel, rooms escaped from the 70's but thats par for the course in Balaton, near to the waterfront - visit Karolina's and Oscars on the promenade.

On Saturday night there is a nearby bar which rages on till about 2am so not recommended for those not partying.

One downside is the reception staff who are pretty blase about their work, efficient but seriously glum!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

We stayed for one night in Astoria Hotel after leaving Budapest. The Lake Balaton area is beautiful, and Balatonfured is about a 2 hour drive from Budapest. The hotel I believe used to be someone's summer home, with a beautiful front porch area where you can eat your breakfast in the morning. There is plenty of free parking right next to the house, and it is just a few blocks walk down to Lake Balaton. They also have a restaurant which looked quite nice, with a large patio area to eat, which looked quite nice, but we didn't eat there.

I had to use my high school German to more effectively speak with the front desk person who checked me in, but that is part of the fun. He recommended some boat rides we could take on Lake Balaton, which we did take advantage of.

The rooms themselves are quite large - our room had a large bed, as well as a twin bed, little table and chairs, little desk and chair, TV/TV stand and a mini-fridge. There was an entry way which lead to the bathroom and the bedroom, which contained a large armoire. The bathroom was modern and clean. The hotel had no air conditioning, but keeping the windows open allowed us to sleep comfortably at night (as well as a standing fan).

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Hotel Astoria is very nice and cozy hotel in oldtown of Balatofured.
I liked the most very, very spaceous and big room, but unfortunately it was located abowe the kitchen so we guessed every afternoon what will be for dinner. Staff, althoug speak English poorly (prefer German or Hungarian) is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was OK, but if you are vegeterian or don't eat every sort of meat won't have a big choice. In nearby is good Aquapark. Altogether, I would recommended to my friends.

  • Liked — Room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Jokai utca 28, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Balatonfured
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Balatonfured
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Balatonfured, Somogy County, Hungary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.