We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marita Hotel to your Saves list
Marita Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala 89, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a great experience staying at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful with everything from directing us to the nearest pharmacy to turning on the steam room for my husband. The breakfast had the biggest variety we've seen so far in Slovenia and was delicious! We requested a late check out and were given it with no issues. The location is a tiny bit further from the main, busy strip of Portoroz, but it is an easy, pleasant walk along the seashore.(we walked the whole way to the neighboring Piran- at least an hour walk!)

The bathroom was spacious and had a great tub and shower. The only thing was there was no barrier or curtain around the shower, so it left a big puddle of water along the stairs and bathroom floor. Luckily there are lots of towels provided to mop it up.

We would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Portoroz.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, Staffs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Pleasant overnight stay at this quirky hotel. The (male) receptionist was friendly, welcoming and helpful. Its difficult to describe, but everything in the rooms is set at an angle - but quite entertaining. The bathroom tiles are at angles too, giving an optical illusion that everything is slanted downwards - very novel ! Everything clean and well-equipped. Parking was good - on site and free.
Well located for a trip to Piran - well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wasn't expecting too much as not too expensive, couldn't have been more surprised. All the staff were so helpful,The food very good,with a good variety. Several options at each meal. The rooms were very clean. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our "superior" rooms were bit bigger than the average, but otherwise not terribly superior. Hotel was clean - food service was a bit chaotic and required a little patience at times. Always a "cooked for you on demand" offer at breakfast and supper, but otherwise would have to rate food as OK rather than good. Our package included buffet supper, which was ... "OK". Treated ourselves to a meal out on our last night. Nice pool area (also well used by ants and wasps!), with lunchtime drinks and snacks. Music around the pool appears compulsory and met some resistance to requests to turn it down. Easy walk into main Portoroz resort and bus to Piran (and elsewhere) stops right outside. Perhaps had slightly high expectations given "superior". I would stay here again, with managed expectations!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If anyone ever stayed in an ex-Soviet era resort, they will get the atmosphere of this place. Nothing done badly, per se, just all having seen better days or executed slightwrong.

Example - a Grand Suite should not just be two normal rooms with the same furniture spread forlornly out between them. Nor should it overlook a derelict terrace bar. Or the bathroom flood a quater-inch every time someone showers. Etc.

On the other hand the staff were indeed lovely, but if you are thinking of splashing out on a little luxury then I would look to the nearby resorts.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijilo, Gambia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I recommend Marita Hotel in Portorose because is an absolutely amazing place to stay. Everybody is very friendly, the food is divine, the rooms spotlessly clean and staff is wonderful. Me and my friends just loved delicious breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The front cooking is fantastic. Omelets and pancakes are so delicious. A big variety of food is available for the breakfast. There is no way to stay hungry! Dinner was different every day with big salad bar, 2 different soup every day, side dishes, main courses, veggies, cheese, deserts, fruits...excellent choice of food indeed. The snack bar offers excellent sandwiches and I recommend ice-coffee. Area beside the pools was always clean, sunbeds are free of charge and are very comfortable. We also tried inside pool when it was a cloudy day.
Hotel has 2 parking places plus garage. Free wi-fi was working in our room very well. Room was always clean, towels & linens were regularly changed. The staff in the hotel was extremely friendly and professional. We have also received gift certificate for Hotel Marita Spa the first day of our staying.
Location is very near to the beach, bars, shops, cosmetics shop, bakery, pizzeria, seafood restaurant, beach clubs, discotheque, tennis court, post office, bus stop, fun park for kids, 6D cinema,...what ever you need, you will find it on a walking distance.
I think hotel is suitable for family, friends, business or couples. They will always meet your wishes as far as I understood the policy of a hotel. I have been travelling around the world and I know this hotel is one of the best. I really recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed here with my family for 5 nights in July 2013. The hotel has several buildings and we have received our "beach view" room on the first floor. Room was comfortable and clean with an extreme large bathroom and a nice balcony.
The staff was good and professional. We had paid for half board and both breakfast and dinner was really good quality. We also had lunch several times from their menu card and they served excellent sandwiches and pasta.
The swimming pool area was always crowded and we have experienced this f.cking unpolite way of reserving the beds and chairs there: going there early morning withyour towel to reserve it and arriving by 11am :-( hehe. Nice way, isn't it?
The parking area was quite narrow, otherwise was OK.
Only problem was the free wi-fi in the rooms: many cases slow service or no service...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoroz
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
#1 of 25 in Portoroz
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riviera Superior
Hotel Riviera Superior
#9 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#5 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apollo
Hotel Apollo
#6 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#3 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#2 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marita Hotel

Address: Obala 89, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Portoroz
#8 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marita is situated in Portoroz, Slovenia, next to the sea, the tennis courts and Casino`.Let the comfort in the Hotel Marita become consistent. We offer individuality, topmost service and first class culinary art and spa center. Hotel Marita is an oasis on the sea side that will please every guest beyond your imagination.Pamper yourself in one of the rooms with the sight of countless stars surrounded with nature and sea air. You can choose on double rooms, suites and deluxe suites or even presidential apartment.Spa center Marita is a place where you can indulge yourself and feel a sence of harmony and pamper yourself in our inside and outside swimming pool, saunas or in Marita Spa, where we offer you just the best treatments from traditional and modern massages and body beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marita Hotel Portoroz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.