We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Stands Out - No Wow Factor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Remisens Hotel Lucija

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Remisens Hotel Lucija to your Saves list
Remisens Hotel Lucija
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala 77, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
Farnborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing Stands Out - No Wow Factor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We've just had a week in this hotel. Whilst it was clean and the staff were generally friendly and helpful, like many modern hotels, it lacks any charm or atmosphere. We found the self service menus far too repetitive and, judging by the regularly sized portions of meat etc., much had obviously been pre-processed. Much of the "hot" food should have been hotter.

On each table was a card asking guests NOT to take food out of the restaurant for consumption elsewhere. Our observations showed that this was being blatantly ignored.

We had asked for a room with a balcony and a sea view. Whilst the balcony was ample the only view was of a parade of shops.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    86
    54
    7
    4
See reviews for
52
58
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just got back from short break at Hotel Lucija Portoroz. As always I traveled with my girlfriend, and we're both plesently surprised with this hotel. Hotel is ranked as 3 star, so we didn't expect too much, but we're wrong. Hotel is refurbished, staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and nicely equipped. The only downside in my opinion is lack of choice at dinner. (bare in mind that this is my opinion).Hotel has interior pool with heated salt water, but you can visit for free open pool just across the road. (sunbeds and umbrella at this pool are payebale - 15€ for 2 sunbeds and umbrella). Near hotel are parking garage (guests have discount, so you pay about 5€ per day), shops, restaurants..
Places worth your visit:
- Piran (lovely port city, about 10 minutes drive)
- Izola (about 15 minutes drive)
summary: Lovely hotel with great location, cheap, free internet in rooms (not Wi-fi - this is available only in reception and hotel bar), freindly staff

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanton, Bern
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

It is perhaps ufair to rate this hotel as average. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The food was definitely average, though I did like the fact that it was a buffet and not a fixed menu. We had no problems with the food running out, as it was the off season (May).
Our room had a balcony and we were situated over the main street. On the weekend we arrived we had loud techno music from across the street and the traffic noise was a nuisance.

Room Tip: If you arrive in the main season, I say to get a room away from the main street--noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Excellent choice especially for the families with young children. It is not so expensive so it offers good value, in terms of facilities, position and services for the hotel rate. The position is great, situated on the seaside next to the walking area (lungo mare). In front of the hotel is one of the best (and our favorite one) sea food restaurants (Trattoria del pescatore Santa Lucia).

We stayed in standard room without balcony (which is the only one disadvantage). The cleaning standards are high. Well furnished rooms and the rest of hotel, modern and simple style. Swimming pools with sea water are very nice, clean and warm including jacuzzi. The breakfast is good, fresh and wide choice (except juice which is awfull). There is baby/children playing room with organized activities for the kids. There are also organized tours by the hotel which are payed extra. Parking is not free of charge, costs 9 EUR per day. Internet connection is limited - it is free of charge and available in the lobby and some rooms (we had difficulty to connect because there were obviously too many users).

Its recommendable to get the room with balcony/terrace.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Although the hotel itself is clean and bright and the pool nice there are some poor aspects. The restaurant is worse than a school dining hall - if you dont get there on the first sitting then you dont get the same choice of food - once its run out it is not replaced like for like. It was crowded and noisy and the food wasnt brilliant. This wasnt helped by the electricity failing on several evenings. I know thats not the hotels fault.
In the end we ate out every night as it was so not enjoyable eating there and not relaxing at all.
There were never enough beds outside of the pool in the grassy area but we were not allowed to take any more outside despite hardly anyone staying inside as the weather was so nice. The attendant wouldnt let us move them - I think because he had to bring them in at the end of the day - so we ended up lying on the grass.
The location is quite good - central and with buses to nearby historic Piran.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

I stayed here for one night and agree with most reviews that the bedrooms are quite ordinary. The floors are a bit hard and the beds a little soft. However, the staff was friendly and helpful and the pool/jacuzzi amenities were surprisingly good. The location is within walking distance to everything in Portoroz. I paid about $100 USD, which I thought was a reasonable bargain for the beginning of high season and the quality of the hotel. High speed internet is free, though it is just wired - no wireless. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

Slovenia is a lovely little country. Unfortunately the beach region is just a few kms, so it tends to be crowded there. Italians like it because they get more for their Euro in Portoroz.

This report is about hotel Lucija. It is the simplest member of the Metropol hotel group (2-3 stars), but also the closest to the beach. You may use all their services including indoor pool and Casino/Evening Shows. If you are lucky you'll get a free parking lot and avoid using the garage built into the mountain crowned by the 5-star Metropol Palace.

The rooms are small, most come with a balcony, but we found the mediterranean food at Lucija's delicious and enjoyed walking "downtown" afterwards (in 3 min.) to frequent the ice parlours, cafes or dancing places.

The pool area of the Metropol group is very nice, but do not expect too much from their beach, you'll have to put your towel on pure concrete instead of grass or sand.

Considering the many competitive flight rates (Triest, Venice, Ljubljana, Klagenfurt ...) I would book the hotel directly using M's 10% club card instead of relying on an agency or going all the way by car.

If you want to spend even less money (half pension €45) then go to neighbouring historical Piran or continue to Croatia.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portoroz hotels
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
#1 of 25 in Portoroz
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera Superior
Hotel Riviera Superior
#9 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#5 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#3 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Remisens Premium Hotel Metropol
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apollo
Hotel Apollo
#6 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Lucija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Lucija

Address: Obala 77, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Portoroz
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Portoroz
#12 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Remisens Hotel Lucija 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Lucija is located in the immediate vicinity of the main promenade and beach in Portoroz. It has a capacity of 182 air-conditioned, spacious and comfortable rooms and is surrounded by a beautiful green park. The Hotel Lucija is the ideal place for unforgettable family holidays. In addition to the regular entertainment programme for children and adults, there are also entertainment activities by the hotel pool. The hotel has an indoor pool area with heated seawater, which also includes a children's pool and a sauna centre. The hotel's location is an ideal starting point for various excursions and visits to nearby sights, but also for sports and recreation. Take your family on an unforgettable holiday in Portoroz. Find accommodation for your loved ones in the Remisens Hotel Lucija. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Remisens Hotel Lucija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucija Hotel Portoroz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Remisens Hotel Lucija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.