We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot, but just average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Histrion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Histrion to your Saves list
Histrion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala 2, Portoroz, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
Bled, Slovenia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good spot, but just average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel was build in 80', but this seems not the be the biggest problem. Rooms are OK, sea view is spectacular, location is the best in Portorož. The most disappointing was food. There is a big choice of food, but the taste of it is not as you would expect for this kind of hotel (4 star). All is based on lot's of oil, greasy souses, overcooked pasta... I think the hotel will have to bring the food on higher level. Means more tasty and also healthier.
Otherwise...I can't complain about the stay there and the personal is super nice.The only thing what I was missing was the gym. Guests are allowed to use the gym from Grand Hotel Bernardin (next door), but it only opens at 9am, which is pretty late for a gym.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    33
    20
    3
See reviews for
39
49
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Its a huge complex actually being closer to Piran than "Downtown Portoroz".
4star is a very bold exaggeration, We had one "suite" for ourselves and a room for the kids. Carpets throughout extremely worn and stained, Mattresses definitely have reached the end of any acceptable life-span. Bathrooms very tiny but fairly clean.
The entire place smells as if there was lots of dust hanging in the air everywhere.

Access to the Hotel by car is rather difficult and you can not drive up to the reception. Porters (if in sight) make up for this. Parking is for free on a "pay-lot" just outside the Hotel, but which does not offer any shade for the car and is open to the public so especially on weekends it does get crowded by locals.

The view from the rooms is nice, but if you like to hear the waves splashing during the night insist on a room facing the open sea and not the bay of Portoroz! Incredible Disco-Noise would keep you up all night coming from the many Establishments lining the bay of Portoroz. (For the very same reason I am truly happy NOT to have booked a room actually IN Portoroz! The noise there must be unbearable!

Taverna Mediteran as a part of the Hotel: 2 servings of Chicken Nuggets for Kids, 1 (rather disgusting looking) Spaghetti Bolognese (Kids size), 2 Bottles of plain water, 1 Coke, 1 Espresso.... € 50,- ???? WTF?!

Staff, especially what seemed to be the Front Desk Manager, VERY friendly!

Breakfast: Try to be there (Buffet Style) at 7:00 when it opens. The type of clientele obviously attracted to this Hotel will quickly make a disgusting "war zone" of it - despite the desperate efforts of the staff!

Speaking of "clientele": When going there, keep in mind that it is very close to Austria and consequently very easy (and cheap!) for not exactly the "Austrian Upper Class" to reach for some vacation at the sea.

All in all the place has a the strange charm of the Hotels typical for the bygone era of "Tito Socialism". I am pretty sure that package deals with full board when booked ahead in a travel agency would cost way less for a full week than what we paid, rack-rate on the Internet for 2 nights with breakfast. But so be it, strangely enough we did enjoy the 2 nights, the sea seemed clean and clear and the large concrete slab substituting "beach" is just the way it is in this area.

Room Tip: Go for a West facing room, looking out towards the Adriatic sea and NOT towards the bay of Portoroz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I spent a long weekend with my family in the hotel. Stayed in an apartment room with sea view. I think the hotel needs some renewal, maybe it was 4star quality 5-7 years ago, but today it a 3 minus... Worn carpet, uncomfortable bed. However the wellness area is great: pools with salty water, pools for children etc, this part is highly recommended. The area is quiet, for a strange reason the lights on the balcony can not be switched off from the room, but they switch them off centrally at 22.30. This was a bit embarassing, when our child gone to bed at 9.30 and could not sleep cis if the light
All in all: Ok for a short stay, but do not expect high comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to this hotel as nearby Grand Hotel Bernardin was fully booked, and the location is actually very good - close to the nice Piran town, and not far from Portoroz. But that turns to be the only plus of the hotel.

Having read some reviews and trying to make some safety cushion we went for studio type of room, hoping and will be better. Alas, it was only bigger. Room design is a marvel to behold if you're into weird things. Had 2 bathrooms, one extremely narrow, and one extremely big (it had a toilet and a set of bathing things like shampoo or head cap, but no sight of shower). Furniture is old and weary, and carpet on the floor had plenty of dirty spots from previous visitors. No things like slippers or robe. A safe, small enough to hardly accomodate an iPad, if you're travelling with something bigger (maybe a laptop?) - it won't fit in. Balconies had lamps, but we failed to figure how to switch them on.

Hotel itself is another designer's masterpiece, if you manage to get the room numbered in x80s-x90s you're bound to have a very long walk from the entrance to your room.

Breakfast is not impressive at all, same things every day, and not very tempting too, good thing there are a lot of good places to have dinners and you could settle just for some light snack.

Hotel personnel seemed to be playing the "I don't see you" game, we were hardly getting any welcoming words or smiles, they preferred to instantly turn away once catching your sight on them. The only person who could not avoid that was the guy on reception, he maybe even greeted us once in a week time.

Hotel "beach" is something we went to check once, it has only staired entrances into the sea, so if you're not a good swimmer (like my wife) this place is not for you. Instead we went to nearby Grand Hotel Bernardin beach, which you can use either for free withour having a deck-chair and umbrella (because, frankly, in Slovenia sea cannot be privately owned and thus no access restrictions can apply), or with those things for a fee.

All in all, a very badly maintained hotel, not a place we will return to by any means.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This year was our second stay at the hotel Historian, great hotel. We came twice, with no room reservation, the staff at the reception was wonderful they always find rooms for us at the hotel. We will return next year again.The only thing I would not recommend is the garden restaurant at the Hotel Historian down stars, service was terrible, waiters didn't care, we waited for our drinks for about twenty minutes , we asked if they can bring us our drinks. The waiter told us we are not the only ones waiting. After that I was even more shocked the waiter and the Manager started to make fun of us , "Stupid American, Those Idiots, Who do they think they are, They can stay home if they don't like it here," They didn't know that I understood Slovenian. So I do recommend the hotel , not the garden restaurant. In Portoroz they have great restaurants with great service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsbruck
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

A good time to be there! Also al the different things are verry well. The Beach is at the Sunnysite of this Hotel with friendly people around all the time. Near of this Hotel is the beautiful village PIRAN.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine with air conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We have been visiting this hotel for about 20 years now, and can recommend it very highly. It is visually stunning, located on a beautiful stretch of coastline about 1 mile south of the charming old town of Piran that can be easily reached by following a coastal promenade past the lovely harbour of Piran, and a similar distance from the resort of Portoroz. The hotel is well kept and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are several restaurants in and around the hotel and the food is always excellent and reasonably priced. The hotel is quiet and popular with both both couples and families. The one drawback [for some] might be that there is little in the the way of entertainment or sports facilities, althought there is an indoor pool and tennis courts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Histrion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Histrion

Address: Obala 2, Portoroz, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Portoroz
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Histrion 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Histrion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Histrion Hotel Portoroz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Histrion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.