We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wellness in the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Portoroz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Portoroz to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Portoroz
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala 33, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
Celje
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best wellness in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Me and my wife love to visit wellness centres and try different massages. This time we have decided to go to Portoroz in Slovenia, to the wellness centre in Lifeclass Hotels & Spa. We tried various treatments in Shakti Ayurveda centre where they have new therapists from India. WOW, the massages were more than great!!! We really had fun. The staff was extremely nice and you can actualy feel real Indian amtosphere! The service was excelent and you really get more for what you pay! We also tried their new renovated five-star beach and all I can say is that this is THE beach!! My wife was smiling all the time and this is definetly a good reason enough to spend our next holidays in Lifeclas!!

  • Liked — Great view
  • Disliked — A bit small room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    114
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
70
137
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

We were originally supposed to be staying at the Hotel Marita nearby, but some building work there over-ran so Inghams very kindly moved us to the Grand instead. We were really pleased about this as we could see the facilities and reviews were much better. We arrived after dinner had finished on our first night so the hotel left us a cold buffet in our room which was a nice touch. We were also lucky enough to be given a high-floor room in the ‘tower’ block with a lovely sea view. We stayed there for 4 nights which gave us enough time to take full advantage of the indoor swimming pool complex, apart from the sauna park which we avoided due to its ‘no costumes allowed’ policy. All the public areas of the hotel are well decorated and maintained and we found the staff to be generally very helpful.

We stayed there on a half board basis so ate all our meals in the hotel’s Adria restaurant. The food and service were generally very good but there was a distinct lack of labelling of the food (in any language) – vegetarians in particular should be wary of ‘hidden’ meat/fish in some of the food. The drinks in the restaurant and the hotel bar were very pricy but we struggled to find any better bars near to the hotel so we were happy to stay put in the evening. The location of the hotel is very convenient for all the attractions of Portoroz and it is a short hop to Piran which is definitely worth a visit. It’s also worth noting that there are a lot of good walks to do in and around the area – you can get maps from the tourist office.

All in all, we had a really great time at this hotel - but just before we left that we discovered the cost of our room had been 300 Euros per night – so we wouldn’t go back there as it was in no way worth that much money. The formerly ruined Palace hotel next door has been taken over by the same chain and is due to open shortly so I think the Grand might face some serious competition in the future.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

the hotel is not a 5 star , even if the 5 stars hotels in Slovenia, are not the other in the eurpoean countries.

Room are small , if You are not lucky to have a new one, and not very clean, staff are very rude and they don't know at all the customers satisfaction.

All the wellnes center has booked, and if you don't book one week in advance ( partciculalry the wai Thai center) are fully booked, restaurant not bad but only breakfast tasted good.

In my opinion not an hotel to stay and I will never come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

Having chosen a two centre holiday in Slovenia, our first week in Bled having been wonderful, we were a little disappointed by our reception once we reached the Grand............... The room was great once we finally got what we had booked, the food was fantastic, but our stay was slightly marred by the offhand behaviour of some of the staff! They could certainly benefit from some customer service training. The hotel itself certainly lives up to it's 5 star award with regard to cleaniness and quality of food although a little noisy at night if you chose a high floor with a sea view over the promenade.

  • Liked — Food choices
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

In August my husband and I needed to spend several days on the Slovenian coast because of a work commitment. Believing the guidance given in a well known travel guide series, we were dismayed when we couldn't find accommodation in Piran. It was billed as perfection, while nearby Portoroz got a profile somewhere between Blackpool and Benidorm.
We had to book the Grand Hotel Palace in Portoroz and braced ourselves for a less than pleasing resort experience.
In fact, we ended up feeling very lucky that we'd wound up in Portoroz. Far from being nasty or brash it is in fact a great family resort with none of the expected excesses. It's spacious, green, well managed and relaxingly low key. The lovely promenade provided plenty of scope for walking. There was a good selection of quality hotels, some interesting places to eat and great swimming and sunbathing areas. The Grand Hotel Palace was worthy of its five stars, with first rate accommodation, a seafront location, superb food and one of the most impressive indoor pools complexes we'd ever seen. The Spa and Wellness Centre offered every sort of therapeutic and beauty treatment one could wish for and was reasonably priced. The staff in the hotel and in restaurants were unfailingly friendly and helpful.
The impression we'd been given of this lovely holiday location was unjust and misleading and we hope to stay there again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

Myself and my husband stayed at the Grand Hotel Palace hotel for 8 nights in August 2007. The hotel itself is beautiful, in a great location and facilities at the hotel are fantastic However I have one complaint. There are no irons in the rooms, which we were told was a safety regulation in the country. While we accept this, the hotel did not provide a room that you could do your own ironing in. We were told however that they would get a chambermaid to do it for us. We used this service on three occassions during our stay at the hotel. What the hotel did not tell us however is that they charge an exhorbinant fee for using this service. We did not realise this of course until the morning we were checking out and it appeared on our bill as" laundry service".. We were totally suprised at this particularly when we would have been quite willing to do our own ironing had they had a room you could do it in. It is a total rip off, try not to get caught out like we did!!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

Not a lot of culture in Portoroz but then that shouldn't be a surprise if you've done your research. This hotel is fine - staff are friendly, rooms are clean and functional - nothing wonderful. Didn't get time to use the wellness centre/terme...

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoroz
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
#1 of 25 in Portoroz
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#6 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera Superior
Hotel Riviera Superior
#9 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Apollo
Hotel Apollo
#5 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 5 in Piran
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#2 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Portoroz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Portoroz

Address: Obala 33, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
#2 Family Hotel in Portoroz
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portoroz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
#3 Business Hotel in Portoroz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Portoroz 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Portorož has seven storeys, one panoramic and two inner lifts, two restaurants, a winter garden with a café, private beach, a lively shopping centre, garage and a parking area. An essential part of the Grand Hotel Portorož is the Terme & Wellness LifeClass Spa featuring a complex of indoor swimming-pools with thermomineral water, a spacious sun terrace and superb wellness centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Portoroz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portoroz Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Portoroz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.