We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Palace Portoroz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Palace Portoroz to your Saves list
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala 45, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Istrian Finest
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Will start with the not so good..no direct beach access and crowded pool.
But those are about the only bad things i can come up with.
Main restaurant is really good,as we stayed there for 6 days i was a bit concerned about the menu,it seemed a little limited.This in fact was not the case,every day the manager Mr Stojan Babic would have new suggestions for us.And even beyond that,some of us just explained what we would like and the chef would try and create that for us.
Also had some lunch at Fleur de Sel and that was excellent aswell,really friendly staff,very helpfull[thank you Daniel,Joe and Winnie]
All in all a very nice place,maybe less so for those who really want peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    115
    44
    7
    2
See reviews for
102
282
19
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just what we need after a busy time at a Romanian wedding and time on the road. We were given a lovely room (422) with a large balcony overlooking the sea. Masses of space with all you would expect except a kettle. The breakfasts were wonderful - everything you could possible think of and more - champagne & strawberries - and served until 12 noon! Our classic car was safely stored in the underground car park but disgraced himself by letting out bad smells and setting off the pollution alarm.

Room Tip: 422 was a really good room with large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautifully restored old Palace hotel is probably one of the most splendor on Slovenian cost. Hotel consists of 2 parts: old Palace part with a lot of patina and a new building. I stayed in the old part in a deluxe room with excellent bed and luxurious bathroom. The room was not as spacious as I expected, but it was tastefully furnished. Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace overlooking the garden of the Palace and the experience sitting there was just perfect. The good thing is the breakfast is served until noon. The pool is nice, with whirlpool on side, not very big, but you can swim yourself quite good. Con: hotel doesn't possess its own, private beach. There is also no direct access to it. You can go to a nearby Meduza beach which is shared with other Portoroz hotels and has entrance fee. From that reason the hotel is not suitable for longer summer holiday and for beach lovers, who would like to have more privacy and luxurious feeling as a Kempinski guest also on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in the hotel mid July. We experienced great service and an excellent room, nevertheless bathroom is at the smaller end. Pool area is also nice, but relatively small - compared to the size of the hotel. The only con is the lack of direct beach access and the lack of a kempinski beach section. There is a joint beach section for all of the five star hotels, but you have to pay an extra eur 15 pp. Since the sea is not nice in portoroz, we stayed most of the time at the pool area. Breakfast is great and you can enjoy it until 12!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

very classy place, nice professional staff, big rooms , nice big terrace to have your breakfast with excellent variety and high quality of foods.
may be 2 bad points to mention, the pool is too small comparing to the very big number of rooms the hotel has , but you can still manage to find sunbeds, but the hotel has no beach.
there were no tea/coffee maker in the room ( while in such hotels it must be part of the room amenities, some of them have nespresso machine in each room ) and when i asked for a kettle they said no for security reasons , I an still curious to know what do they mean by security reasons and explain it to me and to the thousands of hotels who are offering the tea/coffee maker in room.....

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old palace and not the modern wing , which is an old hotel just next to the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been here on our honeymoon, and we had great Services!
The concierge was very helpful, they recommended us very good restauants;
At the breakfast we could eat tasteful cheeses and Italian bacons.
The view is wonderful

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We had 4 rooms and it's our second visit and the last one!
We travel a lot and often to kempinski around the world , and never found something like this..
There it's so much to say, I'm not gonna make a story about this , I'll just put the goods and bads .
Goods
Consierge and choffeour , attentive and willing to help.
The Sophia restaurant , nice stuff very nice foods , too limited selection
The breakfast personnel .
Bads
I call reception for Cleanning my room because they forgot and they answered me ,at 10 pm that this it's how they do it in this hotel! Her tone of voice was categoric and not at all friendly! Next time I called she answered with "now what"... I couldn't believe it!!
At the pool you can dehydrate because u cannot get a drink until u go to the lifeguard to ask him to get u a waiter for the pool bar ironically opened but without bartender , and if you are lucky he may find somebody from the restaurant willing to come.. I wasn't lucky every day so I had to go to back up solutions in the street to buy myself a bottle of water.
Once I ordered a penne Bolognese at the pool bar, for my child and a upset waiter came with the penne, I asked her some parmigiano and she told me that they don't have! And it was hard enough to get the penne from the room service, I insisted that maybe room service may have some parmigiano and she looked at me even more annoyed , finally agreeing to ask them!! Pointless to say that when the little one was full we've got some parmigiano ...
In the rooms they don't give water for turn down service, anyway this service doesn't always happen..
I had to wake up at 7 every morning to get a bed at the pool but this it's not entirely their fault..
In the first day the pool water was ice cold, I asked the pool person what happen and he told me that some mechanic part it's currently broken, I've asked him how long will that take to fix it he was just hopefully that during our staying!
I was very surprised to see the restaurant above the pool , opened for lunch, dirty with the tables full of dust, not set for lunch at all, at first I've got the impression that they are closed! Ofcourse always empty !
We had few lunches there, the service was good, ( maybe brcause we were the only table)but the chef it's not the best!
We ordered one hamburger for the kid, they burned it out on one side and after covering that part with sauce they served it like that! I couldn't cut it ! How can the chef release a plate like that in a 5 star hotel restaurant .. I don't know!
Do not do dry Cleanning , laundry.
I did, and aprouved them to try to clean 3 little stains they told me they found!! I didn't even know about them wire the trousers for for second time,nor about the consequence of my approval !
The trousers came back with big stains of clour on both legs, when I complained I've been humiliated by the girl in charge , in the lobby with people looking at us while she was explaining to me that it's my fault, they asked me in advance , she was holding up the trousers and speaking loud until I just couldn't listen to the circus anymore and I gave up...
There are more like this but I'll stop here just for you to have an idea of what can happen in this hotel 100% full!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Palace Portoroz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Palace Portoroz

Address: Obala 45, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
#1 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
#1 Family Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Palace Portoroz 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Palace Portoroz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Palace Portoroz Hotel Portoroz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Palace Portoroz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.