We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazingly good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Palace Portoroz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Palace Portoroz to your Saves list
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala 45, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Istrian Finest
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
london
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“amazingly good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I visited the Kempinski Portoroz as a member of a large corporate group in June. I expected an efficient conference hotel - and indeed it was - but it also is exactly what a 5 star hotel should be all about.
First of all it is an imposing, big, classy oldi building that sits on the seafront, separated by a road and a parade of shops and restaurants. the hotel has been resored with great care. The bedrooms are big, roomy modern affairs, with great beds and bathrooms. The common parts are cool - particulary the uber-trendy white bar. The grounds are 'Slovenian zen' and the pool is nice (salt water) but perhaps too small for a hotel of this size , and surrounded by sad rows of loungers. The spa is teriffic.
However the best part of the hotel is the staff ,who are simply amazing - they have eyes in the back of thier heads and are superbly accomodating and attentive.
If there is a drawback, I'd say it's the town of Portoroz itself...just a bit crummy and cheap. But up the road you have Piran, which is the total reverse - fantastic!

Room Tip: ask for a modern seafront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    115
    44
    7
    2
See reviews for
102
282
19
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I've been to Portoroz and have enjoyed good times, good food and good service in many places there, but having just stayed at the Kempinski, I must say that I'm now spoiled for any other location.

Their rooms are nice with lovely views of the Adriatic. You can sit outside and enjoy breakfast as you watch the town slowly come to life. The restaurants are good but hard to get into -- reserve your table as soon as you check in! -- but if they're not to your taste, Portoroz and nearby Piran offer so many great places to eat that you should be sure that you've got an unused notch on your belt.

The crowning item, however, was the service. One of the front office managers, Natasha Karat, made me feel as though she were there just to look after me and whatever I needed. I so very much look forward to my next trip to Slovenia's beautiful coast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I think this hotel easily comes into top 5 best European hotels. It's absolutely flawless. Great staff, everything works as it should, very stylish interior and exterior, exellent food and also for the time of our stay - exellent weather. If you go there, you should take care not to overload your stomach during breakfast (which is until 12o'clock btw), because every dish is so delicious!! Super nice fitness, WIFI, pool (in&out), spa, sauna, the best beds in the world and much more included in the price. If not the best it is certainly the best bang for the buck. We also had a dog and he too was treated like a king...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

the hotel is absolutly beautiful! it has a wunderful pleasant and modern ambiance. one part of the hotel is very old (from the time of austria royal dynasty) and the other part is new - and it fits perfect together. the whole hotel is nice decorated. our room was lovely, with very cosy beds, nice bath and view to the sea.
the staff is very professionel and friendly.
the garden and the pool and spa-area are also beautiful, with good services.
the price of the room was low, because it was low-season, otherwise it`s high.
we only ate at the pool-area. it was ok, nothing special, but high price. the breakfast was included and very good, with lots of choices, also fine for the eyes. it was served in the old part of the hotel - the cristal-room. impressiv!
this hotel is perfect for this area, for a short stop, to relax and visit Piran.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We went to Portoroz for a conference. The hotel is a nicely restored former jewel of the Adriatic, staff is exceptional and kind. Rooms are not the biggest, bathrooms rather small. Breakfast was nice, but not exceptional. Our bathroom badly needed maintenance: personal scale was out of order, batteries old and corroded. Taps on the sink not properly fitted, cold water running very slowly. Traces of mold around bathtub. The biggest negative surprise was additional charge to my credit card several days after the check-out, without any notice or invoice sent. So be aware.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

The location is beautiful. The hotel is amazing. The service is fantastic. The half-board was GREAT; it includes both breakfast and a 3-course dinner. The only thing not to love is the price... but that's to be expected. If budget and locations allow, I will go out of my way to stay at Kempinski every single time in the future. What a place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doughjohnes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We went to Portoroz for a conference and before coming everybody expected some kind of a village. Trieste airport didn't surprise us, but when we passed the highway and got into the town I was shocked - this is one of the most beautiful places in Europe. Nature is stunning, evergreen. In November town is quiet but I guess in summer it's bubbling as any other resort. The hotel consists of two parts - Palace and modern (kind of high-tech)- located just two steps from the beach. Room was spacious and very light, nice little terrace where you have a cigarette and watch the sunset. Ah, and you have wi-fi for free evrywhere at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Palace Portoroz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Palace Portoroz

Address: Obala 45, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
#1 Family Hotel in Portoroz
#1 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Palace Portoroz 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Palace Portoroz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Palace Portoroz Hotel Portoroz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Palace Portoroz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.