We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hideaway close to the center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tomi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tomi to your Saves list
Hotel Tomi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Letoviska 1, Portoroz 51280, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
Cypress, Orange County, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A little hideaway close to the center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and nice. The hotel has a very cabin like feel which we thought was wonderful for our little get away. The hotel is positioned on the slope of a big hill which can be a bit of a walk for those that are not up for the exercise. There is a stair way across the street the leads to the beach which is better then walking on the street at night. Breakfast was good but simple their was always fresh fruit and bread along with meats, cheese and yogurt. We loved the pool there because it had a great view of the sea. We will say that the hotel is under renovation right now so that maybe bothersome for some people. They do the best they can to try and work around everyone being there. The beds are memory beds, there is a cute balcony with chairs and a table to have a drink or afternoon snack, however there is no refrigerator. Oh by the way there is an amazing message/spa shower that was very useful after long walks. There is free parking in front of the Hotel.
If traveling from Italy to Slovenia be care not to use there freeway or highway system without paying a pass at the gas station which is 15 euros. It will cost you 300 Euros or if you pay in the middle of the highway 150 Euros if you do not by them. The police are watching to check you as soon as you get on so use the back roads ALWAYS!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
42
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked our stay at Hotel Tomi having read several positive reviews on Trip Advisor..We were disappointed to find it was not quite as described. We were not pre-warned that the hotel was undergoing substantial building/renovation work, both to the structure and the drainage (we could tell by the awful smell). Breakfast was served to the dulcet tones of pneumatic drills and JCBs..The room was adequate but could have done with a pair of marigolds, particularly the 'fancy' shower, which didn't really work..The hotel is up a steep hill on unlit roads with no pavement! To top it off, when we arrived after a long journey, the receptionist did not provide us with any information, nor even show us to our room. We didn't stay the full booking, and ended up finding somewhere else to stay to give our eardrums a rest.

While the hotel staff after our initial cold reception were reasonably helpful and friendly, no apology was offered for the state of the hotel. We certainly would not recommend anyone stay at Hotel Tomi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice & small family hotel, friendly staff, very close to the center & beach. If you have a chance take a room with a sea view, the rooms are renovated and they look great. Breakfasts are ok, but nothing special.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Husband and wife owners provided us with outstanding hospitality, and our stay was a perfect end to our Slovenian vacation. Highly recommend the restaurant on site and our room had a good sized terrace with superb view. We were traveling without automobile and this hotel has electric bikes which we used. Also numerous bike rental outlets are close by.

Room Tip: second floor views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very nice, owners are very helpful and frendly. Our room was sea side oriented with big balcone. Hotel has great pool in backyard, lovely place to spend one afternoon. In september they have a discounted price for room with breakfast so its a great value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ptuj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hotel and restaurant Tomi was unforgetable experience. You can feel the true meaning of family hotel. Tomi is restaurant with the hotel and which means that culinary is the strongest side of the hotel. We had a HB an we were surprised, that even for HB menu you get a la carte dinner! We traveled with 3 children and we had very nice time at the hotel pool, which is filled, as owner explained, with half - salty water which is good for skin. Having a fun at the pool side with beautiful view at the Portoroz Bay. Rooms are big, clean and filled with comfort (PC, free wi-fi internet, unforgetable balcony views and massage showers, comfortable beds). The special experience was, when we forget closed the door, and our 2 years old son went out of the room and we paniced. When we come to the lobby, he was sitting with the owner son at their family table and play. They are very, very friendly, helpful. The food was real experience - high culinary, taste and quality. It is really great that there can be great time for children and for parents as well. My wife took a thai massage and we had a great romantic dinner, so we will be definitely regular guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

hello
i had a buisness meeting in Portoroz so i stayed in this hotel. I stayed there for 4 days and i have to say it was great. Rooms have are big, have great massage showers and the best view. in every room there is a PC with internet connection (free of charge), this was very important so i coul stay in touch with my home buisness. breakfast is self service. the personel is very kind and the meals are i think the best in Portorož...
i would raccomend this to all that are staying for buisness in Portoroz

Room Tip: i had a room on second floor and is quiet and has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoroz
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
#1 of 25 in Portoroz
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#6 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#2 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera Superior
Hotel Riviera Superior
#8 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#3 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apollo
Hotel Apollo
#5 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tomi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tomi

Address: Letoviska 1, Portoroz 51280, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tomi 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tomi is a family hotel in which a personal touch is of utmost importance. It is managed by the fourth generation of the family Matjaž.Situated on a hill above Portorož and surrounded by Mediterranean flora, it offers an exceptional view of the bay beneath stretching right to Croatia. Cosy rooms are all sea oriented and have a balcony, a computer with free internet access, a massage bathtub, sauna and air-conditioning. An à-la-carte restaurant is available in the hotel itself, so do not forget to taste a wide variety of selected local and sea specialties in the Gostilna Tomi, member of Gostilna Slovenija group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tomi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tomi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.