We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very tacky but does the trick” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tartini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tartini to your Saves list
Hotel Tartini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piran
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“very tacky but does the trick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

if you're hoping for a hotel with some charm or character, look elsewhere. but if you're looking for somewhere with large, clean rooms, good staff and great location, then hotel tartini is for you.

i luckily got a last-minute, off-season rate, so at 50 euro this place was fine. i honestly don't think i'd pay much more than that, though.

it did have a decent, hot breakfast though. and the parking situation is very easy to deal with - which means a lot in a place like piran.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    133
    50
    15
    3
See reviews for
40
141
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Piran was wonderful - a magical find - and the Hotel Tartini was a great place to stay. Its location couldn't be better, right on the square, and the hotel was updated, interesting design and architecture. Our room had a small balcony with a view of the harbor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast offerings were good and plentiful. I want to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your comment. It is so good to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in Piran - and we are glad that we could make the contribution too.
Hope to have you back sometime.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in the center of Piran. The room was clean, the service was effective. The breakfast was fine.
1 weak point: no table or desk in the room (no possibility to use a laptop comfortably)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. I must agree that in a number of rooms the tables are just too small to be of use. The wi-fi however is working throughout the hotel and in good weather it is so nice just to be outside on the terrace .
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had been tipped off that this was the place to stay by my brother. Was tempted by the reasonable out of season rate too. I was given a wedge shaped room that looked over the fabulous piazza, it isn't really a square, and was once the inner harbour up to 1894. And the room has real shutters. It won't take you too long to explore Piran, two days max but some people do linger longer than the likes of me. The Tartini will prove a good base with plenty of cafes and restaurants near by. And if you didn't know who Tartini was, you soon will. Visit his house if you wish but the cds are much cheaper on the Internet! While the view over the 'square' is fab, it could be very noisey at night. The bedroom was nothing special and the bed rather too hard. Clean and functional throughout, the bathroom could do with a bit of maintenance. Plenty of hot water and good towels. Staff are lovely from the receptionists to the lady in the breakfast restaurant; they couldn't be more helpful, but this is not uncommon in Slovenia. Get David talking on music (Receptionist) or anything else... The breakfast features fresh local fruit and just about everything else. Great value and happy memories.

Room Tip: Not at the front if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and your comment. The word of mouth still is an important tool that makes visitors come to Piran. Everthough you are right that Piran can be explore in 2 days, I can assure you that you can repeat these 2 days as many times as you want and you will still enjoy it.We do hope to have you back to hotel Tartini.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen, Zeeland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Immediately fell in love with Piran, just driving up to the hotel. The location of hotel Tartini was perfect. Right at the town square where a Italian specialist market was beeing held (untill late at night, very enjoyable). And with al lovely taverne outside of the entrance, where we had a very nice lunch just after arriving, very relaxed, good food and soaking in the atmosphere and congratulating ourselves with yet another good choice of hotel.
The man behind the desk was efficient at checking us in and providing us with all the information needed to quickly unload the Luggage before bringing the car to the car-park, just outside of the town. Efficient but a bit rushed, not unfriendly, but not very welcoming either. We felt he was maybe a bit tired (end of the season?) This was the only downside to our stay, and although this man never smiled at us or greeted us everytime we walked by (could have been te busy) and made us feel more like a number than a appriciated guest, the other staff more than made up for this! The lovely cleaning lady (who accidentaly walked in on me when I was just doing my hair and couldn't stop apologizing) the lovely, lovely lady at breakfast (had a good lauch with each other) and the other girls behind the desk. Hotel Tartini is a lovely hotel, with a beautiful terrace overlooking the harbour and town. We had a very nice (colourful and bit quirky but we like quirky) room with balcony and nice views of the harbour. A good bed and a good airco and a nice bathroom. We certainly recommand this hotel,due to location alone, sooo nice to go out in the evening for a good meal and than slowly return to your hotel in the middle of the square and just be happy with the place, the town, the people, the views, the atmosphere, loved it !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time and writing quite an extensive review and it is so great to read how much you enjoyed the town and the area. Hopefully it was not your last visit.
The general impression with our reception staff would be that they spend quite a lot of time talking and "entertaining" our clients, but sometimes there really is work to be done.
I am glad the rest of the staff made it up for you.
Andreja Frelih, hotela manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

If you come by bus, you have to walk a few hundred meters from the parking place to the hotel, as the village has some car restrictions. Which also means that you can have nice walks around in the lovely little town. We found the little hotel to be nice and charming with view to a large square and to the sea. The room was fine, and the evening meal was excellent. You have one hour free internet per day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank your very much for your review and your stay. Only one remark maybe: when you log in to any of your devices, one hour free wi-fi can be consumed automatically. For further usage you only need to get a password and a code at the reception and get additional 5 days usage free of charge.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Piran was a super cute town, and we loved it. Hotel Tartini is right at the bottom of the main street to drive in, and it faces the square. The room was quite large, and the breakfast was in a very nice place. The food was okay, not as great as Iwas expecting, but perfectly fine. My main complaint was we had booked the reservation through their website to get a 10% off mid week booking. When we were paying, they refused to honor it, said we had booked through hotels.com, which was totally not true. I showed them my email confirmation, and they wouldn't look at it and insisted we pay the full amount. I was pretty upset at how rude they were about it. If they don't want to honor the advertisement, then they shouldn't offer it. Otherwise, I would have rated this probably a 4.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for you comment. I have to apologise deeply for overseeing the "booking statement" on your reservation. I was assued at your departure that no "trip advisor bonus" was stated on your reservation neither you have said anything at the reception at the time of your arrival.
When checking again - unfortunately only after your departure - of course, the "mid-week bonus" statement was found on your reservation and I can only hope that we will have the possibility to make it up some day.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tartini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tartini

Address: Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Piran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tartini 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tartini is a superbly located 3*hotel in the centre of Piran, directly on Tartini Square, overlooking the town cathedral of St. George, the town wall and the small harbour called "mandrač". Rooms are either facing the square ot the harbour (with balconies in those overlooking the harbour). Singles, doubles, twins and a couple of family rooms available. Clients love the terraces, from where one can enjoy the views of Piran and the Piran bay for hours. During the summer months, a coctail and wine bar is open on the roof-terrace for hotel clients and visitors. Definitely one of the most beautiful spots in Piran.Since parking is always a topic in Piran, hotel offers significant discount for the parking in the central garage in front of the town centre. There is a free mini bus commuting between the parking and the Tartini Square regularly. And still, clients can enter the town centre with the car to unload the luggage and then park safely in the garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tartini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartini Hotel Piran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tartini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.