We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Tartini - charming and excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tartini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tartini to your Saves list
Hotel Tartini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piran
Certificate of Excellence
Porec, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Tartini - charming and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel Tartini is in a central location just of the main piazza, or Trg Tartini , in the old city, overlooking the harbour and the sea. It is uniquely designed in a rather funky style, with really good art works all over the walls. We were particularly impressed by the service, and are very grateful especially to Gregor, who among other helpful things, arranged a trip by car to Porec in Croatia, when we discovered that there were no buses at all.
Piran is a gorgeous place to stay and Hotel Tartini is the place to stay while you are there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view - wonderful little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and your comment. With the summer coming in, Piran is a great place to stay. Unfortunately the istrian peninsula, divided into two coountries, is not very well connected when talking about public transport. But, since you are walking the most of it, it is not really a problem. We are glad to help when we can.
All the best for the rest of your walking tour!
Andreja Frelih, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    147
    54
    16
    3
See reviews for
45
155
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Piran is a lovely town (village) but with limited hotel options, due to the physical constraints of the old town. More mainstream hotels are located around the peninsula at Portaroz.

But if you are looking for a place in the old town (which I highly recommend) then this or the Hotel Piran are your best choices for quality.

It is an odd hotel in layout and design. Rooms are extremely small. Decor is eclectic at best, dated retro at worst. Amenities are limited, and breakfast, while offering wide choice, is average. Front line staff are polite at best. David (owner or manager, not sure..) is most helpful but is there to make a dollar (nothing wrong with that, just bear it in mind).

But location is perfect and view from the roof top terrace is the best in Piran. With a price of just over EUR 100, it is value for money as well - just expect no frills.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your contributione.
The furniture in our rooms really is different, and as we notice from our client+s reactions: it is either a like or a not like impression. Some rooms are small and our clients usually know when they book the type that they are booking a "small double sea side room".
Our receptionist David is a talkative one, most of the clients like to chat in the afternoons...
Andreja Frelih, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Hotel Tartini has an excellent location in the centre of the pretty main square. It is about 5 minutes walk from the Bus Station and overlooks the sea and harbour. The Staff are excellent and all speak very good English - special thanks to David on Reception with the great sense of humour, and the lovely mature lady in the Breakfast Room. My room was spacious and spotlessly clean with lovely views and a balcony. I had no problems at all with this Hotel, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay with us and your contribution.Though Piran is not optimally accessible by public transport (only in the sense that it sometimes can be quite time consuming) it is a perfect destination when you are travelling without a car.Our central location is a key element here and the people that work here. Hotel like Tartini needs to be a good starting point for visiting the sights and exploring tha town and I do believe that we are doing good job in this respect.
Andreja Frelih; Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, although heavy rain made the use of our balcony obsolet. The room (511) is a bit small, the view from the balcony is outstanding. Great place to stay - we will come again. The people are extremly friendly, especially the lady at the breakfast room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your short comment and your stay with us. We believe that friendliness still is essential in hospitality and it doesn't really take great investments.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is well located in the main square. Parking is an issue but you get a ticket on entering the town which allows you to pull up near the hotel, unload your luggage and return to park in the multi storey garage near the entrance to the town. As traffic is limited in the centre it is a wonderfully quiet environment.

The hotel is clean and well maintained. The rooms are cosy but not tiny although furniture is a little quirky and so somewhat dated. Some of the electrical facilities in the rooms could do with some attention.

There is a wonderful terrace atop the roof which provides a commanding view of the square below and the adjacent harbour perfect for an early evening drink.

The staff are very helpful especially Gregor who provided all the information that we asked for. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your thorough report. It is a great and exact advise to travellers visiting Piran.
What is really nice about the town is that even in the highest season it never gets overcrowded.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent location! Exit the hotel and you are at the square. But this place has excellent service as well. Very helpfull and attentive.The rooms and bathroom are ok but nothing special. They are clean and they have eco-labeled soap. Weak wi fi signal in rooms but good at the lobby (also computer at your service if you want). Excellent breakfast and dinner. We loved. And we will come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your contribution. We still believe that individuality and attention are important in tourism and are our key advantages.
For the food, we are glad that the season is in and we are able to use more local products (which are all seasonal, of course). We do not prepare any dinners in advance, they are always fresh from the stove - and we are glad that you notiesd.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a friendly hotel in a great location, just a few feet from the water and right on the plaza. We had a room with a balcony and view of the water but some rooms face the square. There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance. We went up the narrow alleys to the church where lovely views awaited. The rooms are clean and in good repair if decorated a little funkily. Ours was on the small side but others are more spacious. We asked to buy internet service but were given it without charge.

Room Tip: We were on a tour so I can't speak to value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Piran and we tope that you will share your experience with friends travelling to Europe.
Andreja Frelih, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piran
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 5 in Piran
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
#1 of 25 in Portoroz
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesa
Hotel Fiesa
#3 of 5 in Piran
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Barbara Fiesa
Hotel Barbara Fiesa
#4 of 5 in Piran
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#5 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#2 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tartini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tartini

Address: Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Piran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tartini 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tartini is a superbly located 3*hotel in the centre of Piran, directly on Tartini Square, overlooking the town cathedral of St. George, the town wall and the small harbour called "mandrač". Rooms are either facing the square ot the harbour (with balconies in those overlooking the harbour). Singles, doubles, twins and a couple of family rooms available. Clients love the terraces, from where one can enjoy the views of Piran and the Piran bay for hours. During the summer months, a coctail and wine bar is open on the roof-terrace for hotel clients and visitors. Definitely one of the most beautiful spots in Piran.Since parking is always a topic in Piran, hotel offers significant discount for the parking in the central garage in front of the town centre. There is a free mini bus commuting between the parking and the Tartini Square regularly. And still, clients can enter the town centre with the car to unload the luggage and then park safely in the garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tartini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartini Hotel Piran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tartini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.