We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tartini

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tartini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tartini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Piran
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 days at the end of a 10 day holiday touring around Slovenia. We drove in to the centre of town dropped our bags at the hotel and then parked the car in a small multi storey located about 1/2 a mile away for the hotel. Piran is a lovely little seaside town with wonderful Venetian buildings and a good choice of restaurants/bars to relax in. We ate in one of the sea front restaurants and were pleasantly surprised at the price. We paid 35 euros for 3 courses and 1/2 a litre of house wine. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the reception staff were really helpful. Breakfast was very nice and the restaurant is very smart and relaxing to eat in. We stayed in one of the rooms that overlooked the square but never had a problem sleeping as the room had double windows to keep the noise out.
Wold definitely stay here again if we ever find ourselves back in lovely little Piran.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your contribution. We do believe that you enjoyed the whole 10 days holiday as much as you did your short stay in Piran. Definitely the town is a real relaxation after a longer tour especially when you are able to catch a little bit of the "mediterannen way" enjoying time in coffee bars and restaurants.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    120
    43
    14
    3
See reviews for
37
122
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I chose the hotel for the location as I had visted Piran last year and I also wanted a sea view.
The room are a mite small but the views, helpfulness of the staff, food for breakfast and the restaurant are great. The view from our room of the harbour and the sea was great. I regret we didn't have time for a coffee up on the rooftop terrace.
I thought the 70's Italian style furniture in our room was interesting, a change from the austere Ikea-like IBIS hotel furniture which I have seen too much of lately.
I wish we could have stayed longer but JAT airlines cancelled a flight and so we had to cut short our stay. The receptionists were also helpful for our journey back to LJU.
Piran is special and the hotel is also and I am pleased to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for commenting on trip advisor. It was a pity that your short stay in Piran had to be even shortened by a day but we do hope that your continuation of the journey with a night train from Ljubljana went well. It is nice to have people who still find value in the individuality , even if worn out a little bit, rather the the average taste of the masses.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telaviv
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Yes its located in the hear of Piran and Svetlana is a great help at the reception.Otherwise is an old budget class hotel which haven't been renovated for many years.
For 60$ more could have stayed at Kampinsky at Portoroze 5 Deluxe.
its lower level of any Ibis or Holiday Inn Express I have stayed before.
Old room with limited lights.We got a large apartment with garden furniture dumped in the living room
Poor bathroom only with what's called Jacuzzi.
Slovenian hotels are one star over rated compared to Germany Austria etc.
this one is a 2 stars level

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment and assessment. We value all comments and encourage our clients to do so. We also value when experiences and views are shared with us directly.
Of course you could have stayed at Grand Hotel Kempinski de luxe 5* - however, not for the supplement of 60$. It is an individual choice of budget, pros and cons.
The location is definitely one of our main advantages, and we have a number of regular clients who come just for the suite, to which we have upgraded you for your one night stay.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is an old building, but is clean and in a great central location with good views of the sea and Tartini square. I worried at first about noise from the square, which perhaps could be a problem at some times of the year, but generally the square becomes quite quiet by about 11 pm. I spent 6 nights there without any issues from it. There was some construction nearby that caused some noise and for some reason was started before the sun came up, but that is not the hotel's fault. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfasts were good. There is a nice rooftop terrace that can give you a view of the port and Tartini square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay in Piran, which was some longer then the average one. People would only stay for couple of nights and travel on. We do hope that you visit us again.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice hotel well located on the main square of Piran that is very quiet at night. The room was large and the bed as well ! Services are excellent and the staff is welcoming (many languages spoken).
But the building is overdated in many ways : the window didn't shut down, the water in the shower was cold and an important noise resounds in the waterpipes when the neighbor use the sink !
Whatever it is a nice place to stay when visiting Piran.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment. September is always a pleasant time to stay in Piran, not too crowded, not too loud.
As fot the shower, the taps have regulators to set temperarture, we would have explained to your.
Andreja Frelih, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 days and have to say location is perfect, couldn't ask for better.

Pros- location, amazing staff, especially Branka from restaurant, not busy

Cons- outdated and some areas need repair, like mold in bathrooms. Shower hardly drains so you are standing in a pool of dirty water. Sewage smell in bathrooms in room and hotel. Our first room (312 I think) was like a cleaning closet. Bed was rock hard, entry door broken, graffiti all over room scratched, a lot of damage. We asked to change room as we did not feel comfortable in a room where you can't even use the front door and sleep on a bed with no mattress it seems. We got a much better room on the 4th floor. Staff seemed very shocked about the condition of the room, strange as someone should have seen the Obvious damage and graffiti if it was ever cleaned.
Overall good place and can't say enough about good staff, a bit overpriced for what it is.

other notes- the bell tower can get very annoying and parking is a process, non of which have anything to do with hotel. Hotel provides discounted posting and there is shuttle to get to and from.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your comment and your stay with us.
It is difficult to please everybody, because "rock-hard" beds to one client are the best possible to another. Scratches on walls are being painted alrady.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my 2nd visit to Hotel Tartini. We were a group of 3 rooms. Our room was not as big as the others, but it overlooked Tartini Square and the church which was a plus for me. The other two rooms were larger and had a balcony. I prefer the view and watching the activity outside. Once the shutters are closed it is very quiet for sleeping.
Our rooms had A/C and a mini-fridge. Beds were especially comfortable.
I love the central location and historical building. It was nice to be able to park our van in front of the hotel to unload/load our luggage. (No cars are allowed here normally.)

Although we did not eat dinner in Piran (we had a prst and Teran tasting earlier in Stanjel) the breakfast was especially plentiful, lots of fresh fruit, beautifully displayed and enjoyable to eat inside or outside. Lovely waitress, Svetlana, in the dining room was very bubbly and helpful.

There is a rooftop bar with amazing church, square and sea views. There is also a pleasant bar in front of the hotel to people watch and take in the activities in Tartini Square. Free Internet in the lobby. Violin theme throughout the hotel incuding the room key!
The hotel was clean and the front desk gal was really funny. (Later in our trip she did us a huge favor as one of our group left something there and she returned it to us in another city.)

Just a few steps away, we could swim in the Adriatic and return to our hotel to shower. Super!
Enjoyable one night. We shall return. Piran is just so darn cute!

Room Tip: I prefer to see the square from my room. But if you want a bigger room go for the balcony. Balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for you comment. We do hope that you will be coming back to Piran and bringing frriends with you....
Andreja Frelih, Hotel Tartini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tartini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tartini

Address: Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Piran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Piran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tartini 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tartini is a superbly located 3*hotel in the centre of Piran, directly on Tartini Square, overlooking the town cathedral of St. George, the town wall and the small harbour called "mandrač". Rooms are either facing the square ot the harbour (with balconies in those overlooking the harbour). Singles, doubles, twins and a couple of family rooms available. Clients love the terraces, from where one can enjoy the views of Piran and the Piran bay for hours. During the summer months, a coctail and wine bar is open on the roof-terrace for hotel clients and visitors. Definitely one of the most beautiful spots in Piran.Since parking is always a topic in Piran, hotel offers significant discount for the parking in the central garage in front of the town centre. There is a free mini bus commuting between the parking and the Tartini Square regularly. And still, clients can enter the town centre with the car to unload the luggage and then park safely in the garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Tartini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartini Hotel Piran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tartini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.