We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tartini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tartini to your Saves list
Hotel Tartini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piran
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is an old building, but is clean and in a great central location with good views of the sea and Tartini square. I worried at first about noise from the square, which perhaps could be a problem at some times of the year, but generally the square becomes quite quiet by about 11 pm. I spent 6 nights there without any issues from it. There was some construction nearby that caused some noise and for some reason was started before the sun came up, but that is not the hotel's fault. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfasts were good. There is a nice rooftop terrace that can give you a view of the port and Tartini square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay in Piran, which was some longer then the average one. People would only stay for couple of nights and travel on. We do hope that you visit us again.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    133
    50
    15
    3
See reviews for
40
141
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troyes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice hotel well located on the main square of Piran that is very quiet at night. The room was large and the bed as well ! Services are excellent and the staff is welcoming (many languages spoken).
But the building is overdated in many ways : the window didn't shut down, the water in the shower was cold and an important noise resounds in the waterpipes when the neighbor use the sink !
Whatever it is a nice place to stay when visiting Piran.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment. September is always a pleasant time to stay in Piran, not too crowded, not too loud.
As fot the shower, the taps have regulators to set temperarture, we would have explained to your.
Andreja Frelih, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 days and have to say location is perfect, couldn't ask for better.

Pros- location, amazing staff, especially Branka from restaurant, not busy

Cons- outdated and some areas need repair, like mold in bathrooms. Shower hardly drains so you are standing in a pool of dirty water. Sewage smell in bathrooms in room and hotel. Our first room (312 I think) was like a cleaning closet. Bed was rock hard, entry door broken, graffiti all over room scratched, a lot of damage. We asked to change room as we did not feel comfortable in a room where you can't even use the front door and sleep on a bed with no mattress it seems. We got a much better room on the 4th floor. Staff seemed very shocked about the condition of the room, strange as someone should have seen the Obvious damage and graffiti if it was ever cleaned.
Overall good place and can't say enough about good staff, a bit overpriced for what it is.

other notes- the bell tower can get very annoying and parking is a process, non of which have anything to do with hotel. Hotel provides discounted posting and there is shuttle to get to and from.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your comment and your stay with us.
It is difficult to please everybody, because "rock-hard" beds to one client are the best possible to another. Scratches on walls are being painted alrady.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my 2nd visit to Hotel Tartini. We were a group of 3 rooms. Our room was not as big as the others, but it overlooked Tartini Square and the church which was a plus for me. The other two rooms were larger and had a balcony. I prefer the view and watching the activity outside. Once the shutters are closed it is very quiet for sleeping.
Our rooms had A/C and a mini-fridge. Beds were especially comfortable.
I love the central location and historical building. It was nice to be able to park our van in front of the hotel to unload/load our luggage. (No cars are allowed here normally.)

Although we did not eat dinner in Piran (we had a prst and Teran tasting earlier in Stanjel) the breakfast was especially plentiful, lots of fresh fruit, beautifully displayed and enjoyable to eat inside or outside. Lovely waitress, Svetlana, in the dining room was very bubbly and helpful.

There is a rooftop bar with amazing church, square and sea views. There is also a pleasant bar in front of the hotel to people watch and take in the activities in Tartini Square. Free Internet in the lobby. Violin theme throughout the hotel incuding the room key!
The hotel was clean and the front desk gal was really funny. (Later in our trip she did us a huge favor as one of our group left something there and she returned it to us in another city.)

Just a few steps away, we could swim in the Adriatic and return to our hotel to shower. Super!
Enjoyable one night. We shall return. Piran is just so darn cute!

Room Tip: I prefer to see the square from my room. But if you want a bigger room go for the balcony. Balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for you comment. We do hope that you will be coming back to Piran and bringing frriends with you....
Andreja Frelih, Hotel Tartini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Tartini in September during a spectacular electrical storm happening more or less overhead in Piran. First night's sleep was a bit difficult because of this - nothing to do with the hotel - but slept well on the second night. We didn't experience any noise from Tartini Square as described by other reviewers as any musicians would have been incredibly brave on our first night and a bit windswept on the second!
Rooms are just the right side of snug, as you would expect from such a central and historical building, and quirky. Beds comfortable. Shower was good but regularly fell from its cradle - not a problem when you got the balance right. People in neighbouring room left their shutter to fly open in the wind and continually bang against the balcony, which the staff sorted for us (thanks). Breakfast was great and the best we had during our time in Slovenia. Varied, fresh, and great coffee. Praise goes to the friendly lady at breakfast who was extremely helpful and incredibly sweet. Every hotel should have someone like her.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the square or marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
After a very long period of extremely dry and hot weather we have to face the storms and strong wind occasionally. If it does not last too long, it eventually becomes a thing to remember......
Andreja Frelih, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a good stay at the Hotel Tartini in Piran during a quick overnight in between arriving on the boat from Croatia and picking up a rental car in Portoroz the next day. The hotel was clean and the front desk could not have been more helpful. The girl working the front desk sent us to the best pizzareia for dinner. It was amazing. I would also recommend stopping by the shop Piranske Soline which is just across the main square for a souvenir of Slovenian sea salt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
You should have stayed at least a little bit longer that just a "stop-over" to enjoy the town more - hopefully another time!
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice accomodation.Nice personal and kind.Very good food.The location of Tartini hotel is 0km of Piran:).Piran is a very nice place.Thank you Tartini!
Very nice accomodation.Nice personal and kind.Very good food.The location of Tartini hotel is 0km of Piran:).Piran is a very nice place.Thank you Tartini!
Very nice accomodation.Nice personal and kind.Very good food.The location of Tartini hotel is 0km of Piran:).Piran is a very nice place.Thank you Tartini!
Very nice accomodation.Nice personal and kind.Very good food.The location of Tartini hotel is 0km of Piran:).Piran is a very nice place.Thank you Tartini!
Very nice accomodation.Nice personal and kind.Very good food.The location of Tartini hotel is 0km of Piran:).Piran is a very nice place.Thank you Tartini!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppetartini, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
rhank you very much for you comment. We are glad that you enjoyed Piran also during your longer stay, because too many guests are just passing through the town, staying for a night or two.
Andreja Frelih, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tartini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tartini

Address: Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Piran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tartini 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tartini is a superbly located 3*hotel in the centre of Piran, directly on Tartini Square, overlooking the town cathedral of St. George, the town wall and the small harbour called "mandrač". Rooms are either facing the square ot the harbour (with balconies in those overlooking the harbour). Singles, doubles, twins and a couple of family rooms available. Clients love the terraces, from where one can enjoy the views of Piran and the Piran bay for hours. During the summer months, a coctail and wine bar is open on the roof-terrace for hotel clients and visitors. Definitely one of the most beautiful spots in Piran.Since parking is always a topic in Piran, hotel offers significant discount for the parking in the central garage in front of the town centre. There is a free mini bus commuting between the parking and the Tartini Square regularly. And still, clients can enter the town centre with the car to unload the luggage and then park safely in the garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tartini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartini Hotel Piran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tartini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.