We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tartini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tartini to your Saves list
Hotel Tartini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piran
Ancona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,008 reviews 1,008 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 337 cities Reviews in 337 cities
865 helpful votes 865 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The position on the square sounds good, anyway, but it means a lot of noise at night until the early hours, especially from minibuses that constantly ferry people into and out of the centre and wait on the corner with their engines running. The furniture's tired - I suppose the same as it was before the fall of the Berlin Wall. Breakfast was disappointing, to me anyway.

On the plus side, it is in the centre, so you haven't got much walking to do, and the front desk staff can be helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid any room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    133
    50
    15
    3
See reviews for
40
141
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel's location is great - right on the main square, and also next to the harbor/Adriatic. Make sure to have a sunset drink at the rooftop bar; we really enjoyed people watching at the square as well as over the sea. The rooms are a bit quirky and run down, and don't have lots of conveniences, but the sea view ones our party had included nice little balconies. The included breakfast buffet was nothing special but was adequate. Take advantage of the valet parking - the 5 euro saves at least half an hour if not more of hassle with the parking outside of town. There aren't a lot of choices in Piran, and we debated between Tartini and Hotel Piran right on the sea boardwalk. After staying at Hotel Tartini and looking at the competition, I think we made the right choice.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

There is a multi-story parking structure as you drive into Piran. You need to park here, then either walk into town, or take the free shuttle bus from the ground floor. The shuttle bus drops you virtually outside the door of Hotel Tartini.

The front desk will charge you EUR 6 for a parking ticket to get out of the car park - cheaper than paying at the car park. I think they also have a valet parking system, but we had rented a stupidly large van, so we could/did not use it.

The hotel says "Guests can drive with their car undisturbed to the hotel on the Tartini square. You can leave the vehicle for a short moment near the hotel at the entrance to the Tartini square." But we were stopped at the entrance to the town and told to go back to the car park. Perhaps if we had confirmed reservation it would have been different.

Our rooms had a sort of view of the water, but we weren't in the room that much. And there is a deck where you can relax and soak in the view.

There is Free wifi in the hotel, but BEWARE. You only get one hour of free wifi per computer - I'm not sure if the clock starts ticking when you first log on or if it remembers when you log out.

The bathroom shower had a cheapish feel to it, but nothing to worry about.

The town is cute. We were told to avoid the seafood restaurants on the south side of the peninsular. However, the food looked fine, and we ate at one of the restaurants further along the street. We weren't cajoled to come in - a marketing gimmick we hate - the food was pretty good. I had fish, and the others had pasta with truffles which they said was excellent. The service was very good - no, superb - enough attention without being in the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were right there on the third floor watching the main square (Tartini trg) and the statute of Guiseppe himself, with violin, while the Balkan folkfest went on for most of the Saturday night. A/C was a blessing, but we left the window open anyway to feel more involved. Odd combination of old buildings with funky furnishings, but comfortable. Utterly lovely roofdeck bar give 360-degree views of the sea and the town. Nice breakfast facility. Hotel will help with impossible parking situation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The rooms in this hotel are a little quirky, small, but perfectly adequate. I suspect that the room we stayed in hadn't been used for a while and was a little dusty. The room had a small balcony with a sea view, the man on reception was very chatty and helpful.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

So, the hotel was a surprise, booked by an aunt for us, so we wouldn't have to crowd into her place and crash on the floor, so we didn't choose it. It was very pleasant - our room was on the 3rd floor, with big french doors and a terrace overlooking the harbor. The place had a marvelous terrace on the roof, which you could take breakfast up to and look out over the town (in high season, it was probably used specifically for that, but we were there in the off season, plus they were doing a lot of construction, so breakfast took place in the main dining room downstairs).

I have to say that, while the hotel overall was quaint, the room itself was kind of an 80s arthouse nightmare: garish colors, deliberately bizarrely shaped and angled furniture and shelves. Ugh. Big clash with the lovely exterior, and big shuttered windows. That aside, the room was clean and comfy, spacious, and right in the center of town - easy walk to anything.

No real complaints: a cozy stay in a lovely area. Not a knockout or anything, but definitely not uncomfortable at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I enjoyed this hotel. I have even stayed here on two different occasions. BUT... no wifi, no outlets in the bathroom, only one outlet in the bedroom, and uncomfortable beds make for a less than ideal stay. The people are incredibly nice and the breakfast is top notch, but the price is high for a hotel that is a bit run-down. I also would like to have received an email upon booking to explain how to get to the hotel to drop off bags and what the parking situation is like (a garage about 1 mile away with a free shuttle bus to take you there and away). Plus, the charge for having a pet in the room is much higher than any other hotel I have stayed at in Europe (plus, it seems to have increased since September when I last stayed there).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tartini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tartini

Address: Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Piran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Piran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tartini 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tartini is a superbly located 3*hotel in the centre of Piran, directly on Tartini Square, overlooking the town cathedral of St. George, the town wall and the small harbour called "mandrač". Rooms are either facing the square ot the harbour (with balconies in those overlooking the harbour). Singles, doubles, twins and a couple of family rooms available. Clients love the terraces, from where one can enjoy the views of Piran and the Piran bay for hours. During the summer months, a coctail and wine bar is open on the roof-terrace for hotel clients and visitors. Definitely one of the most beautiful spots in Piran.Since parking is always a topic in Piran, hotel offers significant discount for the parking in the central garage in front of the town centre. There is a free mini bus commuting between the parking and the Tartini Square regularly. And still, clients can enter the town centre with the car to unload the luggage and then park safely in the garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tartini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartini Hotel Piran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tartini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.