We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piran to your Saves list
Hotel Piran
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stjenkova ulica 1, Piran 6330, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Piran
hong kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel is fully renovated, good size & nice bathroom. Staff is friendly & breakfast buffet is great. Seats outside overlooking the sea, spend time there to enjoy my breakfast, watching people swimming & have a nice view for sunset while enjoying my cocktail before dinner.
But the air-conditioning in the room is not cool enough,management should do something about that.
Hotel is situated in a lovely town & close to the old town square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander P, Manager at Hotel Piran, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel including the breakfast by the sea side.

The hotel has been refurbished at the beginning of the year, but due to the fact that the hotel is part of cultural heritage we are limited in some technical interventions. We are working on a suitable solution regarding the air condition in order to make your stay more pleasant.

We are looking forward to host you again,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    167
    39
    10
    1
See reviews for
51
207
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The staff is very friendly and made great suggestions. The hotel has been recently renovated and it feels bright and clean. Lovely patio over looking the sea. Generous breakfast buffet. Truly the place you have been looking for.

Room Tip: Worth the extra euros to get a room over looking the Adriatic Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander P, Manager at Hotel Piran, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for you review. We are glad to hear that you have been able to enjoy the unique backdrop of the hotel, we will do our best to come up with more suggestions during your next stay.

Kind regards,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is in a fabulous location provided you choose a sea view with balcony room. However, there are quite a few buts...
The rooms and the facilities are at best average and the breakfast adequate. However,I seriously object to having to pay to lie on the hotel's sunbeds at the front of the hotel when I am paying 140 Euro per night in September. . Also, their advertising focuses heavily on their beautiful roof terrace which, surprise, surprise is only available by reservation at 10 euro per person. What a con!! Also, be mindful that there are no tea and coffee facilities although this does appear to be the norm across all Slovenia Hotels.

Room Tip: Must be balcony with Sea view otherwise awful townside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander P, Manager at Hotel Piran, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review and for choosing hotel Piran for your stay.

The hotel has been under major renovation this year and and there is still a ongoing process of updating the facilities of the hotel. All of the updates have to be in line with the fact that the building is part of cultural heritage.

The beach which is just a few steps from the hotel is available to all guests free of charge, additional rentals and services are extra.

The roof top terrace is really unique with a breathtaking view over the Adriatic sea. The booking fee includes water and fresh fruit during the day or a sun downer cocktail in the evening. The fee is applied due to a limited space that the terrace offers. We are more than glad to offer a tour of the hotel to our guests and of the terrace during their stay.

Regarding the heating facilities like coffee or tea machine we have to be in line with the strict fire regulation. Coffee or tea is available at our restaurant or may be ordered via room service.

We are looking forward to host you again,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is situated right in the old town within metres of the sea. Average rooms, nothing special, but spacious and the location makes up for it. It sounds like some visitors had bad experiences with staff, the lady at reception who checked us in (and out a few days later) was most helpful and never stopped smiling. Good wi-fi reception and nice breakfast. Will definitely stay in the same hotel again in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander P, Manager at Hotel Piran, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.

We are planing additional improvements with the rooms and we hope that you will be able to discover it during you next stay in Piran.

Kind regards,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were blown away by Piran and the experience was made even more memorable by the hotel receptionist. She couldn't have been more helpful or happy, a real ambassador for the Hotel so top marks for you! Not the most luxurious hotel we've ever stayed in but the views and the surroundings made up for that. Ground floor room No.5 with its own private terrace overlooking the Adriatic couldn't have been more pleasing. Great breakfast, great location, great everything!

Room Tip: all ocean facing rooms will be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander P, Manager at Hotel Piran, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for the review, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the mediterranean experience in Piran just a stone throw from the sea.

We would be delighted to host you again.

Kind regards,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is just a piece of heaven - amazing location, stunning views in a picture postcard town but what a shame about the staff. My shower was freezing cold for the four nights we were there. The first night we were told there was an air conditioning issue, the second and third day we were told they were working on it and on the fourth day when I went down in a temper the manager told me it was not his job to know about hot water! (Hmmm, it's his job to know about hotels and comfort , surely?) We were given 10% off the bill, but what shame that the staff don't reflect the beauty of this hotel and its environs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander P, Manager at Hotel Piran, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for sharing your experience.

We are happy to hear that you have experienced the amazing location between the old Venetian town centre and the sea side.

The shower issues are solved, some of the technical updates were in a ongoing process during your stay and are part of the major renovation that had been done early this year in order to fulfill the expectations of our guests.

We do apologise for the experience with the complaint where you were not briefed about the status in a proper manner. We hope to have the chance during your next stay to show the improvements that have been applied to our service based also on your review.

Kind regards,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed there on out one night trip to Piran, Slovenia.
You simply could not build a hotel on a better location. Beautifully renovated, nice design, well equipped hotel. Good reception, a bit slow services. Also the best as average, especially the pillow.
Right on the sea shore, good swimming, towel service, nice bar. Good prices.
The only negative was the breakfast, what a missed opportunity at such a nice location. Even not a good espresso, eggs awful, butter melted and weird...
free wifi helped.

Room Tip: Seaview, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piran

Address: Stjenkova ulica 1, Piran 6330, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Piran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Piran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piran 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piran was renovated for the 100 years anniversary in 2013 with an upgrade to 4*.The hotel design is based on the cultaral heritage of the building with chic decoartion.Hotel Piran offers you 15 spacious suites and 74 modern 4* rooms.After a day at the beach which is located at the doorsteps of the hotel lobby, you may enjoy a sundowner on the roof top terrace and taste the mediterranean culinaric experience at the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.