We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and unpretentious but friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Piramida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Piramida to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Piramida
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ul. Heroja Slandra 10, Maribor 2000, Slovenia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 15%
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Maribor
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Functional and unpretentious but friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I visited this hotel several times in the past during business trips to Maribor. The hotel has little charm, as does its immediate neighborhood, but Maribor is a little town and most places are within a walking distance. The hotel interior is spartan: the decoration is tacky and the furniture is cheap, a bit old and rather uncomfortable. On my last visit the air-conditioning in the room was so weak the air was barely fresh. This said the rooms are rather large and the staff efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    50
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
25
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

On a business trip we had booked ourselves at the Hotel after going through the facilities on the internet . The rooms are small and the lifts claustrophobic . If you have heavy luggage you have had it as to reach the lifts you have to walk the stairs . Condition of the rooms are poor - linen was dirty and had to call housekeeping four times before I got a towe ! Most of the items on the menu were not available for dinner - the excuse was that the regular cook was absent . Avoid this hotel at any cost .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

I stayed here one night on 15th October. I had a single superior room, which I heard to be bigger than the standard one but it appeared to be rather small. Nevertheless, room was perfectly clean and well equipped.

The breakfast buffet was great. I was the only guest eating at the time and obviously the first one. There was a great variety of cerials, juices, cheeses&bread and hot dishes like bacon and porridge.

Gentleman at the info desk during the check-in was OK, not extremely polite but correct enough. The lady in the morning was ,however, very nice to me. I forgot the wallet with some money in it in the room and had to call her from the train. They found my wallet and sent it later by mail. All the money was there. I really appreciate the honesty and surely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We booked the Piramida based on trip advisor reviews. It was really easy to find as Maribor is a lot smaller than we thought! It is less than 5 minutes walk from the train station (with heavy backpacks on). The rooms are decent sized with AC and a TV. The bathroom was decent, the only thing is that ours had quite poor lighting. Staying at the hotel means you have use of facilities at it's sister hotel across town but we didn't use these as we were only there for 1 night. You can also get free access to the local casino, again which we didn't use. The streets in Maribor are fairly easy to navigate and you get into the centre within 10 minutes. I would definately recommend this hotel for a mid budget traveller. The breakfast was vast with cereals, different breads, hot items, fruit, drinks and more. Definately one of the best that we had on our 2 week travels round Eastern Europe. Maribor as a city is probably not the most picturesque and you can see most of it in an day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2008. I had been booked into the Hotel Orel, but it was over-booked, so got moved to the Piramida which, the Orel told me, is a better hotel.

The Piramida is very close to the train station and quite close to the centre of Maribor.

I was in a single room, it was very small, but well-furnished and clean.

The reception staff were helpful and friendly.

The dining area is fine, but breakfast was disappointing - few hot items and a poor cold selection, except for plenty of bread. I didn't eat there at other meal times.

The internet signal was very weak.

There are no real leisure facilities there, as the hotel group's leisure facilty is at the Hotel Habakuk - but this is miles away!

Maribor is a nice wee city in a very pleasant setting, it seems like a fairly easy-going place, and is a good base for exploring eastern parts of Slovenia that fewer overseas tourists tend to vist. Nearby Ptuj is a lovely small, old town.

I enjoy holidaying in Slovenia and may want to return to Maribor to explore it and its surroundings more, but don't think I would stay in this hotel again - it is OK, but if you go here expecting a genuine 4 Star experience (the hotels rating says it is 4 Star), you will be very let-down.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast and few facilities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

With some small changes, the hotel could be made much more welcoming. However at present it is far from being welcoming to a foreign person in Slovenia. I had two sleepless nights in this hotel as i struggled from falling off the bed! The single bed is quite small considering that I am myself quite small (5'3"). The room was impersonal and not welcoming at all - full of bright neon lights. TV is very old. Bad design of bathroom mirror shelving - my make up ended up in the toilet. The use of the sauna is not free and also there had to be three bookings in order to use the sauna - so I could not even use the sauna. The breakfast room in the morning was also far from welcoming. It was hot and smelly. I personally would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The staff working there
  • Disliked — The unwelcoming bedroom.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Hotel Piramida is on the edge of Maribor City Centre.
Good location in a peprendicular street to the main boulevard, so quiet as not much traffic in fornt of it.
If you like shopping the hotel is next or a short walk to 2 big shopping centres, also close to the cinema complexe and as not far from the centre near plenty of restaurant and sights.

Room was really spacious: I had a double bed, a kind of living room with a 2 seater sofa and 1 extra sofam a desk, an entrance with wardrobe, and a big bathroom. We could have fitted a few people in there.

Internet was available free of charge through a cable plugged into the wall. Plenty of complimentary sweets. Great to work in the room.

Breakfast was OK and staff rather nice.

Good time there.

  • Liked — Room size and comfort
  • Disliked — Some problems with the water
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Piramida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Piramida

Address: Ul. Heroja Slandra 10, Maribor 2000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Styria Region > Maribor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maribor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Piramida 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business hotel with four stars is located in the city centre of Maribor and offers their guests comfortable rooms, Anti-Stress Center, restaurants, bars and business club with conference halls. Medical centre Fontana, wellness centre with swimming pools, saunas and fitness studio, is close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Piramida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piramida Hotel Maribor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Piramida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.