We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be beather” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Habakuk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Habakuk to your Saves list
Hotel Habakuk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohorska ulica 59, Maribor 2000, Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Maribor
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“could be beather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Breakfast and dinner are poor and below standard 5 star. In the pool area could be cleaner and except cold water there have noting for refreshment like apple or tea. Room is very cold and after spa isn't pleasant place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
40
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Habakuk for an extended stay of 11 nights in November 2012. The hotel is located close to the ski slopes in the outskirts of the Maribor, at a distance of about 6 miles to the center of the town. The views are gorgeous, the air clean and the staff very friendly. We had a room in the older section of the hotel which was very clean and nice with a large marble bathroom. The rooms in the newer section are even nicer with designer furnishings, but are slightly smaller (I prefer the room we have). Internet access is readily available everywhere in the hotel and the speeds are excellent, even at busy times. Our plan included three daily meals which were all very varied, plentiful and generally of good to excellent quality. I was particularly impressed with the large variety of pastry served at every meal. The hotel includes indoor and outdoor pools as well as a training room and a full spa. The indoor pool is the best I've seen anywhere.
There really isn't any negative to this hotel. My mattress was a little uncomfortable. When I mentioned this to the front desk, they readily replaced it. Also, I find the shower stall a little too small for my taste, but the good water pressure makes up for it.
All in all, this is a fantastic hotel with a lot of great features. If your purpose is to visit the town, the distance is a bit of a drawback, but good public transportation is readily available just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the older section are more spacious and still very nice. The new section has "desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

In hotel Habakuk I always come back, because I feel there welcome!
Last time I was pleasantly surprised because I have cake in the room, hotel staff over my documents, reveal that my birthday, and I am very pleased by this act. The food is homemade, cakes extraordinary, exceptionally clean rooms, a wellness area great,
I come again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent a week as family and I really enjoyed the hospitality and professional attitude. Overall, I'd recommend it's location next to ski lift and mountanious areas. The pool area needs significant uplift, whereas sauna section is really good. Staff is exceptionally polite and helpful. Food is generally ok, although sometimes lacks taste, especially for dinner. Finally, this hotel has this appearance from "good old days" and it can hardly be 5-star without substantial renovation. Next time I'd prefer Bellevue Hotel, as it really has mountain location. Habakuk is more like a city hotel...

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel Habakuk is near by Pohorje skiing resort (very good location if you plan to go skiing there) and it's a little bit out of the town of Maribor. I am sure that it is the best place to stay in Maribor, it has very, very nice good looking and big rooms and the service and food is also excellent. Thumbs up!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

During a recent holiday to Hungary, we decided to take a mini road-trip. Maribor in Slovenia was our second stop. The hotel Habakuk on the outskirts of the city is a little gem. Indoor and outdoor swimming pools, saunas, excellent room service, multi-lingual staff, fantastic food. Brilliant!
Plenty of car-parking on site and access to the ski-lift and cable car literally just out the back door of the hotel. Main parts of the hotel look a little old and 1970's style but the new-build rooms are very up to date. Huge bathrooms but no bath - only showers!
Value for money and a great place to stay in the summer. Only about 3 hours drive from Budapest or 1.5 hours from Zagreb.

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking pool for excellent views and early morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

hotel is 5 star and it seems to have more motivated service lately. The rooms, lobby and common areas are impressive, but hotel lack the standard "5 stars" and breakfast was below my expectation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Habakuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Habakuk

Address: Pohorska ulica 59, Maribor 2000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Styria Region > Maribor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Maribor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Habakuk 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Habakuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habakuk Hotel Maribor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Habakuk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.